We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but expensive breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Stamford in early August while in Brisbane to catch up with family. Location is great. Right on the Brisbane River our room had a view. Our room was a good size, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was large. There are certain aspects of the room including bathroom that need updating but nothing that would deter me from staying again. Service was good. We had breakfast at the hotel on the first morning as we had to pick up a rental car at 9.30am so really didn't have time to linger over a leisurely breakfast. While choice on buffet breakfast was wide and varied I only had fruit and toast so I am not sure how they justify charging $42pp for breakfast. We did get the weekend deal of $35pp but even so! Day 2 we wandered along to the Riverbar restaurant and sat outside and enjoyed a cooked breakfast coffees and juice for half the price. Having said that, that really is my only gripe. I would stay at the Stamford again just not eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Valued Tasmanian Guest,

We are sorry to hear of the miscommunication that has taken place regarding the charging of your breakfast, as you should have only been charged for a continental breakfast. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding this on 07 3232 0211.

We are pleased to advise we are in the process of developing an a la carte breakfast menu for guests who prefer something smaller and lighter than a full buffet selection as well.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,900 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stay there once or twice a year for business but now I felt it is getting too tired. It needs a good facelift. This applies to rooms, facilities, garden (but pool and reception areas are still nice). Even the hot water could be hotter. Good points: location, service, breakfast.

Room Tip: Fantastic river views so ask for that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Valued Senior Reviewer,

Stamford Plaza Brisbane is fronted by the Victorian splendour of the Port Office Building, built in 1880. The old world charm and elegance of this era is still portrayed inside the hotel to this day with many heritage features and antiques. As we run on such high occupancy we are reviewing the opportunity to refresh during a quieter period. We are currently replanting the gardens so we hope you will enjoy these on your next visit.

For future reference, our rooms are fitted with a safety device in the showers to ensure people do not burn themselves. The water is set to a maximum of 38 degrees, however if you do require hotter water, you need to push the little red button on the tap.

Thank you for your review and we hope we may welcome you back again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,

Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for one night as a bit of a splurge in a nice hotel sort of weekend. It certainly didn't disappoint and the service & attention to detail was as you would expect from a five star hotel. A nice touch was the guy who bought our Moët to the room (we stayed on the Moët & breakfast deal) who went to a lot of trouble to suggest opening the curtains right up and positioning our chairs to take advantage of the setting sun light over the river. The hotel is ideally located especially if you are heading out for dinner with most of Brisbanes finest eateries located within a five minute stroll.

The bed was really comfy with an accompanying pillow menu (again as you would expect in a five star). The room was very quiet and we had a nice sleep in & awoke to read the Sunday paper from our chairs still looking at the river.

My only criticism would be the hot food in the buffet breakfast. I thought the bacon was under cooked and the scrambled eggs a bit watery but all in all I would thoroughly recommend staying here for a nice couples weekend

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Mini breaks are such a great way to unwind and recharge the batteries and our staff love making our guests’ stay memorable. It is very relaxing watching the river of a night time with a glass of Moet in hand.

Thank you for your feedback on the bacon and scrambled eggs. Your comments have been forwarded to the chef for review. Please feel free to ask for eggs and bacon cooked to order as our chefs are always more than happy to oblige to ensure your preferences are met.

We hope we may welcome you back in the not too distant future to enjoy another break away.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane while attending a theatre show and couldn't have been more than happy with the accommodation and service, we had complimentary Wine and delicious sweets because there had been a very minor oversight in our booking. Very impressed with the Hotel & staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Brisbane River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very fortunate to have some wonderful shows at Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) at the moment. Both Queensland Ballets’s, Florish and Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque are proving very popular at the moment and we are of course very excited about The Lion King starting in September. Thank you for your lovely review and photos. The Wheel of Brisbane offers spectacular 360 degree panoramic views of Brisbane. Located next to QPAC in the Southbank Parklands it is a great option to do before or after the shows.

We trust you had a safe trip home and hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent 5 days in Brisbane recently and was pleased with my choice of hotel as it was within easy walking distance of lots of cafes and sights. The hotel however is a bit dated and needs a renovation to bring it up to 5 star hotel standard. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a lot of choice in eating places nearby. The lighting in the pavilion bar could be improved-as a single person I always take a book or newspaper with me when eating out but it was dark I couldn't read it! This aside it is a great location as it is within easy walking distance of the ferries and only a short taxi ride to Southbank (which is also within walking distance if you want an extended stroll!) I would stay there again. And as usual with most hotels in Australia wifi access costs you an arm and a leg!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Glenelg,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us. You are correct; our location is splendid for exploring Brisbane City and outlying areas. Edward St, where we are located has become known as Brisbane’s high street, with designer stores and International collections with the Queen St mall just a 5 minute walk away as well. The free City Hopper Ferry which docks just 300 meters from the hotel, is another great way of exploring some of the city’s surrounding suburbs along the river and is favourite for many of our guests.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the lighting in the Pav Bar. The hotel is on a continuous upgrade program, retaining our heritage look and feel while striving to meet our guests’ needs for modern amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Best hotel in town :-)! Plenty of nice areas within the hotel just to sit and enjoy a drink and a relax.

Try a suite just adds to the experience. Breakfast by the river well worth a visit.

This was a wedding gift, I stayed the night before the wedding and my husband and I on the night of the wedding. Returned to our room to find a bottle of wine and a congratulations card on behalf of the hotel nice touch !

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Story Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themis4962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Congratulations on your Wedding! You are most welcome for the bottle of wine as we always enjoy helping our guests celebrate special occasions. Our Suites are a popular option for Wedding guests as the lounge area and the additional dressing room allows extra room when getting ready, something always appreciated by bridal parties when getting their hair and makeup done. Thank you for the wonderful photo of the Story Bridge, we are all looking forward to Riverfire coming up 27th September and the fireworks off the Story Bridge.
Thank you for your review and we hope we may welcome you back for many more celebrations to come… perhaps an anniversary visit?

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Location was exceptional being in a quieter part of the City (on the weekend), only a few blocks to Queen Street mall (busy), but located on the River.

Eagle Street Pier (with various bars and restaurants) and a good option for breakfast too was only a few minutes walk away. Having said that, the Hotel grounds had no shortage of options for a drink at a bar(s) and food.

Checkin, checkout and room was what I expected from a 5 star hotel and did not disappoint.

I requested a room with a view to the Story Bridge and was allocated one - the view did not disappoint.

This Hotel would be my first choice when returning.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to the Story Bridge - Deluxe rooms are allocated towards top 6 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Top Contributor from Sydney,

We are thrilled to read we will be your first choice of hotel when returning to Brisbane! It looks like you stayed in one of our Deluxe rooms. These rooms are located between the 15th and 22nd floor, giving spectacular views of the Brisbane River with views of either the Story Bridge or Kangaroo Point Cliffs. For a $30 upgrade fee you receive added extras such as deluxe LÓccitane bathroom amenities, complimentary drink vouchers and internet. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#27 of 169 in Brisbane
1,670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $138 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing