We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very nice hotel with extremely convenient location. Reception staff were friendly. House keeping staff were very helpful and efficient. no matter what we needed, by just a phone call, they would come up and fixed within minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi Jo, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. It's great to hear that our team looked after you attentively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    410
    135
    24
    13
See reviews for
208
301
68
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked a premium one-bedroom apartment, so that we would be on a high floor with a large bed and wi-fi included. We chose this sort of serviced apartment for the extra space and facilities on offer, rather than a cramped hotel room, and we were not disappointed. We had a great view across Brisbane, all the facilities we needed, including the washer-dryer which was very useful for our 5-night stay. The layout of the apartment is well-thought-out as the bedroom was far away from the door and any noise from the corridor. As other reviewers have said, yes the decor etc. are a little dated, but this didn’t bother us at all. We had a look at the pool, but didn’t get time to use it, and it wasn’t a really important facility for us anyway.

The location of the Sebel is great, we found we could walk to most places we needed to get to quite easily, even in the 43C heat we had one day. There are lots of convenience shops nearby and Queen Street Mall too. The reception staff were very helpful, a quick and easy check-in, they posted a postcard for us and called a taxi for us when we needed to leave for the airport.

All in all, a pleasant stay in central Brisbane.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the premium rooms on the higher floors, with wi-fi included
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for yourv review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the premium apartment with its extra features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children. Advised when we checked in at 9pm that the sofa lounge was not made up. When housekeeping turned up to make the bed 45 minutes later he handed us the sheets and asked us if we wanted him to make the bed. I took the sheets and told him that I would do it. He did not offer but asked us if we wanted to do his job....its gets better.

I then asked for 2 pillows for the bed we just made up. I was told that there were 4 in the main bedroom and we could use 2 of them. Thanks mate I know that there are 2 in the main bedroom - they are for the bed in the main bedroom. I then asked for another 2 much to his disgust.

He then returned 10 minutes later with one pillow. The classic was that he gave me the one pillow that was not even in the pillow case and then was told that there was no other pillows left in the entire hotel ??? I can understand if we were staying at a backpacker place for $30 a night. Isn't this suppose to be a 4 star hotel.

I then looked in the mini bar fridge. The 2 bottles of water had there seals broken and were obviously refilled by the prior guests. When I asked him to take them away he just looked at me. I then had to explain again that I did not want the water and that I did not wish to charged for the water.

This is the 5th time we have stayed in this hotel (3 times in the past 5 weeks for 16 nights). The last time we were here we - made our own beds, had to plea to house keeping to come back when we were not in the room (advised by them that they finished work and this was our only time to clean the room), washing machine did not work (dirty water stayed in the machine for the entire time we were there.

My advice - great location, absolutely the worst service you could imagine. Certainly not up to Accor standard. We are advantage plus members and have loyalty to the Accor brand. This hotel does not do the brand any favours.

Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Tim, thanks for letting us know about the issues you experienced recently. I apologise for the lapses you have recounted and would be keen to speak with you directly to resolve this matter. It is not up to our standards or our usual level of guest satisfaction, so clearly something has gone wrong on this occasion which we would like to discuss with you and remedy. I would very much appreciate you contacting me on 07 3224 3510 (DDI). Regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We were here for two nights and found the room to be adequate, although not special. The location of the hotel is great for exploring Brisbane, however. I'm used to free WiFi in hotels and find having to pay (for spotty service) off putting. I understand that's the norm in Australia, however.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilldale604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you generally enjoyed your stay and also understand your viewpoint in WiFi. Aside from paid options, we provide complimentary WiFi to our loyalty members at the 'silver' level and above. We also offer 30 minutes daily for all guests in the lobby area. I hope our team advised you about this on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nicely appointed hotel right in the centre of the city. Very close to the Mall & Riverside centre which has some great eating places. Upper floors have good views & hotel has a modest pool, which was great on the very hot day I was there. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor with separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Andy - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in early January 2014 after a 10 year break,. The rooms have dated a bit. Still it's a not a bad value proposition. Location is right next to the mall, plenty of eating options nearby. Car parking is a little expensive. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks, Fiona - we appreciate you letting us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing