We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Service Desert with appallingly rude staff - never again”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #31 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Service Desert with appallingly rude staff - never again”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

This hotel is appalling - just don't even think about staying there. The service is non-existent and the staff act like guests rather than employees.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    420
    136
    26
    17
See reviews for
213
310
69
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

fantastic facilities with an outdoor pool....rare these days. Smack in the centre of the city and the reception staff were amazingly helpful.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We ended up staying here for a couple days during New Years Eve celebrations. The apartment was very very nice. The bathroom and kitchen was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of room. We stayed in a high floor room with a balcony. It was a bit pricey but I suspect that was mainly due to the time of year we were staying here. Room service was excellent! The staff were very friendly. Only thing that I didn't like was the fact that we were promised 2:00pm checkin but the room was not available until 2:30pm.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I'm not sure what is the "Mirvac quality", as I've only ever stayed at the Sebel at King George Square (also in Brisbane), but this hotel felt quite good for me, wouldn't hesitate to rate it 8/10 at least.

My stay was at end of November 2009 in an one bedroom apartment on the 20th something floor. I loved the room as soon as I set foot in it (who wouldn't love to be greeted by the TV?), it was very spacious and very modern in the furnishing. The bed was also really comfortable, as were the bedsheets and the blanket.

The only real letdown for me at this hotel was the size of the bathroom, it was TINY!! Given the huge living space, I wonder why the designers of the building didn't feel compelled to make the bathrooms slightly bigger??

My only other minor complaints would be about the lift, which is excruciatingly slow during busy hours, even though they have 3 lift cars operating (or were one hijacked by housekeeping/maintenance at the time??).
I also didn't like the tiny TV screen in the bedroom, which made watching movies in bed rather uncomfortable as you definitely could not see any subtitles should there have been any displayed.

And a note to housekeeping department: do you guys think it's possible to have a sponge in every room to wash pots and pans with, as the provided cloth isn't particularly effective at scrubbing anything.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The location excellent. As an ex brisbane resident, I thought I would stick with what I knew regarding Mirvac, which wa quality.

What I got was something different to my expectations. Rooms are tired and appointed in a minimalistic way, that is its very minimal in finishes and comforts to what you would expect at a 3.5 - 4 star hotel.

If you can get your head around 30 AUD for internet access per day, and the highly priced limited option room service menu costs then this could be for you. Front of house staff did the bare minimum when asked and everything was an add on, no flexibility. Want a late checkout, ceratinly sir, that will be another 20 AUD per hour after 11am. Car parking, certainly, 25 AUD a day.

So room only for 185 AUD it was overpriced and very average when you add it all up. Given I had a corporate rate for 215 at the Conrad Treasury for 215 which included internet access, unfortunately it was booked out. When I return with all our colleagues, and there are many flying in from overseas, I know what we will select.

I definately think there are better value establishments.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed 2 nights whilst on business. Staff were very pleasant I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom Aprtment from a studio. Very spacious and well appointed. the restaurant did a good breakfast. Very well located. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Physim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Got good deal on internet for this accommodation
Stayed 2 nights. The room was great and not too small. Had 1 bedroom suite. Bedroom seperate to living area. Nice size TV in bedroom and also lounge. Fully equiped kitchen including dishwasher, washer/dryer and small glass top hot plate.
Loved the welcome message on TV when entering the room first time.
Selection of inhouse movies, variety of sports channels and couple of local stations.
Food at restraund in lobby of hotel was nice but bit pricey. The soups were delicious.
Walking distane to Myers Centre and Mall, with lots of eateries in area.

Would reccommend. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellioz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 160 in Brisbane
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#8 of 160 in Brisbane
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 160 in Brisbane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 160 in Brisbane
2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 160 in Brisbane
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: 95 Charlotte Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing