We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality-price for a recently refurbished hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good quality-price for a recently refurbished hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

The room is quite spacious, which we appreciated as we could spread out the content of our bags after our long flight from Europe, without stepping on anything while walking around.
Bathroom looked OK, although would probably not age very well.
The bed was big (king size), with a very good mattress, which we greatly appreciated.
The hotel was not so far as we expected from CBD, joignable by foot, even though we felt really tired in the late afternoon because of jetlag.
Breakfast was good, though a bit expensive : the cold continental breakfast looked really average, while the hot and cold american one was nice but more pricey.
We have not noticed any strange goings and ongoings in the evening (but we were usually falling asleep very early). We did not feel out of place in a teenage oriented hotel, except for the one morning when a 15-year old student group joined us for breakfast.
Manager, if you read my comment, please do something quick for the elevators : change the rug, change the wall panel, as it looks old, derelict and smells so very very bad. Every time we stepped in the elevator, we were wondering if there was not a dead rat colony to be found somewhere in it ! It was not acceptable and a real downturn from the rest of the hotel.

For an average price hotel, we appreciated the size of the room and the comfort of the bed, with no absolute downside to it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petiteld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    333
    121
    38
    22
See reviews for
126
302
67
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed for one night in May 2011 for a business trip. Overall it was a great hotel. Rooms clean and well appointed. Bed was beautiful to sleep in. Loved the toiletries. In a great location for conducting business in Spring Hill and a nice walk to town. Opposite Roma Street parklands which is great if you want to get outside and exercise during your stay. Staff were friendly. Loads of fresh nice smelling flowers in the foyer.
Only let down was that the shower leaked all over the floor (a lot). The weather seal on the bottom of the door doesn't go full width so a fair whack of water got out. Overall would stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasingpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed in Urban Brisbane for one night in April 2011. Enjoyed the stay thoroughly. Clean bedrooms and facilities with helpful staff at reception.
Will definitely stay there again.
The only let down was the bathroom as water was leaking through the shower onto the bathroom floor but apart from that it was overall a great stay.
The pillows were sooooo comfortable and so were the beds!!!! Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonsterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanAnswer, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear tonsterl,

Wonderful to here you had a great stay and very sorry about the bathroom leak! We've had maintenance check all of the seals so this should be fixed now.

The pillows are microcloud and are gorgeous (I have them and the bed at home). The bed is an Urban Snorer (our signature bed).

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Sas Rowlands
Manager - Marketing and Brand
Urban Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

As a member of an airline that stays at the hotel very regularly, often up to 5 times a month. I have been extremely pleased with the consistently amazing experience I have had at the Urban. Staying at the Urban is such a pleasure because of the comfortable, clean and contemporary rooms, great hotel bar and the amazing staff. I cannot express enough how great the staff are here. always friendly, willing to help out in any way and have a great sense of humour (James is a definite highlight and asset to the hotel). You get the feeling hat they like working here and unlike other hotels that myself and other staff stay in throughout Australia's capital cities, the staff are still there (a great testament to the hotel).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in brisbane. Great location that is close to the CBD with beautiful surrounds. easy to get a cab, just ask at reception.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FASAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanAnswer, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear JASAM,

I think you and I would get along famously. I LOVE james. Love him to bits and he is by far the highlight of my trip everytime I come to Brisbane.

Yes - the Hotel is stunning, the parklands are gorgeous and there's too many beers on tap in the bar to count....but James - that's a truly unique selling point.

Best,

Sas Rowlands
Manager - Marketing and Brand
Urban Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

This hotel has a long history, it was once the swinging Gazebo Hotel, then more recently the Terraces on Wickham, and has had a recent 10 million dollar renovation.
The owners/designers have created a chic and funky hotel with a little quirkiness, and plenty of style.
Rooms are spacious, mine had a double bed, all the usual necessities, iron, hairdryer, bathrobes (1) slippers, mini bar etc. No bath, just a shower, but plenty of space in the bathroom to leave your perfumes etc.
Lobby is stylish, as is the restaurant and bar, and the city centre is a 10 minute walk down the hill (and up coming back)
The pool is fantastic, with lots of Bali style lounges a=for you to lie on, a great place for a before or after work dip. There is a Gym (they call theirs Jim) which their website says is not open, it is.
I'd stay here again, I love hotels that go out of their way to make the place look a little different.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Dear dasberliner,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write and tell us about your experience. You have detailed a wonderful stay and we are delighted that our property was what you expected.

We have taken time to look at the basic details of hotels and put our on twist on them. Small touches intended to make you smile. I'm glad that you enjoyed them.

We would love to take care of you again,

Warm regards,

Sas Rowlands
Manager - Marketing and Brand
Urban Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Let’s start with the positives. The hotel is in a great location being only 10 minutes walk to the main shopping areas and a 5 – 10 minute walk from Roma Street Station, with the park opposite. All very convenient & easy to get around.

On arrival at the hotel first impressions were good. The reception was light & airy and the atmosphere was relaxed & welcoming. Check-in was very quick and efficient and even though I had arrived at 10:30am, my room was ready.

However, this is where the initial good impressions start to fade. To get to my room, I had to take the lift, which was not a problem but the state of the lift was. The worst thing was that there was the most unpleasant odour, of what I am not sure. It could have been the smell of stale food or something spilt since the lift is used to transport all sorts to the top floor function room but on some days it was quite nauseous. When mentioned to a member of staff, the response was a “shrug of the shoulders”. I should add most of the staff were very pleasant & helpful but with one or two notable exceptions.

On exiting the lift, the corridor to the room did not fare much better & was far from clean; the carpet did not look as though it had been hoovered for several days. This did not bode well for my room, however I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean & well maintained although the bathroom could do with a bit of re-grouting. I must also say that the bed was extremely comfortable & I slept very well during my stay.

All in all, having visited the hotel website, I was a little disappointed but it’s ok for a short stay. I would say an acceptable 3* but not much more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLEYSAUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear BBUDBABE,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review the property. Sounds like apart from a couple of little issues you really enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the housekeeping issues, we have reiterated their importance with staff and will make sure that there is additional spot checking the ensure a clean corridor for our guests.

Glad you enjoyed our Urban Snorer beds. They really are a wonderful nights sleep.

Warm regards,

Sas Rowlands
Manager - Marketing and Brand
Urban Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We were there before the floods and thoroughly recommend the hotel. Rooms were small but clean, with everything you need. The bathroom also small but a great shower, no bath. Service was great throughout the stay and we really enjoyed the bar area in the early evenings. Location is great for siteseeing but no so great for the southbank in the evenings as it is a good 1/2 hour walk - taxis are reasonable price though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlands, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear HanD,

Wonderful to hear from you. So glad you enjoyed the bar - we are actually about to upgrade it and will be sure to keep all of that lovely ambiance that the space currently has.

The shower pressure in Brisbane is fantastic! I love staying at the property and that it a reason high on the list!

We would love to see you again.

Warm regards,

Sas Rowlands
Manager - Marketing and Brand
Urban Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Property: Hotel Urban Brisbane
Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing