We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roommates ruined my stay there”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #10 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Ville-Marie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“roommates ruined my stay there”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

as stated in the title, the roommates that were staying in my six bed dorm ruined my stay in this otherwise very nice hostel. 3 of them did anyway, but considering where they were from it was no surprise. The place is more like a hotel than an hostel, it's huge. Big kitchen and common areas, the whole place is kept really tidy. THe staff at the reception is very accomodating, wich is always greatly appreciated. Good location, close to train station, supermarket and bus station, nice view of the city from upper floors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    249
    80
    24
    18
See reviews for
21
107
236
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 1am and was greated by a very nice guy at reception. We called from England a week before to confirm booking and asked for a quite double room. We stayed on the ground floor near the carpark and was very good. It was fairly quiet and had a disabled toilet just outside our room which was great for the middle of the night and hardly anyone else used it. The train you could hear but what do you expect staying next to a train line and being in a city. We had a good nights sleep and had to cancel the last night which they have me a refund for and was great. The only downside was that there was a rubbish bin or something really early in the morning making lot of noise! The staff were great advising of a doctor close by as I was ill and were great at promoting bbqs and things they ha on. Brekky and dinner was great and they did take away which was amazing being ill and being able to have it in our room. Was quite a lot of money for a hostel and not for really cheap backpacker accomodation but was great for us as a young couple travelling. Showers took a while to warm up which was a little annoying but overall a good experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hostel is in a great location, a 5 minute walk from the Roma St. station where the Greyhound bus stops and about 15 mins from the city centre. The staff were very efficient in checking us in, organising our wifi and letting us know about events in the hostel that evening. The room was very well-finished and comfortable. There is also a bar (serving really good food) onsite and the television room and common areas are excellent. Definitely check out the rooftop views of the city at night too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailinshligigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I arrived late and tired to this hostel, and requested a private room, so I wouldn't be disturbed by people going in and out of the room.
I was shocked to hear this would cost $120, however, the room was very clean and modern.
Then came the noise... My door was directly opposite the means toilets, not only is it strange to put this opposite a room that already has an ensuite, but strange that you would plae someone there who specifically asked for a quiet room.
The rooms really carry the noise, and I got woken up EVERY time someone went to the toilet- only 4 hours sleep!! Wouldn't pay that price for that room again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenOfArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Dixon5065,

I am writing in response to the guest feedback received regarding your stay at Brisbane City YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise you experienced during the night. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel deputy who was disappointed to hear about your experience, as this is not the usual feedback we receive. However the hostel Deputy will address the issue with the reception staff.

Next time you stay at any YHA please make sure you let someone know during your stay if there are any issues, so we have a chance to try and fix the issue to make your stay more enjoyable. Brisbane City YHA has a 24 hour reception and a night manager on duty.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A modern and fresh design. Fantastic views over the city from the top level dining area and pool with well stocked kitchen attached. Actually the kitchen and dining area are huge and include a large personal storage space. Staff are extremely helpful. There is a convenient secure car park out the back. Short walk to the city and river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awillis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a double ensuite room, was lovely. But far from things like the pool or cafe or kitchen.
But it was right above reception, so I could constantly hear clunking and talking on the stairs.
Location wise, not too bad. Small walk to Roma street, slightly longer walk if you wanted the cbd.
Best thing about it? Try sitting in the pool, watching the sunrise or sunset over brissie. Beautiful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BronnieWonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a good location, about 20-25 minutes walk from Queen Street. The hostel was clean, the common areas were well kept, the kitchen was clean, the tv room very comfortable. The onsite cafe had tasty food. The rooms were fine- an extra pillow wouldn't go amiss though!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.8 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 160 in Brisbane
1,555 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#25 of 128 in Brisbane
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing