We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not again, needs a refurb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridgewater Apartments
Ranked #22 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not again, needs a refurb.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had stayed at these apartments once before about three years ago, and it was fine back then as a Quest franchise. As I was told in no uncertain terms this time, the apartments are no longer Quest, as " they had too many rules". After staying there recently cleanliness and serviceability are probably two they have given away.
The check in process this time was fine, friendly and no problems.
The parking is really tight and although we have a big people mover, it took quite a bit of negotiating to get into a spot.
First the good, the view from the balcony was amazing, over the Brisbane river and story bridge. The balcony is roomy, has table and chairs and is a great way to spend the end of the day.
The room was the major issue.
They are worn out, in serious need of a refurb.
There was a hole in the wall of the unit which had just had a piece of wood nailed over. There was one air conditioner in the main living room, which struggled to cool that room, with no chance of reaching the rest of the apartment. The bedrooms aren't air conditioned, are aged and tacky.
There are not TVs in any of the bedrooms, the main bedroom had a weird cupboard where the entire back of it had been smashed in.
There is a two sweater and three sweater lounge, however the frame of the two sweater lounge was broken, and you sank deep into the lounge and could feel the broken frame through the cushion which was uncomfortable.
There is a laundry, but you can't lift the lid of the washing machine without disconnecting the power for the dryer, as it is in the way.
The bed in the main bedroom was closer to a double than a queen.
The front door stuck and needed to be pulled shut, if not it stayed ajar, which on the first day there resulted in some random guy wandering into our living room. The front door composes a door knob and a deadlock, which is complicated if you don't have both hands free when trying to enter or leave.
The free wireless provided is a modem, which you hook up yourself, except the power cord is on one side of the kitchen and the phone jack on the other side, which means there is a cable extending across the kitchen bench to get intermittent wireless access.
Saw a maid who dropped towels in our room on day three, didn't make any beds or take the old towels, just dropped fresh ones, I guess we should be thankful for small services.

Now in summary, it may have been that we just got unlucky and got a dodgy apartment, but I can only write about what I saw. I understand that many of these apartments are privately owned and managed by the body corporate, but if this is the case, REFURB this one, or offer it at a cheaper rate, because it is more three than four star.

Overall these apartments are in a great location, but are tired, in need of a refurb, and I wouldn't waste my money, when there are many better options around the area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevej1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
50
21
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My mistake for not arriving at the right place but the phone number that was given rang out and wasn't answered for a while whilst I was trying to make contact with the checking in staff. Lost about an hour of mucking around. Having said that the staff were very friendly.

Finally got my room and COMPLIMENTARY PARKING. (City is a free ferry ride from the quay). Got to my room and was somewhat disappointed.

So Pros.

Relatively cheap for this time of year.
Nice pool and gym.
Close to the city and Storey Bridge hotel.
Nice views of the river.
Nice leather lounge but only a two seater
FREE Internet - where do you get that these days
Great balconies
New and practical carpet

Cons

Very tired and really needs to have a paint job
Inadequate aircon for the Brisbane weather
Fan only in the bedroom and hence several degrees hotter - have to leave the AC on all the time
TV is tiny like really tiny.
TV reception very dodgey - pixelating regularly
No DVD player or sound system.
Light blown in the bedroom - and yes I will report it
Kitchen is basic
Old/basic microwave
Half size fridge
The crockery and cutlery is mix and match and not the same number of plates (i.e. 5 of one 6 of another etc)
The bottom of all drawers are all marked and scratched and could well do with a scrub
Dust everywhere - clearly hasn't been dusted for a long time - bedroom in particular.
Bathroom and Laundry
Mould in the seals on the shower
Shower door doesn't shut properly
Soap scum on the tiles in the shower
Big Chips off the paint in ensuite cupboards
Torn Ironing board cover
Allows smoking on the balcony - ashtray is there
Not enough seating - if you had visitors it would be hard not to mention the lack of crockery
No champagne glasses

All in all probably only a 3 1/2 at best - realistically 3 stars. The photos on the website show lovely views - but only from the top floors obviously. The furniture is all there in the photos but it certainly looks better than the reality.

Tripadvisor also needs to update the name of this to Bridgewater Apartments - used to be the Quest.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the river side as I think they would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was in a group of 7 (all 21 year olds) coming to see the cricket in brisbane, we wanted to stay somewhere that could accommodate us all without having to get multiple rooms and which was affordable and close the the Gabba. For $65 a night, we had a great room which faced the river, three bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a pretty much fully furnished kitchen. We didnt have a car but right next door was a (small) convienience store, bottle shop, cafe and bar. This place had everything we needed and the pool/spa was great after a long day at the cricket! Only one air con in the main room, but with the fans in each room we were fine. Would definitely stay here again! Suitable for all types of travellers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at the Quest Bridgewater for three nights in May. We were pleasantly greeted by the owner who very generously upgraded us to a larger, quieter, corner apartment with a private balcony. The apartment was extremely spacious, clean and had all the utilities one needs to make your stay as homely as possible. I would lie in bed at night with my curtains open looking at the lights of the bridge and city. A welcome change from home, and one that made me feel as though I was on holiday. As there was a full kitchen I signed up from New Zealand to Coles supermarket and ordered groceries online to be delivered on arrival. We arrived about 6pm and the groceries were delivered around 7pm (prior arrangement). The manager at the front desk phoned me and let me know when they arrived. A really convenient service if you are time conscious. We ate delicious fresh fruit salad on the balcony while listening to the birds and boats go up and down the river. A wonderful experience. The Quest is located not far from central Brisbane and cost about $14.00 to catch a taxi into town. The Brisbane Jazz club is located about a five minute taxi ride away and makes for a fantastic night out, although it may pay to book in advance. In general I would recommend the Quest Bridgewater if you are wanting a spacious affordable stay, with the convenience of being able to cook meals and do your laundry in your apartment. It was clean and made for an extremely enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 5051 is located on the quieter side of the building and boasts city and river views. It has a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeii_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband had to work in southern suburbs and had access to car, therefore children and I had to use the ferry and it was FREE! Took Ferry across to city, walked around foreshore of Kangaroo Point. 2 bedroom apartment very clean and presentable. Cooking facilities, bathtub, washing machine and dryer! (essential with two littlies!) Would definitely stay there again. No noise issues whatsoever, unless you count a bit of traffic on the Storey Bridge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently booked a two bedroom apartment for 4 nights. Husband was travelling for work and I accompanied him with our baby. I had read on here issues regarding noise so I did have a couple of reservations, but when booking I just requested to be on the water side of the property. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to. 3 bedroom apartment- not that we needed 3 rooms. But the great thing was the main bedroom sits separately with no walls adjoining to other guest- which was great as I didn't have to be concerned about noise from our baby disturbing other guests. The apartment was SO spacious, we had great views, furniture and decor was modern and very comfortable . For what we paid we were SOO impressed by the room, and have to say the staff were more than helpful during our stay. Will definitely stay again and highly recommend !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. Three bedroom apartments are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place , you can travel by car or boat to city which is only 5 mins away, apartments well looked after and clean and if lucky enough to get bridge or city view not a bad place to sit and have a wee drink with friends and family , also has nice quiet pool area and nice walk round kangaroo point

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBadT1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#34 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridgewater Terraces
Bridgewater Terraces
#50 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Docks On Goodwin Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest on Story Bridge
Quest on Story Bridge
#11 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivercity Gardens
Rivercity Gardens
#87 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Dockside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Apartments

Property: Bridgewater Apartments
Address: Bridgewater Quest Inn 55 Baildon St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia (Formerly Quest Bridgewater)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewater Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation close to the Brisbane CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bridgewater Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Bridgewater Brisbane
Quest Bridgewater Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing