We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Dockside Apartments
Ranked #20 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. As booked on a internet sire was allocated a 2nd floor room. This was quiet even though we were just above where people attending private functions walked. We expected a lot of noise when they departed, pleasantly surprised.
The apartment appeared old. but adequate as we were only staying 2 nights.
Check in easy, but I was not explained the use of the door key in lift, no assistance with luggage offered. Trolleys available.
Problem was 1. the bed, it was old saged and very uncomfortable. If I had been staying longer I would have requested a room change.
The apartment was well equiped including washing machine but this did not operate properly and caused a flood on the floor..
The ferry service to the city was convienient and free.
Car parking available but not secure.
Possible stay again but make sure I have a good bed next time.

Room Tip: Check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Central Dockside Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We have two styles of rooms, standard and executive, the executive are recently renovated rooms and we are working with our owners to convert more into executive than standard. We have had a few comments recently about beds looking like they sag in the middle but actually our beds have mattress toppers on them and can give that impression.
Whenever possible, we will move a guest to another room if they are unhappy with the one they have, just inform us and we can make it happen fairly quick, as long as we are not booked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    100
    39
    22
    29
See reviews for
91
60
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Dockside Apartments previously and stayed there again just recently. The apartments are great for families and the location is well suited for getting into the city. My only concern is that when I booked an apartment this time, the description of the apartment was that it was "newly refurbished". The apartment was clean and tidy but it certainly was not refurbished as the bathroom was old and dated and the kitchen was also not new. I was not unhappy with the standard of the apartment but I did feel the description was a little misleading.

The City Hopper ferries leave from directly outside the apartments and go to Eagle St and I believe Southbank and they are FREE. They came every half hour and made getting into the city easy and cheap. The parking at the the apartments is also free which was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Central Dockside Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are well suited for families as you say and our location is very good with a free ferry into the city from 7.00am until midnight 7 days a week.
Some of our apartments are more extensively renovated than others, which we don't mean to mislead people by but if they are termed executive, they are of a superior condition to our standard apartments.
We are working with our owners trying to get them to upgrade the apartments in 2013 so hopefully next visit will be even better. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for a friends wedding which was at this hotel. We had an apartment on the 13th floor for 2 adults and 2 young kids. It was clean. Space was adequate. Beds were comfy. The balcony was large and the view nice. It is in a relatively quiet area which consists of what appears to be lots of residential high rise apartments. Car parking is not on site, it is across the road in a small multilevel car park. There are some restaurants close by. There is a convience store across the road for grocery items and limited take-away options. All in all it was a good choice. The only thing was when we arrived the airconditioning did not work and it was not until the next day maintenance arrived to fix it.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Central Dockside Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Nice to hear that everything went well except that the air con wasn't working but that it was fixed the next day.

best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked two of the executive apartments for the night before our wedding (boys in one, girls in the other). The rooms were both slightly different in terms of furnishing, but both very nice and modern. Lovely views from both out over the river and towards the city. The staff were friendly and helpful and really there was nothing to complain about. They also gave us late check-out (pre-arranged) at no extra cost so we could get ready on the day of our wedding.

Next time we're in Brisbane, I think we'll be booking to stay here for a week's vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellini03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights, as I was attending a wedding which was being held at the Landing, Dockside (on the ground floor of the hotel).
It is the standard apartment/hotel combo which has become common.
The apartment we had faced north-east looking over the river - really nice views from the large balcony.
Beds and furnishings were comfortable, and it was quiet.
Staff weren't particularly impressive - there is limited hours reception, and the people staffing it weren't exactly helpful.
Not too much to do in the immediate area - there is a 'town square' immediately outside which has a couple of cafes, a convenience store (massively overpriced...) and liquor store. The riverside area has nice paved promenades which are good for walking/running if you're feeling active. There is a City Hopper dock immediately outside which will provide a free ferry service to the CBD (running approx every 30min)
The Story Bridge Hotel is a great pub which also does good food, and is about a five minute walk away.
Overall not a bad choice of place to stay, especially if you have an event nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night and it was brilliant. we had a re furbished room which i would highly reccomend!!
great views of the river, nice comfy beds.
did have to dance around in the shower a little to get wet but there was another one which was fine and a bath too!
location was brilliant had a hairdressers and a convenience store and a bottle shop on the site, and then just a short walk to anywhere you need to go, also its right on the river (hence dockside) which is a lovely walk!

Room Tip: choose a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Central Dockside Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your response, it is always nice to hear when we get it right. We are working on getting more of our rooms refurbished to enhance the guest stay, they are a little more expensive than a standard room but worth it.

thanks

Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed at Dockside quite a few times for work related travel and always find it a good experience.The rooms are spacious and clean, comfortable beds, nice balconies, and helpful staff. I've stayed in one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, on both sides of the building. I must say I prefer the city views, but all the rooms have been nice. My only issues have been that I've never been able to get the TVs in the bedroom to work (and the stil have VCRs in there which was a total hoot!), and the choice of local eateries is limited.
On my most recent visit I had two concerns. One is that a member of our party found out that the swipe cards can open other doors when she accidently let herself into someone elses room and gave them both a fright. According to the gentleman who's room she entered, this happens occasionally. The other issue was that I left an item behind and the staff member I initially spoke to made gettting the item delivered to me very difficult to organise. I had much better luck with the staff member on the morning shift. All up this is a great place to stay, just some occasional hiccups that are easily overlooked.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: City views are lovely, and higher floors are always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai and Victori... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#36 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Dockside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Dockside Apartments

Property: Central Dockside Apartments
Address: Dockside Apartments 44 Ferry St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Dockside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Brisbane River, Story Bridge and stunning city skyline, Central Dockside Apartments is just minutes from the CBD by ferry or taxi, with Brisbane's best restaurants, entertainment and shopping just moments away. Located at historic Kangaroo Point, Central Dockside offers spacious one and two bedroom apartments featuring fully equipped kitchens, laundries and private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Central Dockside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Apartment Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing