We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL FAB BREAKFAST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Queensland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL FAB BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

We live about 3 hours from Brisbane but wanted 3 nights in city without spending a forturne. Hotel was much more than expected clean, immaculate and nicely decorated rooms all of various sizes. We had to ask for another room as our 1st double room (on 7th floor)was so small we could not move around the bed let alone open the fridge, but bathroom was quite large. We mentioned that this room should have had a single bed only in it. Anyway they transfered us to another room on the 4th floor which was quite large and spacious. (no view this time only the offices next door) Bathroom 1st class. The whole place is extremely fresh clean and inviting. We paid $95 per night including breakfast (bacon eggs, juice tea etc) last minute deals. Nice cafe down stairs. Parking very limited 1st come basis but if arriving by noon should be ok if not peak times. Staff were very helpful and courteous especially reception staff. The day manager was not all that happy when we asked to be moved but did move us without any problem. Close to everything, transport, shops etc etc If you are a couple with suitcases than request a large room and don't be afraid to ask for another room if yours is too small.

  • Liked — Fresh, clean & nicely decorated rooms, so close to everything and in lower price range
  • Disliked — The original room given was extremely small but asked and was moved to a much lger room
  • Tips/Secrets — if couple or family ask for a large room. If on arriving room small ask to be moved prior to settling in.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Willchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    181
    111
    39
    15
See reviews for
42
136
87
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2006

The room was a little small but very clean. We stayed in a queen deluxe. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast was included. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Would stay again.

Helpful?
5 Thank KKRH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June and were more than happy with it. 3 blocks from Queen St Mall & the Casino - brilliant location!! Rooms were small but all we needed as it was only somewhere to sleep and shower..

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank witchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

We stayed at the HGW for four nights in August 2005, we found the rooms were average size but they were very clean and tidy. The bathroom was lovely and new, the shower had plenty of pressue and was nice and hot.

The price was great at $105 bed and breakfast and the central location was ideal. The rooms have double glazed windows so there isn't much noise.

The staff in both the reception and restaurant are very helpful and will do whatever they can to help.

The only negative is the limited amount of car-parking and it can be difficult to get to the under-ground car park.

We will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2005

This was a good find. The staff were very pleasant, the room was immaculate, very comfortable. Though the hotel was packed I didn't find noise a problem - on the contrary, I was surprised at how quiet it was. The location was great. Just a couple of blocks from the train station - which offered cheap transport to the airport. And it was convenient to all the downtown restaurants. It's not flashy, but I found it clean and utilitarian.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Featherst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

I picked this hotel mainly based on price and location. Having stayed at a YMCA in the past with very positive results, I had high hopes. My twin room had two twin beds that were lined up along one wall feet together. It felt like I was staying in a hallway. The walls were thin enough I could hear every word of a conversation in another room, and could hear the elevator click off each floor as it rose up and down all night long. I slept with ear plugs, which helped. Wireless connectivity, pre-paid in advance, was unreliable and spotty - and not at all high speed. Location was terrific - just a few blocks from the main bus terminal area and Queen Street Mall. Restaurant food was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2004

I was in Brisbane, staying in Hotel George Williams from the 01.08.04 to 06.08.04. It had been a absolutely wonderful time of my life. The service wwas great n most importantly, the staff were very helpful and friendly. I really appreciate the help given such as booking of one- day tours and giving of directions to other attractions. Thanks, HGW!

Helpful?
6 Thank winterwithoutsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#64 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#50 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Property: George Williams Hotel
Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing