We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable Cheap Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Williams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable Cheap Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Was happy with this hotel as a cheap overnighter. Good security and clean basic room. Was very quiet. Wireless is $24 though which is excessive. They let me check in earlier and park for longer than what was on the sign.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lc3248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    179
    108
    39
    15
See reviews for
42
135
85
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times and it's real value for money. The rooms are well maintained, clean and comfortable. Nothing flash but absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel at all! Importantly, its location is terrific, being within walking distance of all CBD offices. I'll stay again! Incidentally, the restaurant is great. The service can be a bit slow, but the food is terrific and economical as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift wall as the lift can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was well priced for a very central location. The room was modern and very clean, with terrific block out curtains. Room service was efficient with some great choices.

I'd be happy to stay at the Hotel George Williams when next visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobileokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although I would not choose this hotel for a romantic breakaway, it is perfectly adequate if you are looking for relatively cheap accommodation. The Ibis around the corner is twice as expensive, but not twice as good. Small but nicely renovated rooms, very friendly service at reception and close to everything you want to see as a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was reasonably ok and the food good - some lovely evening meals - but my main concern was the access to and from the upper floors. Only one very small lift out of two was working when we visited in early May. Although it was possible to get down through an external concrete staircase it was impossible to get back up it as the doors were locked from the inside. To make matters worse the fire alarm went off on our first evening ( a false alarm apparently)but a lot of people were uneasy about having to use the lift after this to get back to their rooms. Some people don't like lifts anyway and would prefer not to use them. Something needs to be done urgently about this bizarre arrangement for health and safety reasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just a few blocks from the top of the mall in Brisbane, Hotel George Williams is our choice when in Brisbane. It's always clean and reasonably priced, the rooms are mostly small but very modern and well appointed with plenty of storage/hanging space and sometimes even a bath. I especially like the fact that there's always two chairs and a table for eat in meals so no-one has to sit on the bed like in so many places. The location is excellent and everything in inner Brisbane is a short walk away. As it's on a major street, it is safe to walk to at night. In house restaurant is very good and reasonably priced with well humoured staff. Bottle shop across the road and 7/11 next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you like to relax after a big days shopping or sightseeing. Higher roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
340 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pros - Great location, low price, friendly staff. Cons - bit noisy, not totally clean-looking.
For a cheap stay on my own to watch the rugby this hotel was perfect - perfectly happy although I'm not sure I'd stay with my family given it can be a bit noisy in the corridors and carpets etc look a bit grubby.

Room Tip: Some rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#57 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#65 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.5 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Property: George Williams Hotel
Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing