We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality accommodation but at a price”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #10 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Good quality accommodation but at a price”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took a private room with own bathroom for a few night here.

Although the room had no windows, TV or coffee/tea, it was still pretty good quality for a backpackers.

The place has a very helpful reception staff, lots of tours, a small pool, internet at a reasonable rate, TV lounges, bar and cafe (though hardly any veggie options - not great for a backpackers).

My only concerns are 3 -fold:
- the place lacks atmosphere - not much cameraderie between any of the guests. I think this is because hardly anyone uses the lounges or bar;
- the price is ridiculously high - I nearly fell over when I saw it was $ 100+ for a room in backpackers! It's not surprising that tourists are deserting Australia - nearby SE Asia has equal quality rooms for a quarter of the price. I realise all accommodation in Aus are expensive but still, that's how I feel - it'seven more expensive than Europe.
- room was never cleaned for the several nights duration of my stay.

The property is located on a small hill about 15 mins walk from the city but close by to Caxton Street night life area. it's also possible to walk to the West End (another night area). But Fortitude Valley (the largest nightlife area) is on the other side of town - a good 45 mins walk or a $ 10 cab ride.

There's also a supermarket just across the road, and the galleries and museums are in walkibg distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    247
    78
    24
    18
See reviews for
21
107
231
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

this is by far the best hostel i have ever stayed in. the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and very helpful and the overall vibe is very positive. it costs a little bit more than the average backpackers but it's definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murtoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Really helpful staff,happy to help you with where to go, room clean,bed comfortable, great value for money, our other two friends decided to stay for a week longer & was offered stay 7 nights, pay for 6!! 10 mins walk from city centre. Def the place to stay when visiting Brisbane

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandria0886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as I was in Brisbane for job interviews. I decided to go for the four-share female dorm with private bathroom. The room was full but very clean. Bed was comfortable with soft and clean linen which was refreshing. No bed bugs or insects either. The bathroom was very small for four people and the shower worked so poorly that I ended up showering in the communal ladies bathroom. That shower was better but still had poor water pressure and was only just warm, forget about hot! Ladies with long hair forget shampooing and conditioning, my hair is very short and it still took me a good 15 minutes. Also not sure what the deal is with the plumbing, but every time someone flushed the toilet in our bathroom it made a very loud and nasty noise for well over five minutes. Not fun during the night when you're already cranky because of the train noise.

Each bed is provided with a large locker (bring your own lock) with its own power point which was awesome. The room I stayed in was light and bright and air conditioned. Very noisy however due to trains going past all the time; took me hours to get to sleep.

Location is really good; an easy 10 minute walk to the transit centre and Brisbane CBD. South Bank is also a flat and easy walk. Coles is across the road along with some cafes. The on site cafe does a good coffee and the service from both cafe staff and front desk staff was excellent.

Overall a pleasant stay. Would I do it again? Yes, but with a good set of noise-cancelling headphones and probably wouldn't bother paying the extra for a private bathroom. The YHA is the best looking building out of all the other hostels along the same strip, has a nice atmosphere and felt very safe.

One tip: bring your own towel, they aren't provided here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear ejm84,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Brisbane City YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I would like to apologize for the problem you experienced with the shower and the noise you experienced during your stay when using the bathroom. Since your feedback I have spoken to the maintenance department, who have rectified the problem with the shower, by replacing a faulty water restircter. They have also made me aware that being an environmentallly operated hostel, they use the rain water tank to flush the toilets. The noise you experienced can occur when the water level gets low, before the water use gets switched over to the mains.

The Management & Staff try to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible and they would have tried to rectify the problem with the shower and toilet, had they been aware of your issues during your stay.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kimd Regards,

Anouk
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really good location, lots of info for things to do around the city, amazing view over the city from the dining area, and the large kitchen was handy. Showers and toilets were hot, spacious enough, and clean. I would've used the pool if the outside temperature wasn't a bit cold, but it's good to know if I ever return in the hotter months. The adjoining cafe was rather nice as well. I had the full breakfast with a coffee and it was lovely, and well worth the money.

However I wish I'd known about the high cost of the lockers beforehand or I may have changed my transport to suit. In the end to store bags before and after check-in it would've cost me $14!! It was actually easier to store my bags at Roma Street station so I could get to the airport quickly after a day out. I still don't understand why YHA charges for luggage storage when almost every other good hostel in Australia offers it for no extra cost. There was little sympathy or alternative given from reception either. The same could be said for wifi where it was $5 for the day, where a lot of other hostels offer it for free (however I was able to get wifi access in my room which was great). Both of these things tarnished my experience a little bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hostel has everything you need! Excellent facilities, close to the city and local attractions and super friendly staff! I stayed here for 9 weeks whilst working and could have happily stayed longer. A very modern hostel that's thought of everything! Plug sockets in your locker so you can leave your phone on charge and not have to worry about it going missing. Individual Lockers in the kitchen for your food bags. Free popcorn on movie nights. Awesome $5 BBQ on a Friday night. Guided walks to the local markets. Yoga on a Wednesday morning.
The kitchen is always busy in the evenings but well stocked with everything, even sharp knives and a toastie maker! Professionally cleaned every night so it's always clean for breakfast.
Housekeeping are always efficient and the rooms always clean and tidy. Big lockers, comfy beds and Air conditioning in every room.
Reception and night staff are always happy to help!
Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone! Even my grandma! :)

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the property are closer to the train tracks and so a little noisier. Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I visited this yha in late march 2013. after spending a few weeks in other hostel's around queensland, I found this one to be overpriced, noisy, with dirty rooms and rude staff! I expected so much more from this yha. One of the worst hostel experiences of my life!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Iam writing in response to your customer feedback submitted to tripadvisor regarding your stay at Brisbane City YHA. We take all our customer feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the state of the room, the noise and the rude staff member. As this is not the usual feedback we receive could you let me know what dates you stayed, which room you stayed in and the name of the staff member you dealt with, so we can look into the situation further.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assits us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk Coyte
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.8 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#18 of 159 in Brisbane
446 reviews
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 129 in Brisbane
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing