We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City hotel on the quiet side - bring walking shoes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Brisbane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Point Brisbane Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“City hotel on the quiet side - bring walking shoes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Always stay at this hotel because it is easy to get onto the the Gold coast freeway for business but it feels like you are close to the city and you can catch a ferry into city.
Recently refurbished the rooms are comfortable and quite large although like many Brisbane hotels slightly ill fitting blinds fail to help with the awfully early sunrise!
This is in a gem of a location very close to riverside walking track that can take you along the Brisbane river for miles and to catch a ferry if that's your thing. It is possible to walk to Southbank and cross the river to the city on the Kurilpa footbridge - about 40 mins to the Botanic Gardens.
Haven't tried the restaurant which looks good but you are a 5 minute walk from the Storey Bridge Hotel which does excellent meals.

Room Tip: Sun rises early here so if you don't like getting up early chose a room on the western side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    303
    57
    18
    11
See reviews for
120
454
65
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pretty nice hotel. Clean, big rooms with comfortable beds. The restaurant however is dreadful. Long waits for crappy, over-prices food. The last time I ordered the "avocado" club, there was no avocado on it, the bread was soggy, and the egg tastes like fish. They had clearly fried the egg in the same pan as some salmon. Def skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnia1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This brand new property blew me away for a Brisbane hotel. The rooms are huge, The beds are massive and super comfortable and the bathroom is big enough to house at least 12 rugby players with a beautiful big 'rain' shower head. The a/c is great and the gym/pool combo was just perfect. You can catch the Ferry to the city or even walk over the story bridge to the CBD. It's not the most ideal hotel if you want central but if you want a superb sleep with beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel for you.The check in staff were always happy to help with any queries i had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel reception staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Room was very clean, spacious with excellent amenities. On-site free parking a real plus.
Room Service food was disappointing. Steak was tough and dessert tasted reheated. Breakfast was OK though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokierusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is such a shame, because the hotel really is top class. Value for money it is hard to beat in Brisbane. The amenities are great, the room is large and the bed is supremely comfortable.

Unfortunately, the restaurant is simply terrible. I say this after not just one visit, but two. Both times they failed miserably (not sure why I gave them a second chance). The portions of food is incredibly small and the waiting time for your meal....astronomical !!! The 2nd time I was there I waited an hour for garlic bread, and then another hour for a main. No apologies, nothing.

So, I recommend, stay at the hotel. Then go down the road to the Asian restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Red_Bronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I travel for work and our contract has recently changed our accommodation from in the city of Brisbane to The Point Brisbane, Kangaroo Point.

I can not speak highly enough about the hotel. The facilities, the friendly staff, the location, the rooms, everything about it!

Located on Kangaroo Point under the beautiful Storey Bridge, if you have a room with a view it makes you appreciate the beauty that Brisbane has to offer, especially at sunset.

I always look forward to going to Brisbane and the friendly checkin staff remember my face and welcome me back every time I walk in. They know the area very well and the opening and closing times of Dockside, the operating times for the ferry at the bottom of the street in to the city, and just anything that you have a question about, they are so knowledgable and helpful. They gave my friend and I a map showing us where to walk to & the barman makes a really good coffee (I can not remember his name, but he is an older gentlemen, and loves to have a conversation!)

The rooms are large and clean, and the beds are just heavenly to sleep in!
Anywhere you walk in the hotel, the staff will always say hello and ask how your day is, which makes them really stand out from alot of the other larger chain hotels that are in the city - it's that personal charm that makes me look forward to coming back to The Point Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krissydj917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently stayed at The Point Hotel with my fiancé and was incredibly impressed.
I emailed prior to booking about which room would be best with the facilities I required. I got a speedy response and told which rooms would suit my needs most (a big bath was a must!). I checked in to the hotel and was greeted by a lovely man who ensured I had everything I needed. The room was fantastic, exactly as described in their online brochure, modern and spacious. We had breakfast daily in Lamberts restaurant and dinner one night, lovely service, great meals and value for money.

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting relaxing time away but still close to the city. Short stroll to free ferry and convenience store.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaJade90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Brisbane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Brisbane Hotel

Property: The Point Brisbane Hotel
Address: 21 Lambert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#9 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#9 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Brisbane Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the elegant marble foyer and smell the perfume of the fresh flowers on display, you’ll feel completely at home at Brisbane's leading independent hotel.The Point is conveniently situated in the exclusive inner city village of Kangaroo Point. Embraced by the Brisbane CBD and New Farm reaches of the Brisbane River, a brief ferry ride from the city heart.Its 201 deluxe rooms and suites enjoy stunning views. The hotel offers a turn down service each evening along with the luxury of 24 hour room service.Lamberts Restaurant, Bar and Lounge has an excellent reputation for its modern Australian cuisine and sophisticated cocktails. The palm fringed pool provides a cool, relaxing escape from the world and Wi-Fi, parking and online newspaper and magazine service are all complimentary to guests.A range of meeting rooms and the top floor Eagle’s Nest function room and deck have spectacular, panoramic city and river views. The essence of The Point Brisbane experience is service – it’s where people like you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Point Brisbane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
The Point Hotel Brisbane
Point Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing