We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #64 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As you would expect with an old YMCA building the rooms are on the small size. Cutdown bathroom to match but it had all you needed.
The mounted tv was in an odd position but you can't have everything.
Price was ok for a busy weekend.
Clean enough, staff helpful, having two lifts helps.
Good central location.
3.5 stars is realistic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StPatrickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has very friendly and helpful front office staff. It is very close to Roma Street Station and the CBD. Room very clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant attached. I only stayed one night. Had breakfast at the restaurant which was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codibeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel(an old YMCA building) is very well located in the city centre and has lots of amenities close by. They have a car park charging $24 a night which is cheaper than other locations in the city. Getting in and out of it can only be described as an experience though! The rooms themselves are compact but do the job. The biggest issue I had was the Wi-fi cost. $4.40 for half an hour and $24 for a full day is nothing short of scandalous! Overall, if you are wanting an affordable city centre location with a car park in Brisbane, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had stayed with them for 4 nights in August 2013. The hotel was very well priced and very well located in a central location. The room is a bit aged and the room we stayed at level 5 have amenities including kettle, iron, iron board, bar fridge, heater, A/C, alarm clock and coffee supplies. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

What let us down was hot water in our bathroom is just warm, one of our room service didn't empty out our bins & restock coffee supplies and it seems our fridge is turned off on our return each night.

Despite these let downs, I would still consider future stay with them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnysai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Was happy with this hotel as a cheap overnighter. Good security and clean basic room. Was very quiet. Wireless is $24 though which is excessive. They let me check in earlier and park for longer than what was on the sign.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lc3248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times and it's real value for money. The rooms are well maintained, clean and comfortable. Nothing flash but absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel at all! Importantly, its location is terrific, being within walking distance of all CBD offices. I'll stay again! Incidentally, the restaurant is great. The service can be a bit slow, but the food is terrific and economical as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift wall as the lift can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was well priced for a very central location. The room was modern and very clean, with terrific block out curtains. Room service was efficient with some great choices.

I'd be happy to stay at the Hotel George Williams when next visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobileokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.0 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#79 of 169 in Brisbane
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
0.2 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#126 of 169 in Brisbane
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $71 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Williams Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing