We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$127
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$153
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$82
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveler rating
260
364
132
45
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
364
132
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkroma street parklandswickham terracetwo double bedsspring hillroom servicesmall balconybuffet breakfastwould stay againrestaurant downstairslate checkoutroma st stationacross the roadshort strollinner cityan easy walksuncorp stadium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 828 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Urban in January when my husband was undergoing heart surgery at St Andrew's Hospital, which is just up the hill from the hotel.
Everything was perfect. Staff were courteous and helpful, room very pleasant and the whole place was clean and well cared for. The beds were so comfortable - better than I have encountered in any other accommodation. The rates were very good - they had a special of $109 per night for a room with 2 double beds which more than suited our needs.
We will definitely return for another stay and also recommend this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Annette 1945,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we're so glad that our friendly and helpful staff made you feel right at home during what may have been a difficult time for you.

Our Urban Snorer beds often receive rave reviews for their superb comfort, it sounds like they certainly helped to make your stay nice and restful. Thanks so much for recommending us to your friends too, we hope to welcome you back again soon Annette 1945.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was impressed with the Hotel Urban after my first visit in September 2012 and have since been back for a number of nights on two separate occasions. Loved the breakfast, really friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were spacious and well renovated and the location is great. I think it was very good value for money

Room Tip: I have stayed in one of the more expensive rooms but have also stayed in one of the lower level, cheaper rooms which do not overlook Roma St Gardens but still have no complaints. Agree though with previous review, probably would not like to be on the floor people use to access the pool
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Cecelia R,

Thanks for your great review and being such a loyal guest – our friendly team love welcoming back familiar faces. We're really thrilled to hear that your stay is an all-round positive experience for you.

We hope to see you again soon Cecelia R.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The owners of the Urban chain really need to be applauded for their renovation of an old drab and staid hotel......the foyer/reception is light, interesting and enjoyable. Fresh apples sit on the reception counter, and an eclectic mix of furniture is comfy and inviting. Televisions, free newspapers and magazine are aplenty. The rooms have been renovated on the inside (the small balcony could do with a 'pretty up') and offer five star amenities delivered with a chic and very comfortable appeal. Simple touches like Evo toiletries which have fun and quirky directions for use are just some of the small things that will make this hotel stand out. The beds, linen and services within the room are top-notch. The pool and hot tub area is inviting with large all weather lounges under canvas gazebos...maybe opening a bar serving drinks and snacks in this area might be an option for the future? It would certainly enhance whiling away a few hours with the children on a hot day.
The hotel is situated a ten minute walk from the city or there is a bus stop outside. Roma Street Parklands is directly opposite, and is a lovely option for relaxation. The main city railway station is situated at the bottom of the parklands. It is easy to get around the city by road or rail from here.
Management need to address the pitfall of an old building with the room doors 'shuddering' when other room doors are closed.....the constant comings and goings of other guests should not impact on other guests i.e. trying to sleep at any time of the day or night, but particularly late night into the early morning. We did leave a comment card about this (very very very little sleep was had due to the doors shuddering) and were told at checkout that the General Manager does read them and would porbably be in touch with us.....no contact to date.
We attempted to have dinner in the restaurant and found it far from satisfactory. In an hour and a half we were offered one drink, my daughter was not offered the desert from her child's menu option (in fact we ended up leaving and moved down to the Tower Mill and purchased her a desert and a drink for ourselves); the meals were ordinary and very small in size - a main the size of a small entree. It was New Years Eve, and they were busy, but what we watched happen was that when one large party (about 15 people) arrived they could not cope. The staff were lovely, but dinner service needs a lot of attention. Whether a table of two or twenty people all should be offered service and value.
Dramatically different was breakfast in the restaurant.....buffet or al a carte delivered efficiently and with a smile. My husband had the buffet and it offered an amazing array of choice...smoked salmon, cured meats, fresh fruits, eggs, mushrooms, yoghurts, cereals, breaks, biscuits...the list goes on. I opted for the al a carte and was not disappointed. The food was freshly cooked, the sizes huge and presentation and service was like what dinner should have been. Maybe management should take a look at why the difference and move some of what the morning kitchen and wait staff have into the night staff?
With a little tweaking this hotel will lead a niche that is sadly lacking in the hotel industry, and whilst I have a couple of gripes, I also know it is still a lovely hotel with lovely staff...they do make you feel welcome with wonderful smiles. Would we try it again...yes, definitely worth a second chance, and athird if the little bits and pieces are ironed out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the same level as the pool entry......this will alleviate all other guests trapsing past your room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi celebrant09,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such compehensive feedback, we really appreciate it and will definitely consider your suggestions. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our unique designer style and all of the little extras that we hope will surprise and delight our guests.

We're so sorry that you had an unfavourable dining experience in our restaurant and Bar. This is obviously not our usual level of service. However we are certainly glad to hear that your delicious breakfast and our friendly morning staff won you over. It's also disappointing to hear that you experienced some noise interruptions, we hope that if you stay again you can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep that our guests generally enjoy.

If you would like to email us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know what name you booked under we can see if there is a more suitable room available for your next stay (as we were fully booked on New Year's Eve we unfortunately could not offer you an alternative room during your stay.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to welcome you back again celebrant09.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not a very attracive building, but internal renovations are pretty good.
Rooms are a good size with good quality fittings and amentities and nicely decorated.
Comfortable bed and pillows, and you have a comfortables chair & ottoman to wach television if desired.
Most rooms have a balcony, which can offer goods views and comfortable outdoor area.
Pool and gym are also on site togther with the Gazebo Restaraunt with offers good very good food.
Worth a stay when in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Higher floors can have excellent views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi PJM,

Thanks so much for your review, we're glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Brisbane.

We certainly are in a great spot opposite the leafy Roma St parklands which make the perfect leafy outlook when relaxing in our outdoor areas.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Advertises the comfiest beds - ever - and they are !!!! The service, cleanliness, facilities are faultless. Everything is modern but tasteful. Breakfast was included and such a bonus with a great continental buffet and a hot selection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchy10Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi Hutchy10Adelaide,

Our Urban Snorer beds sure are the perfect recipe for an amazing night's sleep aren't they? We receive so much great feedback about them that we even decided to start selling them – so you can enjoy the same comfort at home too. We are thrilled to hear that your stay more than ticked all your boxes.

Thanks so much for your fabulous review!

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews