We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel ive stayed at so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #10 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel ive stayed at so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

In 3 years of travelling, this has been the best hostel i have stayed in yet. Its in a great location for the city and bus terminal. Very big,clean hostel with everything you need plus a great rooftop pool! The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a dorm and a private room and both were to a very high standard and at good prices too.
What more can i say?!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckycor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    238
    78
    23
    16
See reviews for
18
103
224
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's not cheap but it's a great hostel. Rooms are on the small side but it's set up well so not a problem. Big lockers for each bed with a power plug inside are great because you can lock your laptop away when you're charging it. Breakfast at Drifters cafe was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This YHA is among a strip of backpackers about 600m from Brisbane Transit Centre away from the CBD. It's very close to a shopping complex with a cinema and a supermarket. The hostel itself is very large - spread over two buildings. I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. There seemed to be a lot going on there (there was pub golf the night I stayed), but as this was only a one-night pitstop, I didn't take advantage. My room itself was pretty comfortable with good lockers. The bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen area had a lot of fridge space and good cooking facilities with plenty of cookware, crockery etc. The rooftop terrace overlooking the river and CBD is a great place to sit and eat. Overall, no criticisms of this place at all - would definitely come back if I return to Brisbane

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a really clean hostel with good facilities. We had a double with en suite and really it wasn't very different from staying in a hotel, but at a much lower price! The location is OK - a 10 minute walk to the CBD. The bar at the hostel is nice and does good food at reasonable prices. If you are bringing a car, make sure you reserve a space in advance (and I think it costs $10 per day) - I didn't know about this (there wasn't an option to do it at the booking stage) and was told on arrival that there were no spaces. Very annoying as I then had to search for paid parking nearby (and ended up getting a parking fine...). They should be clearer about how limited their car park is. But otherwise this is a very good, clean hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to enter your feedback on Trip Advisor.

At the outset I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by there being no car parking spot available when you arrived at the hostel. However on the front website page for Brisbane City YHA we make guests aware to enquire about secure parking prior to arrival as there are only limited spots available.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards

Anouk
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights just before Xmas.

Location wise it is a 10 minute walk from the greyhound terminal on Roma street leading to upper Roma street. And in terms of getting to queen street ( the main area ) it's a 15 minute walk just a straight road nice and easy.

The place is lovely and clean - nice reception with polite staff. There are computers, a telephone, toilets etc.

On checking in it was very swift and we were allocated our room and we wanted wifi for the 3 days we were there and this cost $20 unlimited to give you an idea.

Room was nice, spotlessly clean with nice bed linen, helpful guides to brisbane, shower was hot and air con was cold so happy days,

They do meal nights in drifters the cafe/ restaurant and not only is the price good compared to the main areas its lovely food. On steak night a 200g rump steak with chips, salad and a sauce was $13 compared to around $30 at all places just down the road so we ate here. And it was a nice atmosphere too,

The place itself is near a train line but it goes very slow and is only for 30 seconds etc. that bothers some people but after walking around brisbane it was zzzz for us.

The roof pool seemed nice although I didn't go in and had a good view of the brisbane wheel, and the kitchen was clean and big and a pool table just off it,

Lovely stay and if ever in brisbane again we would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a small double ensuite, no frills but functional. The hostel is at the top of a street full of backpackers, close to a shopping centre. The large common kitchen is well organised, has lots of food storage cupboards and fridge space and a dining area with a view on the rooftop. The hostel offers extra activites such as yoga, movie nights etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in YHA for 8 nights and I would recommend it to every other traveller. The dorms have been clean and each person had his own security locker. The kitchen was fully equipped, clean and big enough for everyone. It was located on the top level with a beautiful view over Brisbane and next to the terrace was the roof top pool.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing