We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money, however don't expect luxury” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good value for money, however don't expect luxury”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the cheapest in Brisbane CBD. As I didn't want to spend $350/night in a really good hotel I stayed in the Best Western. It's a bit dated, it's quite basic but its clean, beds are comfortable and rooms are spacious with everything you need but a stacked minibar. Don't look too detailed as you will see some issues with electrical safety but overall the hotel is good, breakfast is good but not too sumptuous and the restaurant is serving reasonable quality food albeit a bit slow. I had a good dinner there and for the first time in my life got served a pizza bread as bruschetta! But food was good and reasonably priced. So overall a place to stay when you're not here for too long and don't want to break your bank every night you sleep here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    113
    109
    61
    130
See reviews for
78
140
68
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellant Hotel. a little problem with the car parking attendant however. close to the city, rail station and the meals are good value.Most rooms have a balcony and the floors are tiled with a rug.
Nice and cool for a Brisbane climate. highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallytheWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stay here for a week with children. Room looks a bit tired but the balcony is wonderful. Close to CBD & central station though you need to do a bit of climbing which may be difficult if you have lots of baggage. You can take the free Spring Hill Loop Bus from Queen Street but beware that it doesn't run after evening & weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alankwso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and that was enough! The room is tired and dated with broken furniture and ripped carpet. Dust can be seen under the bed and bathroom is mouldy with broken tissue container. Cobwebs on the ceiling. Detergent scum inside the washing machine. Kitchen oven needs a good scrub. We asked for a room in the new section but what do you we are in the new section. Imagine the old section. We complained to someone at the reception about the room condition and that person said that he'll pass it on to the manager. Here is the funny part, it turns out that he is the hotel manager! If he can't handle a complaint, I don't know what he's doing in his role.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carefree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here overnight on our way back from Noosa. We had to catch a train from Roma Street. Whilst there was a steady climb to this hotel we found that it had everything we wanted especially for the price. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were allowed to occupy our room early, which was a relief as we were rather tired. It was clean and comfortable and had a fridge and microwave which was a blessing because we had anticipated eating out but found we were too tired after walking around the city. With these facilities we were able to get some take away and enjoy a relaxing evening. Unfortunately our balcony overlooked a car park but we could live with that. In all a pleasant experience and certainly good value for the price as you are within walking distance of the city centre and South Bank.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Astor Metropole many times when in Brisbane. It is very central, walking distance from city centre, and lovely rooms for the price. We travel the world frequently and generally stay 5 star but are happy to stay at Astor when in Brisbane which is at least 4 times per year.

Room Tip: Very cheap Breakfast. Across road from Central Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB255338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on a business trip and was really impressed with the size of my room and the facilities included. The hotel is well placed in the CBD within easy walk of most things. An early morning brisk walk took me across to Southbank.

The staff at check-in were polite and efficient though checking in was not a fast process - check-out was super speedy however. In the room there are ample cooking facilities and utensils if you want to be self-sufficient and there is a dryer in the bathroom. My shower was excellent although my colleague next door said his was only a dribble. My room was very clean.

My room did not have a balcony and I would have enjoyed that option. It is unclear at check-in that this is an option. All in all - a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on a higher floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#102 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
Address: 193-197 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing