We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
106
220
126
49
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
220
126
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location rooms are small queen room attached restaurant queen street mall budget hotel small fridge roma station single bed free wifi an easy walk reception staff are stay there again comfortable bed convenience store stayed two nights public transport
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 521 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Clean, basic fairly small hotel room but adequate to accommodate the double bed. Upright chair at built-in desk / bench - no "comfy chair" with table. Basic facilities in the room ie kettle, cups, small fridge in the cupboard, clothes hanging facilities, bathroom small but adequate. NB No daily room clean / linen change over the week-end. Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and bedding. Room had optional aircon and a stand-alone heater. No balcony and view from window was not inspiring. No microwave or food warming facilities. The complex has no pool or kitchen that I found but did have a restaurant (of which I did not avail myself with a fairly extensive and reasonably price menu) and importantly a 24-hour reception (my room was ready ahead of time!!) and a lift operated with the room card. For someone depending on public transport, the location is a bit problematic in that you need to walk a few blocks for the nearest bus stops (need to figure out which one you need) but it is a fairly easy walk to the Roma Street railway station. One very positive feature is the 7/11 convenience store just next door which had a good range of food, drink and other basic supplies. The cost was the best I found for a hotel close to the Brisbane CBD. It is what it is: no frills accommodation but still a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george201159, Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Judy H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers.

Thank for you your detailed feedback regarding your stay at the hotel, the hotel will be conducting a refurbishment in the near future and guest experience is invaluable.

Whist the room you were in had no balcony we do have rooms available with an attached terrace, next time you stay with us ask for a queen terrace. Unfortunately you are correct regarding the lack of kitchen facilities in the rooms however if you ever need anything heated or cool storage please ask the reception as they will always be happy to assist.

Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Clean and modern rooms. Really friendly stuff. 24h reception. Great location, very close to the bus terminal and the station. Lots of shopping opportunities around. Really cool place to stay in brisbane, worth the money!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank travellerAS4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george201159, Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear travellerAS4112,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience at the hotel with other travellers.

Thank you for the positive feedback, we pride ourselves in providing the best value accommodation in the heart of the River City. I will pass on to the reception staff and house keepers your kind words they will be elated to hear your thoughts.

Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

Good CBD location. We weren't expecting much for this inner city hotel. On the positive: the location, cleanliness and reasonably quiet. Less positive: the WiFi was very very slow, my husband was trying to work and it was impossible. Parking in anything other than a very small car is impossible in the hotel parking up an alley and underground at the back of the hotel. Also watch out at checkout. There is no where to park at the front of the hotel. We parked for less than 2 minutes and were being photographed by a city parking officer. My husband was driving, was able to jump out and talk reason into the situation and avoid a $280 fine. This could have turned our economical overnight stay into a very expensive stay in the city. Would recommend if you need a low budget CBD room for a short trip and you don't need WiFi or have a big car.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank BHollier63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george201159, Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear BHollier63,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel with other travellers.

I am sorry that you such a long list of troubles with the parking at the hotel, George Street is a clear way during peak hour traffic. We do offer off-site parking which is less than a block away from the hotel that will accommodate larger vehicles, if we are lucky enough to have you return please call in advance and we will organise the off-site parking for you.

Regarding the Wi-Fi the hotel it usually averages 7-12mpbs however on the odd occasion when the hotel is close to capacity it can effect the speed available to users. I am sorry if this was an issues for your husbands work.
We do have a wired network available in the business centre that has constant speed if he requires a quite area to work next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Mark Showell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Was clean but not really comparable for other close hotels. Stayed here only because usual hotels were fully booked. Tiny rooms - no mini bar - or room service - not even a power point in the bathroom so trying to do your hair in the morning is an interesting experience if you are travelling for business - not recommended for the business traveler

Stayed: July 2017
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george201159, Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear 383traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel with other travellers.

We are aware that our rooms are smaller than others situated around Brisbane, we do our best to offer the best value accommodation in the River City.

I am sorry to hear that you had troubles getting ready in the morning. Whilst the bathrooms do not all have power points every room does have a hair drier as part of the utilities in the cupboard with the iron, ironing board and additional bedding.

If we are every lucky enough to have you return to the hotel, I would be happy to personally show you around the hotel's facilities personally.

Kind Regards,

Mark Showell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

an easy walk from Roma Street station & we checked into Room 611. Yep, the rooms are "boutique" but functional & for $219 for 2 nights in the CBD with free wifi, can you complain ? Our room was refurbished, think they all are now, with a good AC. Only weird thing was there was no power socket in the bathroom, never encountered that before. Looked like it had been blanked out, is this yet another example of the nanny state ? So, if you want to dry your hair plug the dryer, supplied, into a power socket away from a mirror ?

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george201159, Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for your review on The George Williams Hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Regards

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews