We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in South Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Ranked #13 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central location in South Brisbane”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel in South Bank Brisbane for 3 nights at the beginning of March 2013. The location of the hotel was great. Especially easy to get into the City and also South Bank for shopping or business. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially the young lady who looked after the breakfast buffet in the mornings - very efficient and friendly. The rooms were dated and needed freshening up otherwise comfortable and had everything that was required. The side of the hotel that I stayed in was almost directly up against a very busy onramp for the bridge which made it noisy and not very private as it was also a walkway for pedestrians. The pool looked large in the photos which is deceptive as it is really very small. Overall, not a bad place to stay and quite good value for money. On that note also, this is the first time that I have had to pay for my stay on checking in.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the city would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    395
    203
    47
    32
See reviews for
180
354
83
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well situated for South Bank, the rooms are well furnished and clean and the shower pressure is OK. So it passes most of the basic tests. But I won't return as the total experience (2 nights) was very ordinary. It is a minimum-service establishment, with limited housekeeping, limited front desk and restaurant service. The buffet breakfast was mediocre.
So as accommodation, it is OK but for one looking for a warm comfortable experience, you can do better in Brisbane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 as part of a month in Australia. I arrived with jetlag so wanted to stay awake as long as possible, quite difficult though as the room was very relaxing.

The room overall was nice, modern with everything you would need and all in working order. The bed was very comfy as well which made getting over Jetlag a nightmre!

The receptionist was very helpful, and gave me and my girlfriend loads of details on how to get about, providing a handy map which I kept during my stay.

I needed to access the interet, so purchase 20 minutes on the Wifi. Be very careful when using this as if oyu do not log out properly, you will eat into your paid time, which caused me to spend about 20 dollars on wifi during my stay.

My one upset of the stay was when it came to paying for breakfast. I had an excursion to Frazer Island booked, so didnt need breakfast for 1 of my 5 nights, so went ahead and paid 18 bucks per person for 4 nights. I then found out that my trip was cancelled last minute, so i booked onto a 2 day trip instead hoping to be refunded for a few breakdfast's i had paid for honly hours ago. This request was declined which i thought was harsh considering the change was out of my control.

Overall though I was pleased, the location was an easy 10 minute stroll to the city centre, and the room was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in an apartment recently for a night, it's wonderfully situated with a short walk to Southbank and also the City. The rooms themselves are a little dated and the bathroom being very small but having said that they do make really good use of the space provided with a washing machine, dryer and kitchenette. Being that this hotel is within walking distance to both Southbank and the City it's very reasonably priced, opposed to some of the bigger luxury hotels. I didn't eat within the hotel but instead enjoyed the walk to and from Southbank to eat in one of their many restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Convenient to south bank and Brisbane convention centre. Room was a bit dark, and quite aged. Mattress was a bit spongy, and tv reception not great. No safe in room. Room was quiet though and service at front desk friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid north coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My daughter and I went to Brisbane to see a show(Driving miss daisy) I found this hotel very clean and in a very good location desk staff very friendly and helpful.
My main complaint is with the food we received for room service, it was cold the steak was well over cook and that tough i could not chew it.Because of this we never ate any more meals at the hotel.
I can recommend the rooms and location to other eateries in Southbank, the room was right next to a busy road but we could not hear any traffic noise.Another plus was free parking in undercover security area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lodger45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#33 of 159 in Brisbane
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 159 in Brisbane
1,555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Property: Riverside Hotel South Bank
Address: 20 Montague Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the "precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living." Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all. Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our standard rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our one bedroom apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home. Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane. During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane. Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing