We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

The location is well positioned and walking distance to mall, river, park and galleries.
One bedroom apartment was a good size with all basic facilities.
Staff were friendly and provided good service. The gym facilities are average.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    404
    132
    23
    13
See reviews for
202
298
67
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was my first stay at this hotel. Reception were friendly and helpful and my one experience with the room service staff was also pleasant. I stayed in a studio room - which after staying for a week was a little claustrophobic - and the bathroom was tiny. Other than the lack of space the room was clean and well appointed, although the TV was mounted on the wall directly above the desk, so sitting at the desk and watching TV at the some time was problematic.

I wasn't tempted with the over priced breakfast, but there was a supermarket close by as well as a number of cafes. Meals in the restaurant were tasty and reasonably priced.

Will be happy to stay there again, but for longer trips would be looking at getting an apartment

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I've stayed at the Sebel Suites several times since my last review. Each time, overall, my stays have been very comfortable.

I was upgraded twice to a larger suite and have always been able to access the room before normal check-in.

Rooms continue to be neat and tidy. Front reception staff are also very friendly.

Great hotel! Will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor or noise from street/bars can be a bit much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salman_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Brisbane (IMHO) does not have many great hotels. I travel there at least once a month and have tried a fair few of them - but the Sebel Suites is one of my favourite hotels there because you get an apartment and it is in a great location for heading out to restaurants, take away joints, pubs and other interesting bits of Brisbane. It is also normally pretty reasonably priced (I normally book it on lastminute.com.au as a "secret hotel" so get a great rate).

The suites are relatively modern, are a decent size, have a kitchen and laundry (and most times they provide a sachet of laundry powder so you can do your own washing). They are members of the Global Hotels Alliance - and while I am not big on hotel memberships, I have joined this one as I like the idea of earning "experiences". The rooms all have balconies - and while I have never had a great view it is great to get outside if you want to - and the Brisbane climate often encourages it! That said it is pretty noisy outside, so you are not hanging on the balcony having a few glasses of wine...

The beds are comfortable - not super luxurious but they do the job. But again I really love the location - it is really central - easy to get to most parts of the city for leisure or business. It is also just down the road from the car rental drop off point for most of the major car rental companies.

The service - while ok, is not great. And I never eat at the hotel - there's a great cafe across the street where I normally head for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Sebel Suites have great staff - unfortunately, the rooms do not match their smiling helpfulness. We stayed in an Executive 1 Bedroom including breakfast and valet parking (which is additional) - and the breakfast and parking was fantastic. We never had to wait for the car, the staff were never too "busy" to get it ready and they were totally booked out for the weekend eu to the AFL and Rugby matches being played. However - value for money - I'm sorry, but no. Due to the abovementioned sporting event - $500 per night - seriously? I can stay at Palazzo Versace including breakfast and valet parking in a suite for $50 more! Will I stay again? No - and definitely not for those prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I like this place. Location is good (its downtown, so not in the main going out area of Fortitude Valley, but very close to shopping and restaurants). Apartments are large and clean. They are modern and well kept. Service was ok - good intentions but not very professional (it took 5 calls to confirm they could do dry cleaning on Saturday morning, but it all worked out in the end). I'll leave the fact that I hate Brisbane out of the equation - the hotel is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed at the Sebel Suites for 1 night earlier this week. I was in Brisbane to watch a Rugby League game and I choose this hotel as they offered a guaranteed midday check-in for an additional $20, which meant I could check-in, freshen up and still have time to get to the game for the 3pm kick off.

I arrived at the hotel at about 11.20am and informed reception that I was there, as expected, the room was not ready that early and I was asked if I wanted to leave my bags and head out again, I informed Erin that I would wait around to check in. At exactly midday I headed back to the reception desk to enquire about my room and was told it was now ready. I had decided to book the Premium Studio room which I purchased at the ‘advance rate’ of $180 for the 1 night. The premium room came with the promise of complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit, but there was no fruit provided. I was on the 25th floor, and the view over the city was very nice, especially in the evening with the city lights.

My first impression was that the room was fairly small, the bathroom more so, for 1 or 2 nights it would be fine though. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom, except for one thing, possible dead insects in the light fitting, maybe maintenance could fix that? (Room 2503)
The bed was comfy, blinds did a good job blocking out the early morning light and the room was very quiet. It was nice to also have 2 small windows that would open up for some fresh air.
I ordered room service (dessert) which did have a small problem with it, but when I bought this to the attention of the reception staff at check out, Anne Marie (I think her name was) did an amazing job. She showed the Chef the photo of it that I took, apologised profusley, and had the room service cost and my early check in fee removed from my bill. There really was not anymore she could have done.

When booking the hotel I thought as a treat I would indulge in the hotel breakfast, unfortunately that was really disappointing. The regular cost for it would be $32 but as I prepaid it I was only charged $22, I still felt that was too expensive. Breakfast is in the restaurant attached to the foyer which is light and opens out on to the street. For breakfast you can pick one item off the al la carte menu and then help yourself to the continental breakfast. I ordered the eggs, bacon, toast and tomato (standard price $13), the bacon was so hard I could not cut through it and there was 1 tiny piece of tomato on the side. I ordered similar the day before at a cafe up the road and it was cheaper and much nicer. As for the continental section, I used the last bowl for cereal and in the 45 minutes I was there, they were not replaced. I helped myself to a glass of orange juice then that was empty, it was not replenished whilst I was there either. I should also say that I was down at breakfast at just after 8am, so it wasn’t late that no-one else would be down for breakfast.

This review does contain a lot of negatives, but there were positive aspects of my stay. Brett on reception/concierge was wonderful helping me get change for a taxi and hailing me one. The location is brilliant for shopping, the shops are basically right out the front door, and the main shopping centre and street is 1 block away, you really couldn’t get much closer. If you are in Brisbane to watch football at Suncorp like I was, you probably could get a closer hotel to the stadium for the same price.

I have since received an email from the hotel group asking for feedback, which I thought was a great idea, and I have passed on my thoughts about my stay.

Overall, I am unsure if I would stay at this Sebel again, especially if I was heading to the footy, if it was for a shopping trip I would consider it, but there is no way I would even contemplate having breakfast there. There are far to many cafés in close vicinity that offer better value and a better meal.

One tip whilst staying in Brisbane, visit the Roma St Parklands, what a beautiful area to spend a couple of hours walking around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtownLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing