We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #31 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
MELBOURNE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I just spent two nights here - the second time in two months - the room rate has gone up $30 - the room went from a mini suite to a single room so I paid more for less . Breakfast is expensive but not expansive . The cleaner left a spray bottle in my room . The clock still showed the wrong time the whole time and the rooms are a bit tired. Yes starting to show their age.

On the positive the staff are really really nice and the place is in a great location , near the mall and my company pays but not sure about next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicTRIPvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear vicTRIPvic, thanks for letting us know about your most recent experience. We're sorry to hear that there were a couple of oversights in the preparation of your room when you stayed this time. Whilst these are of course not our usual standard, it's good to know about them so we can focus on quality control. In terms of breakfast service and accommodation rates, I would be keen to speak with you further to understand the issues more clearly. With rates in particular, these are often dynamic and can vary based on a number of factors. If you would be so kind as to call me on 0413 603 195, I would be more than happy to look at this more closely with you. Thanks again for making contact with us. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    421
    136
    26
    17
See reviews for
213
312
69
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Although the apartment is starting to show its age, it was well furnished and comfortable with a decent sized lounge room. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Also a great location with shops close below and just shy from the mall area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank partikles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Eddie Y, many thanks for your review - it's great to know our team's friendly service made a real difference. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here when in Brisbane for a wedding. The hotel is centrally located which means it's a quick walk to most things in the CBD and a casual stroll over to Southbank.

The hotel was nice and clean and had all of the facilities we needed for the weekend. It is also very close to a taxi rank which meant getting out and about was also pretty easy.

Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear John L, it's good to know that in addition to our location and convenience, you found that our facilities met your expectations, especially in terms of cleanliness and condition. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our Australian trip and had a lovely time. We were in suite 2502, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, lounge/diner and balcony. It was wonderful to walk in there after long flights from the UK and USA. We had expected a twin room and a double, but the twin was made up as a king. Within minutes of calling reception to point this out, a lovely man arrived and made up the twin beds.
The kitchen was well equipped and served our purposes beautifully. The sitting room was comfortable and the bedrooms were spacious.
Had the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. We had help with confirmation of excursions, directions, ideas of walks in the city and even help with a very troublesome mobile phone (gave up on it after Brisbane and managed with 2 between 3 of us!).
The best bit of our stay was watching the 28th September fireworks on the river from our balcony. We not only saw the fireworks, but also watched the reflections in the windows of the various buildings near the hotel. This was an added bonus and I know it was out of the control of the Sebel Suites, but my goodness, it was exciting.
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear margaretknight7, it's great to receive commentary from our international guests in particular and we're delighted to have played such a positive role in your Aussie vacation experience. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 160 in Brisbane
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#14 of 160 in Brisbane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 160 in Brisbane
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 160 in Brisbane
2,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 160 in Brisbane
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: 95 Charlotte Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing