We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice hostel, we stayed in room 601 - a 6 bed w/ ensuite which was really neat. Bit more pricey than other hostels but it was safe & clean.

Our room was fairly hot though, and the window wasn't able to be opened and there was no free standing fans available.

Kitchen area was nice, bit small for the size of the hostel but it worked. Really nice patio area and plenty of eating space. Pool as well!

Great location, grocery stores & bottle-o's nearby and close to downtown.
Didn't pay for internet because there is a Peter Pan just down the road. Membership is $3/year and you get unlimited internet! Too easy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmcd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    241
    78
    23
    16
See reviews for
19
105
226
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hostel was in a good location only 5 mins walk from roma street station. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good facilities and great view from the roof. Unfortunately its like staying on a railway line, the room I stayed in was basically on the railway line so got hardly any sleep as the trains were going past til about 2am then started again at 5.30am!!! and its just where they start braking to slow into the station so very high pitched squeaky scraping sound. I fit wasn't for the noise I would really recommend this hostel. The rooms on the other side of the building would probably be ok though!

Room Tip: not one next to the railway line, not room 615.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed there end of January 2013. Rooms are big, have lockers for everyone (huge locker for your backpack), beds are comfortable with clean linen and big Windows, the bathrooms are cleaned regularly and I never had difficulty to take a shower and the common area are perfect for travellers.
The kitchen can be busy during rush hours and not necessarily clean, but at other moment it is perfect to cook and they provided for you kitchen appliances and fridge.
I didn't try the poo; but people told me it is better to go at the lagoon in Brisbane city.
The Tv room is a really good idea but some people don't know how to live in common and will talk during a movie.
For the rest, I didn't used every thing there but I had the feeling I was in an hotel compare to other hostels!!!
And you have a grocery store not far from the YHA and it is easy to access downtown Brisbane.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the 3rd floor close to the main door to access the room area as people are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fairly good for a hostel. Our room was larger than normal which was nice. No window but there was a glass brick 'window' to let some light in. There was AC which was great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our only real 'complaint' was the shower. The shower head is fixed in place and aims right at the shower door. It takes awhile for the water to heat up. Any time one opened the door to check the temp, a flood of water came out. If they could change the angle of the shower head that small problem could be corrected. Not fun to dress on a sodden bath mat or wet floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Oregon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited Australia on vacation and stayed at the YHA.I will agree with other reviews that it was abit pricey but the rooms were clean,kitchen was so so clean but that can also be because of the size and all the people staying here.The location was good and the front staff were very friendly and helpful.Great little bar attached,had alot of fun with trivia night.The noise level was abit of an issue because our room faced the train tracks so maybe there should of been abit of a discount for that reason but overall I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioLeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took a private room with own bathroom for a few night here.

Although the room had no windows, TV or coffee/tea, it was still pretty good quality for a backpackers.

The place has a very helpful reception staff, lots of tours, a small pool, internet at a reasonable rate, TV lounges, bar and cafe (though hardly any veggie options - not great for a backpackers).

My only concerns are 3 -fold:
- the place lacks atmosphere - not much cameraderie between any of the guests. I think this is because hardly anyone uses the lounges or bar;
- the price is ridiculously high - I nearly fell over when I saw it was $ 100+ for a room in backpackers! It's not surprising that tourists are deserting Australia - nearby SE Asia has equal quality rooms for a quarter of the price. I realise all accommodation in Aus are expensive but still, that's how I feel - it'seven more expensive than Europe.
- room was never cleaned for the several nights duration of my stay.

The property is located on a small hill about 15 mins walk from the city but close by to Caxton Street night life area. it's also possible to walk to the West End (another night area). But Fortitude Valley (the largest nightlife area) is on the other side of town - a good 45 mins walk or a $ 10 cab ride.

There's also a supermarket just across the road, and the galleries and museums are in walkibg distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

this is by far the best hostel i have ever stayed in. the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and very helpful and the overall vibe is very positive. it costs a little bit more than the average backpackers but it's definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murtoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#108 of 127 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing