We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Mantra on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Queen
Ranked #54 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room is modern enough but my bed had a few stray black hairs ( from someone's head) , and now sat hear trying to watch TV with a washing machine doing its business on the other side of my door ! Great at 8pm on a Sunday night... Can't wait for the spin cycle to start.. Why would they put a washing machine right outside someone's door... Understand it's an adjoining room of a two bedroom suite but come on, maybe a curfew on night use ? Hope it's their last load.

Room Tip: Don't get an adjoining room unless the one next door is family or friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for your positive feedback and constructive ideas on what you feel we can improve on following your recent stay with us. We always take feedback seriously and use these reviews as opportunities of improving our service so we can be sure to hit the mark the next time you stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    358
    187
    69
    36
See reviews for
106
235
50
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot get over my partner and my stay at the Mantra on Queen! I am really trying hard to think of one positive aspect from this stay to no avail.
Before we could even reach the hotel, we were lost. The entrance to the hotel is in a lane, hidden from view with poor signage to suggest that the entry was in a different area.
Upon arrival, we noticed the lack of space in our room, which was bearable, despite having to shuffle around in the bathroom just so we could open the door.
We were pleased to see such a large bed in the room, until we tried to lay down on it and came to a painful realisation that it was just two beds pushed together. In addition to this, the pillows and mattress were very uncomfortable.
Two sore backs later, we attempted to make some dinner and were going to use the plates provide in the hotel until we noticed the dripping wet soapy water all over them that had not been cleaned off prior.
It did not take us long to realise that the air con did not work properly either, as it was either extremely hot or extremely cold in the room no matter what temperature the aircon was set at.
There were visible cracks in the walls and no room service, nor was there any mini bar. (Strange for a hotel, especially a supposed 4 star hotel?)
Probably one of the most disturbing aspects of this stay was the fact that we could hear the sound of next door's toilet seat being closed... There was literally no noise barrier. In addition to this, even from the 17th floor we could hear traffic and were woken regularly during the night to the sounds of traffic and sirens. The excuse of being a city hotel will not suffice, as I have stayed in hotels closer to the heart of the city with no issues.
Another issue that woke us up was the hotel's clock having an alarm set to 3:30am one night... When it was disconnected from the wall it still continued to blare out.
The room was not overly clean, there were visible cleaning marks in the shower recess.
The hotel is also not as close to the heart of the city as its marketing makes it out to be.
When we attempted to use the glasses and water jug supplied to us, we were greeted with a very distinct bourbon taste, which is completely disgusting and totally unacceptable.
Our check out time was confused by reception and we were awakened by many phone calls from reception asking why we hadn't checked out yet.
As well as this, we had friends attempt to visit us during our stay but were incorrectly told by reception that we had already checked out.
The last straw for us was when I attempted to wash our clothes in the washing machine, located outside of our room and it completely failed us. When the issue was resolved by reception, I almost wished I hadn't bothered washing the clothes due to the horrible screeching noises that ensued.

For the amount of money we paid to stay here, this hotel is a joke. 2 star at a stretch. I highly recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtneyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

All in all the mantra was ok room ok noisy in the weekend and room service had to be called to clean the room everyday. Shower great bed ok reception good. Location was good woollies down the road and buses good

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCKY083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear ROCKY083,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mantra on Queen. I am so glad you found our reception team were efficient and that the location of our property was handy for you. Although, I am sorry you experienced some inconsistencies with our housekeeping service times on this occasion. We will try our best to improve on any lapses in communication in this area for your next stay.

Thanks again, and we do hope to look after you again the next time you are in Brisbane!

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 bedroomed apartment which needed some money spent on it so found that a little disappointing for the price. It had a lovely river view. Only one saucepan made it difficult to cook a full meal, shower needed fixing, pillows & bed very hard, lovely to be able to open the balcony doors and get fresh air but very noisy! All sorts of maintenance issues were obvious which again made the price unjustifiable, apart from that the staff were excellent. Togninis next door is excellent & the location of Mantra was pretty good too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infojunkieQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear infojunkieQld

Firstly, thank you for your review and constructive feedback. Our team are sad to hear the news that you experienced some maintenance issues in your room which effected your overall experience. We always take feedback seriously and use these reviews as opportunities to improve our product and service.

Please contact me directly on stacey.groom@mantra.com.au the next time you are seeking accommodation in Brisbane so I can ensure your overall experience is a success.

Kind Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Average hotel in average location. Reception staff great but housekeeping is rubbish and cleanliness an issue. Room size is good but very noisy on weekend nights. Would stay again but I'm sure there is better value in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear mack1975

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Mantra on Queen. I am pleased to see our reception team were their usual lovely selves but am naturally concerned to hear you experienced some housekeeping issues in your room. Allow me to assure you that these issues fall short of our usual high standards that we pride ourselves on and I have taken your feedback and discussed it with the relevant department heads to ensure they are addressed.

I do hope that you will try us again the next time you are in Brisbane, so we are able to display improvements to your overall experience.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great location. Staff very friendly.Try the Mexican Restaurant just over the road, food and service is great!. Re the car park-Caution-watch out if you have a big car . The car park is a maze of concrete pillars!!!

Room Tip: I had a room on level 24. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Dobbo_13

Thanks so much for your review outlining your experience while at our property. We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Queen in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the mantra, was in brisbane for a concert and had to extend our stay because of road closures. The staff were extremely helpful as it was a day to day basis. The apartment we had was very modern and spacious ( 4 Adults) 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms all very modern, service was very good. Car parking, supermarket hotels all within very hundred meters. Lovely restaurant downstairs. Good value for money handy to the city valley and lots of restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Marina N,

Thank you kindly for your review. I am so pleased to read that all aspects of your stay with us were enjoyed. All of the staff here at Mantra on Queen are extremely pleased to have had such a positive impact on your stay.

I hope I have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Queen

Property: Mantra on Queen
Address: 570 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping river or city views just minutes away from the cosmopolitan city centre of Brisbane, Mantra on Queen's central location provides the perfect base to sample local and international restaurants, designer fashion boutiques and the popular Queens Plaza and Queen Street mall shopping precincts. The hotel offers spacious, well-appointed Hotel rooms, One and Two bedroom apartments all with sweeping views across Brisbane city and the Brisbane River. All accommodation features laundry facilities, wifi internet access (fee), cable TV and in-house movies while our one and two bedroom apartments have the added convenience of a full kitchen. Our hotel boasts superior guest services including 24 hour reception, security undercover parking and conference facilities. Leisure facilities onsite include an outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and fully equipped gym. Located downstairs guests will find Cook & Co. Bar and Grill, showcasing locally sourced produce from land and sea using an array of cooking techniques with a significant spot light on our char grill. Our city hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure just minutes from Brisbane's CBD and just 20 minutes from the Brisbane Airport. The hotel has a strict 'no party' policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Queen Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing