We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, Great room, Awesome View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #51 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Work Christmas Party.

The setting was in the Panorama Room which just before dusk had an awesome view of Brisbane which i had not seen before in my life (lived here my whole life). This room easily accommodated the large party with ample space between the tables and had an area cleared for a bar which ran smoothly all night. The set menu for the night was great and enjoyed by all.

The room was clean, had great use of space and great amenities with 2 LCD televisions, mini bar and a roomy bathroom, breakfast was also included. The one thing was that the door to the room slammed pretty loud but that was it.

Room Tip: High Room facing west gets you a very unique view of Brisbane's Mt Cootha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty_Rimfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Hi there,

Sounds like an awesome work Christmas party! To have that amazing Panorama Room view in the background with a bar running all night and food a-plenty – what a great way to wrap up the year… month… any day really :-)

Hope to see you and your work buddies again soon!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 810 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December, 2011 and really enjoyed it. Nice rooms, good staff, good location. Kind of funky/fun atmosphere and uses the Evo line of products - nice! The restaurant/bar has great atmosphere and is perched above the city lights. Apples at the front desk were a nice touch. Really nice 5 minute walk into the city and weekdays there is a free bus service. Would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Hi Laura Lea B,

It's great to hear you're familiar with evo's gorgeous line of products. Being able to walk to the city from the hotel is a big plus, and we love the free bus service – a lovely way to experience Brisbane without having to spend much on taxi fares. Look forward to welcoming you and your husband again soon!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is certainly a decent enough hotel, and while I didn't find anything wrong with it, I didn't find anything particularly great to recommend either. The rooms are fine, decent size and decor, but not huge and nothing outstanding. Beds were quite nice. Service was fine. We didn't try the restaurants, but the room service menu was quite limited. The location was acceptable as well, but not great. It's about a 10 minute walk to the CBD, or turn right when you exit and walk up the hill and then down to Boundary Street and there are a number of eating places (and a small IGA open 24/7), but there's not really much nearby. The best part about the location is that it's right across the street from Roma Park, which is a great park, especially for kids to run around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear jbradfor,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed Roma Park. We think it's great being able to step over the road and find yourself in lush, green surroundings, and you're right - it's a great park for the kids to run around in. Hopefully the weather was nice when you stayed. The pool at our hotel is perfect for the kids to have a play, and an added plus are the comfy lounge chairs that are perfect for weary parents!

Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed one night here on business and found the location average, the room was small and old with modern fixtures. The service was good but I really enjoyed lunch in the restaurant. I ordered room service for dinner but it was disappointing and cold. Many better hotels in Brisbane which I will try next time.

Room Tip: Another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louie_slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Hi louie_slippers,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed lunch in the restaurant – we have been working hard on the menu at Gazebo Bar & Restaurant, and take a lot of pride in our service. Sorry to hear you weren't happy with the location. We love it because it's a short walk to the CBD, so you can be close to everything without having to be TOO close to all the noise and bustle. We do hope you decide to give us another try in future, but if not, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and i stayed for one night. The interior appearance of the hotel looks modern but the room sizes werent all that and the balcony was very dispointing.

The hotel is clearly one that was built many years ago (1960's-1980's?) and has had a recent refurb.
The shower needs attention as the water leaks from under the glass panel and doesnt run into the alternative drain. Just leaves a puddle by the sink.
The celings have the old style rough finish, makes it look dated.

I know It's just minor things but the attention to details that could have been rectified when they did the big refub and not cut corners.

There is a pool and Spa, but we didnt use it as it was raining when we were there.

The location was ok, about 10-15 min walk down a hill to the CBD

Overall the hotel served its purpose for what we needed

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Hi Hayles10,

Thanks for your review. Yes, the hotel has had a recent refurb – we like to keep things looking fresh and new for our guests! Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the balcony, I wonder why you weren't happy with it? We actually really love the balconies, and often have guests raving about the views.

The walk to the CBD is lovely and if you feel like a longer walk and the weather is nice, you can also head to South Bank for a romantic riverside stroll and dinner. If you get a bit tired on the way home you can jump on a Green Cab back to the CBD – handy for tired legs, and a bit of fun :-)

Hope we can welcome you and your husband again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The foyer is lovely and spacious but that is where ot finished. The room is small with very limited closet space to hang clothes and even less draw space to put clothes. So they had to stay in the suitcase. The abthroom is even smaller. You have to colose the bathroom door to get into the shower which floods the bathroom and then runs out into the room unless you put the towl on the floor. There is no space to put the bathroom bags particularly if there are 2 of you in the room
This is a room for one person only. Definately not the place to spend a romantic holiday.
The televison is new but there is nothing in the room to let you know the number of the channel you are trying to view. You jut keep changing until you happen upon the channel you are looking for

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Hi claude64,

Sorry to hear you felt a bit crammed for space in your room – it sounds like you need to stay in the Sweet Urban next time! I haven't heard any feedback about our rooms not being spacious enough, but we are always happy to look into ways we can make our guest's stay as comfy as possible so will definitely take your comments on board. Thanks so much for your feedback and we hope you choose to give us another try in future.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I booked this place in a pinch. Expected more at $290 a night but it felt cheap in terms of the fittings and the lift stank. They missed my wake up call and when I told the woman at the desk, she didn't even apologize. There's a phone in the room but no indication how to call for service. Amateur hour.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Marketing at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Daniel S,

We are terribly sorry that your wake up call was missed and we will look into what happened there straight away. Regardless, there is no excuse and you are definitely owed a big apology!

All of our phones have a menu on the lower left hand corner for our service numbers. Maybe we need to make the menu a little bigger or clearer so it's easier to find – we certainly don't want people missing out on all the great things we have available at the hotel!

To be honest, we have never noticed the lift being even a bit pongy and haven't received other comments about this before. I wonder what it was?

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 170 in Brisbane
1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#38 of 170 in Brisbane
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 170 in Brisbane
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#43 of 170 in Brisbane
2,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $81 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing