We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price!”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #156 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We live on the Sunshine Coast and needed to stay in Brisbane for the night after attending the Billy Connolly concert at the Convention Centre. We found the Sapphire Resort on the internet for $89 per night. This included free undercover car parking. This hotel is exactly what it presents online, a budget place which is close to Southbank and Brisbane CBD. Our room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the only noise we could hear were birds. We walked to the Convention Centre and it only took 10 minutes.

A bonus was the fantastic Adams Chinese/Malaysian restaurant on site where we had a reasonably priced and delicious dinner. We had breakfast at the Briz Cafe on the other side of the resort. This was also good food at a reasonable price. The reception staff were also very friendly and polite.

Anyone who comes here and wants a five star experience for $89 and then makes a complaint by way of a poor review is not being fair.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireResort, Manager at Sapphire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear DenandAli,

I would like to thank you your positive feedback you posted on Tripadvisor. We hope you had a great time and enjoyed the concert.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Melinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

Sapphire Motel West End

It’s hard to believe that we stayed at the same place as some of less complimentary reviews on this motel. We stayed for 3 nights in July 2010 for leisure purposes and found the place to be very comfortable and good value for money. We paid $105 for one room and there were 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 11), sleeping in 2 double beds. Room was clean, furniture was quite presentable and we found no evidence of crawling bugs as mentioned in a couple of the earlier reviews. The beds were a little hard for our liking and maybe a queen and 2 bunk beds instead of the 2 double beds in our room might have worked a little better for us, but this is one of the few motels in Brisbane (in fact, world wide, in our experience) that enables a family of 4 to stay in the same room, at a reasonable price.

Sure, you don’t get things like a mini bar, room service or 76 channels of cable TV (although you do get a few extra channels) but with the very tasty and reasonably priced Chinese Restaurant, and equally nice Café Briz on site you don’t really need any of it. Anyway, the centre of West End with all the supermarkets, restaurants, bars, entertainment and shops you could want is just 200 metres or so down the road.

The bathroom was nice, had its own hairdryer, as well as a bath and shower.

The motel is only 5 or 10 minutes walk to the Cultural Centre. It is then only a couple of hundred metres on to get to the CBD of Brisbane.

Staff were pleasant and courteous at all times.

We didn’t need to use it this time, but there is a sizeable car park.

This motel is better in terms of quality and price than most motor inns and motels you get when driving around Australia. As long as you don’t expect 5 star value for a 3.5 star price you’ll be fine. If you want a mini bar and room service, then this isn’t the place. But if you want economical centre-of-the-city accommodation in Brisbane, that is safe and pleasant, then this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireResort, Manager at Sapphire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear 4Macks,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay and thank you for devoting your time to post this on Trip Advisor.
We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Melinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Booked in here for a business trip and ended up walking away and booking somewhere else. Went into a twin room which smelt disgusting because they had used copious amounts of air freshener - god knows what it would have smelled like if there was no air freshener. Not a good thing to do when people have allergies- one of my colleagues who had been in the room earlier that ended up with red itchy eyes from the chemicals. Not only did the place smell but I dread to think what had been on the carpet which was full of stains, the furniture was also tired the table had stains all over it and the bed bases were ripped. The room was filthy too with cobwebs from the light fitting and thick dust along the skirting boards and ledges. however little did I know that the worse was still to come, my colleague and I decided to check out the bed and having peeled back the sheets found hairs in the bed and also what looked like a small bug of some description (dead of course!). Although we left some colleagues stayed and faced breakfast which evidently was also awful, apparently the Vegemite on toast looked like a whole jar had been used, and another asked for cappuccino without cocoa on top and despite sending it back twice it was still not right. Whatever you do don't stay here, what a cheek to call it a 3 1/2 star!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireResort, Front Office Manager at Sapphire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Dear Travellerm68,

I would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience despite all the effort to try to solve your problem and make your stay more comfortable.
Your company made a reservation and they didn't inform us that any of their employees have allergies otherwise we would pay extra attention to that request.
You reported the problem to the receptionist right after you walked into your room so she tried to find you another room and she also asked for your patience because we were fully booked on that night. Around 20 minutes later - when our manager arrived back to the motel and tried to talk to you - you were gone and left without any notice. He left a message on your phone but you have never returned his call.
The management checked the room and didn’t find any hair or bug in any of the beds.
Next morning I contacted your company to apologise for what happened and also informed them that they were not charged for that night and they can contact me anytime if they need further information. Since then I haven’t heard back from them either.
I am sorry to hear that your colleagues had trouble with their breakfast. I have to apologise on behalf of the Café for that, but please be informed that Café Briz is run by individuals and they are not part of our motel.
Also please note that the Sapphire Resort is a 3 star, AAA rated motel.
Again, we are disappointed to hear that your experience at the Sapphire Resort did not meet your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

VERY basic standard in rooms, poor aircon box in wall that only just worked at cooling after lengthy wait, sagging mattress, crawling bugs, noisy housekeeping staff at 600am outside door - talking, laughing

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank January999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireResort, Front Office Manager at Sapphire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2010

Thank you for writing a review. I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
I have to defend our housekeepers who only start at 8am so most likely the noise was caused by other guests and we apologise on behalf of them for the inconvenience.
As our receptionist hasn't been advised about the "crawling bugs" directly, we didn't have the chance to solve the issue while you were here. If we would have been notified about it I am sure one of our friendly staff would have tried to solve the problem to make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Booked this hotel after getting some recommendations from experts in Tripadvisor Brisbane Forum. Stayed for 2 nights. Love the place for its location - within walking distance to numerous restaurants and pubs, Southbank parkland, the train and bus stations and city (maybe 20 - 30 min).

Though the hotel is a bit older but it's clean and well maintained. Room is quite spacious. Best of all, there was secure parking for my hire car at no cost. Staff was helpful and friendly. We arrived just after 10.00am. Our room was not ready but the staff allocated another room for us which I really appreciated.

Definitely will stay here again and will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwk-my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Only stayed one night, was hard to find, but in a neat neighborhood very close to the convention center. Older hotel, seemed clean enough, signs everywhere about security and other things. The West End of Brisbane has many neat trendy places to shop and eat. I got a good rate and would stay again... I would say though, it's time to update the place, but was fine for the night and the staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYC1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Booked this hotel on the internet. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
The attached Adams Chinese Restaurant provided very good food as did the small cafe on the premises.
There was secure parking for my hire car at no cost which appeared to me to be fairly unusual in Australian Cities.
There were numerous quality restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance of the hotel and the CBD was only about 1 km away.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skyelander174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 170 in Brisbane
2,156 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 170 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 170 in Brisbane
1,639 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,214 reviews
1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing