We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best ever holidays”

Portside Cruises Pacific Dawn Day Tours
Malanda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our best ever holidays”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A cruise on the Dawn is just fantastic, we have been twice and each time was special. There are so many activities on and off the boat that you will never be bored and the Pacific Islands are like another world, so different to Australia and sooooo beautiful. The food is amazing absolutely astounding. The second time we went we focussed on relaxation and that was awesome, just lazing about and touring yet never being far from our room. Kids loved it. we loved it. Will go again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    47
    20
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redland City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pacific Dawn Cruise- 1 week Fantastique”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I highly recommend a trip on the Pacific Dawn. The cruise is what you make of it with something for everyone from wonderful live shows, relaxing quiet getaway areas, a wide variety of fantastic food and plenty of entertainment, bars and night life. Everything is done so professionally from boarding your floating holiday to disembarking at the end. The no cash security card system is so efficient and easy, nothing is a problem, Every day can be different there is so much to do, or not to do. It is up to you!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank hulloAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Pacific Dawn 7 Day Cruise from Brisbane, great value for money, highly recommend”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our first cruise since the 80's on board the Fairstar :) so wasn't sure what to expect. It was excellent, very good value for money. Considering how cheap the cruise was, it's the best value for money holiday a family can get.
From the easy, quick check in, bags taken from us as soon as we pulled up at the terminal to the smooth and quick departure at the end we enjoyed it. Every thing was thought of. We arrived at the terminal at 11am and were sailing down the river, cocktail in hand, listening to music in no time at all. Relaxed immediately, no airports and jet lag and transfers etc, just smooth sailing.
We tried the buffet first day for lunch, while there are plenty of options, we booked waterfront restaurant, a la carte for dinner and quickly decided that was where we wanted to eat. Waterfront is quality over quantity, which suited us perfectly. Others wanted quantity and were shocked they were only going to have one 3 course meal at the waterfront (?? Go figure) and headed to the buffet where they could eat everything. We also tried LaLuna which attracted a $20 surcharge, though was thoroughly worth it, the food was superb. I preferred LaLuna over Salt. La Luna was better food and service and cheaper surcharge.
Kids club was awesome, our son is 10 so he could have 'priveleges' meaning he could sign himself out for lunch and dinner and meet up with us, rather than us go down and sign him out. He signed himself out a couple of times and headed to the cabin to relax when it all got too much or him and a mate would sign themselves out and get an ice cream or milk shake on deck. Was great having him have this freedom and the boat was very safe for him to wander around. He had his own cabin key and charge card.
You can do as little or as much as you want while on board, there's heaps to do if you want or you can curl up with a book and coffee on deck.....or cocktail,as the day wore on.
The only thing to keep an eye on is the charge card, it's so easy to spend. The kids aren't the problem, my son's bill was about $60 for the entire trip, our after dinner to leone cocktails and bottles of wine at dinner were the killers. It was so cheap to go on the cruise that we really didn't mind at all, but if you are on a strict budget, you can check your balance at the computers at reception, just swipe your card and a tally of what you've spent comes up on the screen.
For shore tours, I booked them before we left on the Internet with private companies. A 3 hr shore tour of Noumea was $79 each booked with P&O, though only $29 booked privately and then when you get off the boat there are travel companies waiting with signs of tour for only $25. With 3 family members, we found the P&O tours too expensive for what you got, definitely shop around on tripmadvisor for private tours before you go.
We are now looking at our next cruise to New Zealand, we had so much fun on this one. Great value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank DonnaGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 day cruise, surprisingly enjoyable”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After hearing all sorts of horror stories about short cruises on large ships, I was not particularly looking forward to this trip when invited as birthday fun for family member, it felt churlish to refuse. Certainly glad I went. 6 women (mostly middle aged) very comfortable cabin, twin share, with window. Ship sailed out of Brisbane "Pacific Dawn", 3 days , 3 nights, all meals included in package. Lots of variety, smorgasboard, something for everyone (drinks, good coffee not included, upgraded a l'carte dining options available)The Thai degustation highly recommended ($20 per head)
An incredibly well run, friendly and comfortable way to enjoy a stress free short break.
For those that are not sure about travelling by sea, a short trip like this will sort out whether its the type of holiday you would consider doing again, for a longer trip.
All in all, terrific value, and an extremely easy way to experience life at sea

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Mezz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portside Cruises Pacific Dawn Day Tours also viewed

Cleveland, Redland City
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Portside Cruises Pacific Dawn Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing