We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful room with exceptional view of Story Bridge. Easy walk to Eagle St Pier for all the best restaurants.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful room with exceptional view of Story Bridge. Easy walk to Eagle St Pier for all the best restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room with a WOW view of the river and Story Bridge. Excellent place to stay, we had a beautiful dinner before heading on the train to the tennis which was very easy to get to. Overall, Stamford retains its old world charm in the best part of Brisbane to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puckawidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Valued Senior Contributor,

We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our Old World Charm and spectacular river views! As you can imagine our Story Bridge view rooms are very popular for the upcoming Riverfire event in September, where the Story Bridge is lit up with an extravagant fireworks display. Thank you for your high recommendation; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    503
    179
    60
    36
See reviews for
152
820
72
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had the absolute privilege of staying at The Stamford Plaza Brisbane from 6-8 August 2014 for a business event! I stayed in the Superior Room which had an old world charm and elegance with a heritage feel, but coupled with fantastic, modern facilities. HUGE Bath, very spacious and modern bathroom facilities with a separate shower and the room had a fantastic view of the Brisbane river! The buffet breakfast was outstanding as well. Fronted by the iconic Post Office Hotel which was built in 1880 (and where we had a wonderful business dinner/evening on the 6th) and minutes from the beautiful Botanical Gardens, the location is ideal for a relaxing stay. Its fantastic how Stamford Plaza compliments and acknowledges the iconic Post Office hotel in its décor with its antiques, furniture and artwork. Their staff were simply outstanding, very friendly and always willing to oblige. Some of my fellow travellers also used the Gym and were very complimentary of the facilities. We also used the River Room on the evening of the 7th for pre-dinner drinks which met all our needs prior to heading out on a chartered river cruise for dinner. I must say that I had a very comfortable bed and had an amazing sleep! A wonderful stay, Stamford Plaza Brisbane certainly did it for me and I look forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Malcolm R,

Wow, what more can I say, you have described our Hotel features and location perfectly! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and had an amazing sleep. Our beds were all replaced last year with plush King Koil beds and luxury mattress toppers as we recognise a good night’s sleep is important to our guests. Thank you for your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in the junior suite 401 recently refurbished - Great views over the river - spacious and a great bathroom and dressing area. fantastic bed king - good pillows very clean - staff were friendly and all in all a wonderful experience.
Disappointed that when I booked I was asked is this a special occasion and I responded saying it was my husbands birthday ? thought maybe a beer or wine would have been good we did pay good money for the suite

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Narelle E,

We are pleased to read you liked our newly refurbished Junior Suite. Located on the corner of the building; our Junior Suites offer sweeping views downstream to the Story Bridge and upstream to the Kangaroo Point Cliffs, both spectacular at night when lit up. We are sorry we missed the opportunity to acknowledge your husband’s birthday. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our second time at this lovely hotel, it may well become our annual treat. Being local doesn't mean you can't spoil yourself with a stay.
Everything about this hotel was spot on. Our room, a standard king, was tastefully decorated in a traditional style and had a fantastic view of the Story Bridge, the lights are beautiful after sunset, and a comfy bed. The bathroom is huge with separate bath & shower. The hotel is marvellously quiet, no slamming doors and no noise from adjoining rooms.
We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the bar before strolling up to the nearby restaurants along the river and a leisurely breakfast on the hotel terrace over looking the river. The breakfast buffet was generous and had a great range of choices; including a separate area offering gluten free options for those who need to be careful.
The hotel is just a short walk from the CBD and the restaurants along the river. The Botanic Gardens are right next door for a relaxing stroll or your morning jog.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Sue K,

Thank you for returning to stay with us. A night in the city is often a great way to remind ourselves what a fantastic city we live in and enjoy some of the events on offer. From Opera in the Reservoir to NRL games or the Riverside Markets on a Sunday there is something for everyone to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next city break.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed one night and were delighted with the friendly and accommodating service, generous upgrade, lovely views, decor with style, satisfying breakfast and competitive price. I won't hesitate to come back at the very next opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58anna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you loved your stay with us and enjoyed the uninterrupted views of the Brisbane River from your room. We do have some fantastic deals and packages and we encourage you to check out website for your next booking. Our 30 day advanced booking rates are also a great option. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This a wonderful hotel to stay at. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed especially so. Good views from the rooms of the city or the river.

Excellent facilities with a heated pool, plus the hotel has several eating options and a nice bar. We enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast, plus had a buffet seafood dinner one night, opting to eat from The Pav another night.

Service from the staff was excellent.

The hotel is well located, it is only 4 blocks from the Queen St Mall and lots of major shopping spots (handy for the girls).

The only gripe (as such) which others have also noted is this rubbish of being charged for Wi Fi. If its good enough for overseas hotels to provide free Wi Fi then Australian hotels should be doing the same. The prices being charged are simply a rip off, better to bring your own wi fi device with you.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room up high to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Top Contributor,

We are pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our various dining options and facilities we have on offer. The spa pool can be just the ticket after a hard days shopping – a great place to relax and watch the comings and goings on the Brisbane River. We are lucky to be located on Edward St – considered Brisbane’s “High St”of fashion as well as a short walk to the Queen St Mall as you mention. We do offer half and hour complimentary wifi access to our in house guests in our lobby and are sorry to read you were not advised of this. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights on a business trip and really enjoyed the hotel. It looks a bit old fashioned, but in a nice way. Staff were very friendly and efficient, both at check in and check out. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. My room was good, clean, with excellent view.

The location of the hotel is ideal. Many restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. If you cross the street you are in the botanical garden, great for relaxing. I usually started the day with a walk through the garden along the river.

I would certainly choose this hotel again on my next visit to Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from The Netherlands,

We are pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. A walk in the Botanic Gardens is a wonderful way to start the day. The path through the middle of the gardens then back along the river allows you to enjoy the wonderful greenery of the gardens as well as the calming water views of the Brisbane River. Stamford Plaza Brisbane is fronted by the historic Port Office Building and we acknowledge that with the many fine antiques, rugs, furniture and art work; our hotel has a charm and style of another time. We are delighted to read we are now your hotel of choice in Brisbane and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Safe travels,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 167 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 167 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#17 of 167 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 3,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 167 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing