We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient, economical and a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urban Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 166 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient, economical and a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stay at the Hotel Urban over the Ekka Weekend and must say the hotel met all our needs and some. The room was a good size, with a view over the city and the Roma St gardens; with a good size and very comfortable bed. The price of the room was well below what seemed to be on offer at other hotels in Brisbane of a similar standard. We arrived on a Friday night and were delighted to see entertainment in their downstairs bar area, which certainly added to the atmospherics and everyone, including us seemed to be having a good time. The Hotel is very handy to the city centre, no more than 300m and you are in King George Square with access to all the shopping, restaurants, clubs and cinemas. South Bank is a 15 minute leisurely stroll, and longer if you stop for a coffee or bite to eat at one of the many cafe's and coffee shops tucked down the various laneways or drop into one of the Hotels for a light ale.
Back to the Hotel. The service was good, friendly and prompt. The only advice I would provide is be prepared if you drive a car for their car park. The cornering inside the car park is very tight and might challenge some larger cars (ie 4WD), however there were a couple of commodores parked right next to me.
All up, staying at Hotel Urban was a good experience and as I said, handy to everything.

P.S. Don't forget to go for a stroll through the Roma Street Gardens, they are beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    279
    101
    38
    21
See reviews for
98
266
58
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Location is good, this is an old hotel that has been renovated.
I was there for two night for a family reunion in town.
When multiple family members booked on the same day we all got different prices.
When this was pointed out when at the hotel, I was rudely told "it pays to shop around".
Prices for some of my family were 40% cheaper!!!
I had booked directly with the hotel website.
I do not like being insulted like that.
They also charge for carparking, (unless you shop around), the carpark is very tight...do not attempt with a large car or SUV.....
The beds are OK but slide around a lot as they are on wheels.
Drinks at the bar downstairs are expensive for type of establishment.
I did not eat there but the menu was limited and overpriced.

It would seem that this hotel caters primarily for the business traveler, where its charged to the workplace and not ones own pocket, and weekends are a bonus

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I recently stayed here with my teenage daughter. We had a room with two double beds, which were very comfortable and the room was a good size. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, and the housekeeping staff (who are often forgotten) always had our room very clean and tidy. We didn't have time to visit the restaurant, but we did have room service one night. The food arrived fairly quickly, and was hot and tasty. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the city and the valley, but pleasant enough. We were happy with the location, and the fact that the hotel was quiet. The only thing I didn't like was the carpark, it is very tight to get around in if you have a bigger car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OurTimeOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed recently for the ekka - and have stayed here previously. The hotel was certainly well priced on a deal that had been sent through. When booking, which was direct with the hotel - I requested a high floor if possible, nice view if possible and to be away from the elevators. While I don't necessarily expect to get these things, I had booked many weeks ahead and would have expected at least some of the requests to be met. Instead, we were on the lowest floor the hotel had to offer, and were at the closest room to the lifts (which admittedly we could not hear) and looked out onto the horrible, old brick hotel next door, straight into their rooms. Anywhere from mid level at this hotel would have not looked directly at the old hotel and afforded a better view, and the away from the lift request would not have been hard to arrange. Fair enough if I booked through one of the accommodation websites seeking the cheapest available room, but as I booked direct with the hotel and was a returning guest, I was quite disappointed at this level of service. It would have been so simple for them to do better.

Room Tip: You can try to choose, but as per my review, I would not hold my breath waiting for any request to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Cogo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently held our wedding reception in the panorama room of Hotel Urban. The rooms booked the for bridal party before/after the big day were excellent and the reception went off without a hitch. Food and drinks were great and the staff very helpful on the night. Needed to clarify a few things in the lead up to the wedding as this had been missed (room pricing, drinks package inclusions) however questions were always answered quickly and resolved easily. Very happy that we chose this venue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank willtravelforicream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisarow, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

What a fantastic and hassle free stay I had at Hotel Urban Brisbane. I arrived via my own transport and was very happy to have onsite parking. Check-in was a breeze and my room fantastic! Great views over Brisbane, super comfy bed (slept like a lizard flat out on on a rock), modern bathroom and great amenities within the room itself.

Location was fabulous just a stones throw from all the city centre but just far enough away from the noisy action so that when your day is done you feel like your home. Great cocktails and lovely al fresco dinning area overlooking Brisbane and a park.

Highly recommended for business, family stay or catching up with friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with City views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a nice hotel. Atractive foyer, friendly reception staff. Comfortable room, very quiet and a really comfortable bed. Good shower and nice bathroom amenities. Restaurant has good indoor/outdoor seating and the eggs benedict were faultless with a generous serving of the best salmon I've ever had in Australia. The complimentary bottle of bubbly was a nice touch too. We caught the train from the airport to Roma Street - a 20 min trip and then a 3 minute walk (uphill) to the hotel. The return walk to the station, being downhill, is even quicker. Will happily stay there again next time we are visiting Brisbane.

Room Tip: Request a room high up and you won't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#34 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#21 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#8 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Hotel Jen Brisbane
#27 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Property: Hotel Urban Brisbane
Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing