We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #154 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business and was looking for good value and location. This has both. Other pros are a big tidy room with kitchen incl microwave & small oven, good amenities incl w/machine and friendly staff. The only cons are the A/C which is difficult to adjust so may cause problems especially in hot weather, the lack of fresh air as the windows don't open, and a delay at checkin. Other than that I enjoyed the stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewwwGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

It initially looked like very upscale hotel but in the end its a bit mediocre. Suitable for a clean bed for a night. My room had a defective lock. Otherwise it was comfortable and spacious. A bit noisy during the night as there is a very loud clump that comes with the drainage (or cistern) system. Woke me up as it sounded like someone falling down. After a few times, I got used to it. The restaurant is ok and tended to get crowded if there are tour groups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Astor plenty of times due to proximity - it is very close to Central Station and walking distance down to the shops. We stayed on the 8th floor in Tower room and it was certainly pleasant enough. There was a balcony on the room which featured a nice view back over Spring Hill. I like the kitchenette - it comes in handy for washing dishes and re-heating food for lunch! It was quiet and we stayed 3 nights without complaint. The restaurant is particularly nice with some interesting dishes - especially breakfast. However, we would have preferred the room service option - this hotel does not have room service.

Room Tip: I found it better to stay on the back side of the hotel facing Spring Hill. It seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I travel a lot in Canada on business, and have slept in every conceivable type of lodging, from 5 diamond resorts to the back seat of my rented car. So while not 5 diamond, this hotel was a good, downtown budget hotel. I needed a quick change place that was close to the CBD and easy to/from the airport for work I was doing in Solomon Islands. The room the first night was great after a long trip from Vancouver, shower, close to places to wander around for an hour or so, and it even had a washing machine! Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Alistair (all people with that name of course are wonderful, of course!) seriously, he was great, even when he told me there was no wi if, but there was a connector cable. The night coming back from Solomon's was good too, though I would have loved the room with the washing machine that night I can tell you! So, in summary, it's a budget hotel, 25 minutes to the airport from Central Station which is almost literally at the bottom of the stairs through Edward Park. The beds are comfortable, the staff I talked to were great, and room service wabenoit too bad. Oh, and I just went across the street to Edward Park to use Brisbane's amazing free wi if in city parks for my Skype meeting! I'd frankly stay again, but confirm a room with a washing machine if you're coming back from Solomon Islands!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Alisdair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Room is large and quite clean, but it doesn't matter how good it is if the air con is no good. Pulled up the Air con manual on the net and worked out that guests have no control over the air con in their room. I then confirmed that it's centrally controlled on heat cycle only during Winter!!!!!!. You can't even run the fan without toasting marshmallows with the heat coming out. That would be OK is you lived in a place where it actually gets cold, but when outside temp gets above 20 degrees C during the day, (Room ends up in the mid 20s) and NO natural ventilation (non Balcony room) then we have ourselves a nice little hothouse during the day, and a very stuffy room at night. Keep looking folks, because the last time we stayed it was summer and the air con wasn't working then either. Just one simple but important thing can drop a rating from 4 to 1.

Room Tip: INSIST..no... DEMAND a balcony room. At least you can open a door and get some fresh breeze coming i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EnjoyingLife1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

On the positive side, our room was large, with an enormous (and comfortable) bed and appeared clean, with an adequate shower; no toiletries and no frills, but this is about what I'd expect from a city hotel in this price category. There were a couple of gripes with the room: the air-con didn't seem to work very well, and the toilet suffered from a sticking ballcock - we lifted the cistern lid and fixed this. The main disappointment was the attitude of the staff. After positive helpfulness and friendliness - or at the very least, a cheerful "g'day" - everywhere else we'd stayed in Australia, the staff here seemed to have had any sense of humour surgically removed. This was particularly so at breakfast, which was apparently run on minimal staffing (one poor overworked woman, who I can hardly blame for being miserable); there was little choice on the breakfast buffet (for example, the choice of fruit was between peaches in syrup and cut-up apple), and coffee was make-it-yourself, with a cheap variety of instant coffee, unless you paid extra for real coffee. I was also slightly dubious when, after checking out, we stored our luggage for a few hours - we weren't given any receipt, and when we collected it from the luggage room we could have walked off with anyone's luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_at_folly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I travel to Australia regularly for business and have been visiting the Best Western hotel, Wickham Terrace a couple of times and am very pleased with the overall experience.

The hotel is located in a very convenient location:
a) right next to edward gardens, where i usually go in the evenings for a walk
b) 5 mins walking distance from Queens street, which is the main market area
c) 5 mins walking distance from a no of easy bars, resteraunts & bottle shops which I find quite a plus, especially when you are visiting on business trips & dont really have the patience to go hunting for food & groceries
d) 2 mins walking distance from the train station

there is a restaurant in house and the cooks are usually flexible to dish out a meal of your choice.

the rooms are neat and clean and regularly maintained.

the staff are cordial and well behaved especially Navtej, Ganesh, Zeenat, Trevor to name a few.

overall I am very happy with the level of service I receive at the Best Western, considering the fact that most of my trips are for 4 weeks and more.

Pranav Lavania

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool(above) are the best in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill
Metro Hotel Tower Mill
#83 of 169 in Brisbane
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#103 of 169 in Brisbane
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#85 of 169 in Brisbane
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#48 of 169 in Brisbane
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments

Address: 193-197 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $76 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing