We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel standards!”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #12 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel standards!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Absolutely loved this hostel, it was clean and comfortable and of hotel standards! it was also very cheap and great value for money! the staff were awesome, i only had trouble with one abrupt member and stayed here for 7 weeks, made awesome amounts of friends! a little bit noisy with the train track next to it but you get used to that.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    241
    78
    24
    17
See reviews for
19
106
228
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggera Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

3 girls on a night out in Brissy on a budget so we thought we'd try Brisbane City YHA. Family room with 2 sets of bunk beds and own ensuite for $146 a night for the 3 of us. Bargain! It was nice and clean, and surprisingly quiet. Was an easy 15 minute walk to the convention centre and all the other attractions at Southbank, couple minutes walk from Roma St Station, and about 10 min walk to the pubs in Caxton St. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyJT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy K, Director of Sales at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi Sammy, thanks so much for your review, we were so impressed we posted it on our Facebook page. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Brisbane City YHA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

You can expect YHAs to have a certain standard of cleanliness and Brisbane City meets that. The hostel is around 20-25 minutes walk from town, though there is a little shopping lane on the other side only 2 minutes away with a Coles, dr and some restaurants and boutiques. It was quite discouraging walking up a long hill to reach this hostel at the top and passing at least 4 along the way. Very handy for the train station, just 10 minutes away with a big bag on and the sightseeing bus stops opposite the train station.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macfari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Brisbane City YHA is just an easy 10 mins walk from the Roma Street Transport Centre and was located next to another 3 hostels. I stayed for a total of 5 nights and this was by far the superior hostel in the local area, although the most expensive hostel I've stayed in.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked most of our trips through the travel centre at reception with minimal fuss. The room was clean and tidy. We had an ensuite bathroom which was a good size. The only downside was the shower heads and the shower pressure, took ages to wash off any soap (so much for 4 minute showers)! The beds themselves were comfy. The communal areas were also kept tidy. The kitchen is huge and there are plenty of internet facilities. A pool on the roof was an added bonus. The cafe was a bit hit and miss. Had some great meals and some awful ones but reasonably priced, convienient and good atmosphere.

Would definitely stay here again, felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Would recommend trying for a room on one of the lower floors. I was on the 4th floor and the noise from the kitchen (5th floor) travels easily. That said all noise stopped after 11-12pm.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor of the new building if possible. Noise from the kitchen travels easily due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

6 share dorm

postive:
- clean
- laundry
- roof terrace and nice view
- pool on roof terrace
- 3 minutes to nearest supermarket

negative:
- it was cold in our room and there were trains passing just near our window

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarniGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

2nd time Ive stayed and this time we had an ensuite room when the State of Origin was on. Reception staff were great again, and the rooms clean and comfy. We will be back again. Its 10 minutes or so walk from Roma st station which is nothing, and the food at the caff was great - even if prices at the caff have moved up a bit since my last visit (or I'm getting stingy)

Room Tip: ensuite room we had was near the door into the annexe at the back - so was a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dikkyknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here during the beggining of my stay in Brisbane. I was totally blown away by the place. The location, granted is a bit of a walk into town, but it's no more than 10-15 mins away. The room I stayed in, originally a 4 bed ensuite dorm with private bathroom, the room was excellent, very clean & well maintained. I then moved to a 6 bed normal dorm, which was no worse except no private bathroom which I could live without. The facilites were what I would compare to that of a hotel, with a swimming pool, roof terrace, games room & tv room, this place has it all. My one negative point is the price tag, even with a YHA membership, it's still no cheaper than other hostels in the area, but this is a YHA, you do get a hell of a hostel for your money. If you've got the cash come here for sure, if not look elsewhere. But hands down the best hostel I've stayed in so far. Well done YHA!

Room Tip: This hostel is very close to a train line so if you're light sleeper, request a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bromleybloke87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#107 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing