We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Lovely atmosphere
Nice rooms overlooking river
Friendly staff
Nice resturant- bit expensive though for Brisbane

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank squirrelmonkey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    786
    291
    92
    60
See reviews for
274
1,388
105
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Beautiful hotel surrounded by very nice restaurants. I believe U2 was staying at the hotel the night we were there. Can't say much more oither than it's a classy hotel with great restaurants all around it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I was due to stay here for two weeks and checked out after a week. It is expensive but the rooms are large and my room had a nice view of the river. It seems slightly dated but everything was clean and functioning. You pay top price for everything here.

During the week the hotel is full of a constant stream of business people and at weekends people for weddings and whatever. The hotel is very central with the business district close by and hotels and shops all around.

Front desk seemed efficient but when I turned up early from the US at 6 AM no rooms were available but I was told I was only the priority list and should come back in an hour. An hour later no one knew anything about a room and I was again but on the priority list and had to wait another hour. This was frustrating after 20+ hours travel.

My first night a room service person woke me up in the middle of sleep at 9 PM. It was the wrong room. Second night there was a fire alarm in the middle of the night which went on for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Great location on the edge of the river, city and Botanical Gardens with wonderful views up and down the river. Immediately outside are the river walk down through the Botanical gadrens and along the city restaurant area. Rooms not the very latest but clean,roomy, comfortable and well furnished. Servicing staff willing to give out extra towels, most helpful. Cool but professional service except for one incident with the Concierge not being as helpful as we would have expected. Buffet breakfast in the breakfast room or terrace overlooking the river was good, especially as we could have eggs cooked to order. Excellent pool - best to use it earlier in the day as it is shaded later in the day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FossilGVGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Coming from Hong Kong, where I live, where there are lots of luxury five star hotels, Stamford Plaza Brisbane certainly doesn't deserve to have the five star rating. The hotel is very old and would need a general refurbishment. The furnitures in the room is out-of-date, the bed is uncomfortable and the fitness room is equipped with very old fitness machines. Surprising that this is a five star hotel! Breakfast buffet is very standard but the quality of the food is rather poor. Eventhough its location is very nice by the river, it's certainly not worth it to pay the high roomrate for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O-Rular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We arrived at the hotel with our rental car and pulled up in the driveway. We were attended to straight away and asked if we wanted our car parked, which we did. There was no assistance with getting our luggage out of the car or no offer to take the luggage up to our room. We were left to do that on our own.

Check in and check out was friendly and quick. However, again, no offer made to take our luggage.

We had a beautiful room on the 17th floor. The room was spotlessly clean, good size, big king size bed, great view of the river and bridge and a huge well appointed bathroom with separate shower and huge bath. We had no air con problems as others have stated. I loved the small table and chairs by the window. We enjoyed just sitting with a glass of wine enjoying the view. Mini bar prices are a little steep as is room service, $7 for a coffee!! And that doesn’t include the $5 delivery charge to the room.

Unfortunatly we had a huge problem with noise in the hotel. We arrived back from dinner just before 10am and started to get ready for bed. We could hear music coming from an outside function on the ground floor. I called the Duty Manager to report the problem, he said he would investigate. Four times I called the front desk and by 11:30pm nothing had been done to stop or keep the music down. The music was turned down for about 5 mins after the 3rd call but did not stay down.

I was absolutely furious with the fact that my stay had to be inconvenienced because of this function and no attempt was made by the hotel to keep the music at a respectable level so it would not disturb the piece and quiet of other guests. No one should have to pay the amount of money it costs to stay at this hotel and be kept up until midnight by something that can be controlled or avoided. If it was something that was out of the hotels control then you would tend to be a little more lenient but this was something that could have been dealt with easily and effectively to keep everyone happy - guests at the function and hotel guests.

We were that tired from being kept up until midnight that the next day was ruined as well.

My advice to people wanting to stay at this hotel is to check if there is going to be a function on in the marquee before booking, the marquee is not sound proof and it WILL keep you awake at night.

Apart from that incident there were no other problems. It’s a shame this incident spoilt the stay because it would have been perfect otherwise. In fairness to the Stamford, they did compensate us but I would have much preferred to have an enjoyable and relaxing visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

wonderful setting, ok food, has the potential to be fantastic....but we found that the impression of the hotel was better than the reality. Strange goings on with the electrics in the room, not a great service at the functione we attended. The reception staff decidedly not interested and generally miserable. Concierge service was great and they were gorgeous too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratherbesailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4,055 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing