We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Extremely Clean, Very Satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Location, Extremely Clean, Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. Our room was not as small as we had expected after reading the reviews, so we were very pleased. The room was extremely clean & was cleaned very well while we were there. Hotel Staff very nice & the food in the restaurant was good.
Thanks very much. Enjoyed our stay, would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    181
    111
    39
    15
See reviews for
42
136
87
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

this hotel used to be a YWCA, the rooms are quite small for 2 people but you can't argue with the price.
it is situated in walking distance to the transit center as well as queen street with all its shops.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We liked staying at the Hotel George Williams, it was very clean, our room was a good size. The staff where very helpful. The hotel is only a few blocks to the Mall & casino, and about a 7 minute walk to the Roma Street railway. If you have a car, the car park under the building is very steep, I thought $20 was a bit expensive per night for your car. We found you don't really don't need a car, the public transport was good. The hotel also sells discount train tickets to the airport. I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iammadabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Clean and reasonably priced hotel which is within walking distance to all Brisbane's inner city areas. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkjk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling NZ/Aus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

The Hotel George Williams is in the perfect location, situated close to both the Transit Centre and Queens St, the main shopping area. Walk over the Victoria Bridge to get to the beautiful South Bank, Botanical Gardens and museums and art galleries.

The rooms are basic and perhaps a little dated, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Service was very good, and I found it to be very good value. Just be aware that the walls are quite thin so you can hear your neighbour if they happen to be particularly inconsiderate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Excellent value for money. Centrally located and only a five minute walk from the Roma Transit train station. Good service, easy to find, very clean and perfect for a short stay in Brisbane. Rooms a little small so maybe not so great for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciao2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#64 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#50 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Property: George Williams Hotel
Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing