We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #151 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is definitely a case of getting what you pay for.
The staff were nice enough but stuffed up my booking twice. The room was less than average and half the power points didn't work.
The rooms weren't cleaned at all during our stay.

BUT - the only thing that made our stay there worth it was Cafe Briz and the Chinese restaurant on the property. The food was fantastic large sized meals and cost us $10 a meal which was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Sapphire Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

And that's the only plus.

For what we paid, we expected a bit better.

It is very budget, no tissues in the room, sad old mattress and air con, and terrible bathroom.

Staff are a bit rude, and you didn't feel very welcomed.

It's a short 5 min walk to boundary st, with plenty of great bars and restaurants and that's the only thing it has going for it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia_Sarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

the manager at this hotel is aggressive and rude and the staff are incompetent. even though I had booked and paid in advance I got no further than 5 minutes conversation with the 3 counter staff when I decided to get my money back and stay somewhere else.

first they said I wasn't booked. then they found the booking, I signed, all good.

then they wanted $150 deposit for the room key. I said "you didn't tell me that when I booked: I don't have $150 until I get paid tomorrow". I offered to leave my debit card instead: he refused that. and started shouting at me. he claimed that the hotel down the road charges $250 key deposit and people are happy to pay it, which I suspect was a complete lie. at this point I demanded my money back and got it (on my card, not in cash).

this guy knows nothing about customer service. in the 5 minutes I was there I saw him alienate not only me but my entire group plus the guy in front of us. this place is just like Fawlty Towers except not funny.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank jewel169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Location is good, walking distance to west end shopping district, and restaraunts and southbank and train station. close to bus stops too.
Its a budget hotel standard room $80, its quite well run. Has old style aircon and basic facilities- dont know why they bother with a pool. There is a reasonably priced restaraunt downstairs with better than average opening hours. You dont want to loose keys here there is a hefty call out fee.
Annoying that you just cant ring up and book a room to get a good price and you have to go through a internet portal to get it. Reception is only manned till 10pm?

Room Tip: If your carrying luggage think low floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My partner stayed at the hotel 3 days ago. He said it wasn't much of a hotel and that he had stayed in better in small country towns. They took $150.00 dollars as quick as lightning from our bank account as a security deposit. We have stayed in many top hotels all over the world and have never had the security deposit actually taken from our bank account. Any hotel only takes an imprint of your credit card, that's all that's needed. It's been 3 days now and we have not received our $150.00 refund back into our account. The manager offers no apology for this. Instead keeps insisting it is the banks fault. There is no hold up with my bank, it's only waiting to receive. It's not a good situation and one that should not happen.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Karyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Clean, comfortable and close to places I needed to go to while I was in Brisbane. The downside is that it's quite basic and the layout of the place makes carrying luggage a real hassle. I would hesitate in calling this a resort; it's more accurately described as a motel. I didn't get a chance to try out the pool, though. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pondo873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sapphire Resort last night and were not disappointed. The room was spacious and quiet and the staff very helpful. We also took advantage of the undercover secure parking (not all spaces are undercover). There is a small balcony, a bar fridge, hairdryer, very useful bench for our bags, a sink and tea and coffee-making. We took an afternoon stroll around the West End shops and the interesting weekend market. In the evening we walked the 200 metres to catch the bus on Melbourne Street to QPAC for a ballet performance. It is definitely 3-star and probably would have rated a little higher in its heyday. We have already booked a return visit on booking.com which does not charge for the service. By the way, breakfast at Cafe Britz was first class.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator ask to have the first or second floor and access your room from the front e...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#102 of 168 in Brisbane
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 168 in Brisbane
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Apartments
Parkview Apartments
#32 of 136 in Brisbane
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#31 of 136 in Brisbane
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#64 of 136 in Brisbane
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing