We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't get the First floor - Noisy Airconditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #41 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't get the First floor - Noisy Airconditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The furnishings are quite nice and modern, but the room we had was small. Unfortunately we got stuck with a first floor room and near the air conditioning units, probably because we got a cheap rate. Our a/c vents in the room were very noisy. The foyer and reception area are nice and modern with a great bar area. If you have a large car, look-out as the underground car park is a shocker... very tight. We were slugged with a $15/day fee for parking which was not mentioned at the time of booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolumCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi CoolumCat,

Thanks for your comments, we're glad to hear that you appreciated our stylish décor and were lucky enough to get a cheap booking rate. Sorry to hear that you experienced some noise in your room, we will check this out to make sure there isn't an issue with the air conditioners on the level that you stayed on.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    332
    120
    38
    22
See reviews for
124
302
67
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springsure, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had stayed at this motel when it was called the Good Earth years ago on a medical stay as it was the closest motel to were we had to be. What an improvement they have done. Everything has had a face lift and it really shows. The room was a little on the small size but the comfortable beds and little touches made up for it. Was concerned that there might be to much noise and light but as it turned out was never an issue.The restaurant and staff were five star in their service and hospitality. The breakfast staff and buffet was excellent, loved the idea of having your bacon and eggs when you were ready for them .Found their lobby area were you can sit and read all the latest magazines and papers to be every relaxing and enjoyable. Check in and out was no worries. If ever in Brisbane again will be booking a room again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Sylvia R,

What a fabulous review – we love hearing from our guests, especially when they have such great things to say about our hotel. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our fresh and modern décor.

It sounds like you savoured some of the delicious menu at Gazebo Bar and Restaurant too – we will pass this onto our Chef who really takes pride in offering a delicious range of food for our guests and locals alike.

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Our friendly staff hope to welcome you back agin soon.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We scored a great deal for a twin room on the hotel's website at only $135.00 including a bottle of vino! Great value considering the location and quality of the hotel. Whilst the check-in was hardly welcoming (a touch frosty) - not even a hello or welcome - indeed the 'gentlemen' who checked us in needs to attend a customer care course and learn some basic skills when greeting paying customers! Overall we felt the hotel was a very pleasant place to stay for a few nights. Many of the previous comments talk about poky bedrooms but our room was more than adequate though the bathroom was rather bijou. The highlight for me was the very comfortable beds...not too soft, and not too hard, perfect for a good night's kip.

Through the use of clever photography, the hotel pool was nothing more than a plunge size pool, just right for kiddies but useless for adults. And I wont even bother describing the gym other than it appears it was just an afterthought, about the size of a small bedroom with very limited machines! But make use of the local council operated gym which is well equipped and has outdoor pools - closed when we were there and not due to open until late 2013. In the evening we enjoyed drinks at the hotel bar, which was very cool and laid back with a nice vibe and well worth trying out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Paul P,

We're so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and scored such a great deal. It's really disappointing to hear that you didn't experience our usual warm and welcoming service on the night you stayed. We really pride ourself on making our guests feel at home and going out of our way to make sure they have everything needed for a comfortable stay. If you would like to contact us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know your booking details we will investigate this matter further.

We're not surprised that a real highlight for you was our cloud like Urban Snorer beds – after so many rave reviews we decided to sell them to our guests, so they can enjoy the same comfort at home too!

Thanks so much for your feedback Paul P, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip to Brisbane.

The hotel itself is clean and modern with friendly staff. The rooms are small and quite soulless but did the job for a one night business trip. From the pictures, I was expecting it to have a bit more personality! All in all I had a comfortable stay but wouldn't rush back there.

There was a good range on the room service menu but the food itself was pretty average, as was the breakfast buffet. Check in and check out was very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolfie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Wolfie82,

Thanks for your review, we're glad to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and modern and that our cheerful staff made you feel right at home.

Sorry to hear that our décor and food didn't live up to your expectations, it's disappointing to hear that it wasn't up to its usual high standard,

Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've stayed for many dozens of nights over the past two years at the Urban and have found it a good place to stay when in Brisbane. It is relaxed, modern and the staff are generally helpful and friendly (more than can be said for some other hotels in Brisbane, like the Stamford Plaza). It seems that Edward is no longer on the staff, which is a real shame - he was brilliant.
They used to have a hot buffet breakfast, but now the hot food is made to order - sounds good in principle, but we didn't find this worked so well. The undreground car park is always a challenge but you just have to live with it! The location is nice with open views across the city and all rooms have balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are suites and have big balconies and open views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Martin511,

It's so nice to hear from our regular guests, thanks so much for choosing Hotel Urban when staying in Brisbane. We hope that you continue to be delighted by our warm and accommodating staff and enjoy the comfort of our amazing Urban Snorer beds. We miss Edward too!

Thanks so much for passing on your kind words Martin511.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane again soon.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

i booked a last minute night out and got a fabulous deal. The staff were more than welcoming and they lobby was to die for! beautiful, comfy and clean room and AWESOME bed. I have already booked my next room here in a couple of weeks. I had a few niggles aboutthe breakfast but the staff were more than happy to rectify any problems. Thanks Hotel Urban for making our girls night out one to remember :)

Room Tip: urban twin rooms are extremly roomy. Air con works REALLY well...remember to turn it up before goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_shell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi miss_shell83,

What a great review! We're so glad to hear that Hotel Urban was the perfect spot to stay for your girl's weekend. We really do try and think of lots of little extras to make our hotel a surprising and delightful experience.

In particular our female guests love our gorgeous smelling complimentary Evo haircare products, not to mention our dreamy Urban Snorer beds with triple sheeting and micro-fibre underlay. The ladies (and lads) also love our designer fragrance bar – perfect for a quick spritz as you head out for a night on the town.

We look forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks miss_shell and hope that you find your next stay to be just as (if not more) enjoyable!

Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked our room through Wotif and at the time of booking requested a carpark. On check in we were told that they had functions on that night and that we would have to park out the back in a dodgy one way street until the function guests had left then they would call us and let us know that a carpark was available under the hotel. Not good enough! Who knows what time that could have been? We'd had a long day already and didn't fancy getting woken up at 11pm in the middle of a major storm to go move our car! I would have thought that the hotel staying guests would have had precedence over the parking instead of giving these car parks to guests attending Christmas functions. The carpark was good if you were on a motor bike and could manouver easy enough but try it in a car and you are playing dodgems with poles everywhere. Apart from that the bed was one of the best we have slept in and the room was up to our expectations. Just a very disappointing experience and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a commitment from the hotel and pay for your parking upfront then wrap your car in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaytrippingRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Clarkie2010,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments, we regret that you were so disappointed to find that our car park was already full when you arrived and this added a sour note to what may have otherwise been an enjoyable stay. Our event spaces are very popular at this time of year, with attendees often staying at the hotel too. It sounds like it may have been mis-communicated that the spaces were reserved for function guests, when they were in fact staying at the hotel.

If you would like to email stay@hotelurbanbrisbane.com.au and let us know when you booked, we would like the opportunity to investigate the matter further with the front desk staff who were rostered when you stayed.


Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Property: Hotel Urban Brisbane
Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing