We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the river”
Review of Goldsborough Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goldsborough Place
Ranked #46 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view of the river”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Location wise Goldborough Place is in a fantastic locaton, close to the city and transport, the river views are great and parking is a bonus. Di the Manger was terrific and she was very accomodating and extremely pleasant and had great local knowledge.

But there are some issues with maintance and servicing, I thought for $200 per night my room would be serviced or at least the bed made but this did not happen and the fan in the bedroom only had 1 speed and was noisy. The units are looking a bit tired and could do with an update.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
11
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My partner and I with our 2 year Son stayed at the GOLDBOROUGH PLACE in Teneriffe Brisbane for 7 nights it was outstanding, The customer service from Di was absolutely perfect, Great views of Brisbane river, was vibrant, exciting area, with many superb restaurants in a short walking distance.
I would like to Thank Di for going out of her way and helping us accommodate my son when he was sick and dropping us to the doctors. And for organising all our dinners.
thank you was awesome :-)

Room Tip: Call the Goldsborough and ask to speak to DI and im sure she will accomadate your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shem b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Position is fantastic - just out of the city, parking available, but still close to everything. New management recently took over, but they are managing separately owned apartments - therefore every room will be arranged with different furniture & quality.
If the owners of the units renovate they 20 year old interior of each unit - this would be a great property - but don't expect owners to pay ~$50k for the required renovations.

I had appointments in area and the location & view is perfect - I had a good night's sleep on a double bed (it really needed to be a Queen bed). There was a noisy fan and no airconditioning in the bedroom - but there was an airconditioner in the lounge room, but didn't turn it on or test it.
The down side is: Old apartment, no aircon in the bedroom, noisy fan in the bedroom, no exhaust fan in the bathroom (and slightly smelly), very noisy kids next door at "OMG in the morning" - approx 6am - overall, not worth $200 per night.
The good: Di (property manager) was lovely - only took over 1.5 months ago, location & parking, facilities were sufficient, just old and needed a refresh. If she can get some owners to upgrade their units and have a slightly more expensive "executive" option - I'd be back & pay for that, but not likely to return whilst the units are in their current state.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We made a group booking here, with 4 groups staying between 2 and 5 nights. All rooms were charged at the same rate but there were huge discrepancies in the quality of the rooms due to the fact they're individually owned but managed centrally.

Only one bedroom (in a two bedroom unit) was airconditioned, none of the other bedrooms in any of the units had airconditioning, only fans. Our room had both bedrooms about 5 metres from the busy road (traffic passed regularly even at 3am), meaning that the windows couldn't be opened due to road noise. Those units lucky enough to have rooms on the river side rather than the road side could open the windows for more ventilation, but even so it was still only just bearable and the temperature was only 25 degrees with quite a bit of wind (due to an ex-tropical cyclone passing through). Living area was airconditioned, but leaving this on didn't reach the bedrooms with any cooling.

Location is excellent with many very good restaurants within a minute or two walk. Room decor varied between rooms, one was very dated and looked like it hadn't been refurbished since it was built. One was basic and serviceable if a little dirty in places. Two others were furnished to a very high standard.

Service was very hit and miss. It took us months of email and phone messages to get a confirmation for all the rooms. The kettle in our room was broken when we arrived and this was replaced very quickly, in around 10-15 minutes. Toilet seat was also broken on arrival, this was also replaced very quickly.

Checkout was a nightmare, reception was unattended for 20 minutes at 10am (the stated checkout time) with no contact available on either the main reception line or emergency mobile contact. Room charges were incorrectly allocated between guests, and though this could be remedied amongst ourselves it's not something we'd expect to have to do when paying these kind of rates.

I had wondered why there were so many positive reviews considering the state of the room we had. It seems the reviewers here were the lucky ones to get the better quality rooms. I definitely would NOT recommend staying here in the summer months whatsoever. Winter months it would still be a gamble, if you got one of the nicer rooms it would possibly be worth the price, but if you got one of the older rooms it wouldn't be good value even at half the rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nqnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Felt more like a holiday than a business trip.
Million dollar views from the balcony and located close to bars, restaurants, gym, walking/running track on the river.
Manager was extremely helpful and made our stay enjoyable.
Highly recommend this place and will be booking again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilASA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in what was listed as a one bedroom apartment which pleasantly had two bedrooms. The new manager is extremely helpful and the rooms were clean and well presented.
There are convenience stores nearby and Brooke at the gym downstairs couldn't be more helpful.
I was working so the experience was different to travellers. Di's restaurant recommendations were all good.
Great public transport around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ideal location in my favourite part of Brisbane...Teneriffe. Great friendly community. Accommodation very comfortable, older building but excellent views & has all facilities. Made feel very welcomed by Di @ reception. I have stayed here approx 8 times now, and took parents here last weekend as well. River Ferries or 199 bus are both out front. Great restaurants across road & Passione for Italian dinner or the best Gelato. Liquid Hotel for the best steaks. Walk to Powerhouse for drinks, music & comedy. What more do you want. Close to City, Valley and the best coffee shops. I will be back....becoming a local.....

Room Tip: All have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
0.7 mi away
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
#50 of 157 in Brisbane
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sage Hotel James Street
Sage Hotel James Street
#71 of 157 in Brisbane
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edward Lodge
Edward Lodge
#3 of 62 in Brisbane
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Place

Property: Goldsborough Place
Address: Goldsborough Place 39 Vernon Tce | Teneriffe, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsborough Place 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Place at Teneriffe offers luxury apartments right on the Brisbane river. As well as being is a unique and cost-effective accommodation alternative for the corporate visitor or staff member relocating to Brisbane, Goldsborough Place is the perfect venue for visitors to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldsborough Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing