We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the good guys” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the good guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Weve just come off a weekend in Brisbane and stayed at the Stamford Plaza. This was a nice change from the Sofitel, Hilton and Marriott. Nice rooms, comfy beds and HUGE bathrooms. All the staff were very accommodating from booking until check out. Our only negative comment is the quality of the Brasserie breakfast. Unfortunately I've has better and fresher breakfasts in mining camps. Very ordinary, and we never got our coffees on the Sunday morning as ordered.

Overall this is up there with one of the best hotels in Brisbane for comfort, views and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Busytraveller83,
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

At Stamford Plaza Brisbane we are committed to providing a quality product and service so I was disappointed to read about the quality of breakfast you received. Please be assured your comments have been passed on to the Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Director for further investigation and staff training.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    673
    257
    84
    52
See reviews for
229
1,188
95
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went here for a girls day. The buffet high tea was amazing! Had everything you could imagine. Delicious!
The chocolate high tea is situated in this under covered area outside, with a beautiful view of the story bridge.

Recommend having a small light lunch prior to having the high tea, as you will be full enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinloli7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Lozrar,

Thank you for advising of your recent experience with our chocolate high tea. I am delighted you enjoyed it. I have passed on your kind comments to the chef. The high teas are always popular and it is something nice to do with a group of friends. I can also recommend our Lobby High Tea which is accompanied by a live harpist.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

i loved the stay here , the only thing was the airconditioning was not good , never got cold enough . Thwe staff were excellent with great servive , The checkin was very smooth , the location was perfect , nice breakfast buffet style , good value as well .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Emily J,

Thank you for advising of your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to act on any glitches. I was disapointed to read the air conditioning in your room was not cold enough. Please be assured this has been addressed with my engineering team for further investigation. I am pleased to hear despite this, you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed blessed with fantastic staff and a great location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here numerous times on business. Very enjoyable experience. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and overlooks the river.
The amenities are as good as I have experienced in any good hotel. Staff are pleasant and accommodating. Food was good but expensive.
Staying at the hotel I have paid anything from $250 to $550+ for similar rooms. I know pricing is demand driven but it makes it difficult to stay loyal to one hotel when prices vary that much.
Happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear David_Susie,
Thank you for your kind comments. Our daily rates do vary from day to day, depending on the day of the week and occupancy. You will always find our best available rate and any promotional packages on our website. Alternatively if yourself or your company travels to Brisbane on a regular basis (30 room nights or more) we would be delighted to discuss the possibility of organising corporate rates for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon as our valued guest.

Kind Regards,
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our 4th stay at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane and as always an excellent experience! Staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and it's located in a great part if Brisbane. Due to the constant satisfaction we experience, we are considering paying the annual fee and becoming Senator Club members just so we have an excuse to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcj8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Lcj8485,

Thank you for your kind comments. Our Stamford Senators Club is an excellent program to join with great discounts on accommoation and restaurant dining. We look forward to you returning again soon as our valued guest.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Stamford Plaza in Brisbane. My husband took my to the Stamford Plaza as a birthday gift this year and treated me to the "Romance" package. It was wonderful. The room was incredible and we were nearly on the top floor. All the staff were so lovely. We had strawberries and champagne in the room and the bath was drawn and candles lit around the room. The bed was lovely and the spa bath in the room was nice and big. our view of the river and the Story bridge was amazing, we just sat and drank our champagne and looked out at the view. We also had the seafood buffet dinner at the Stamford. the Stamford goes right onto the river and it's nice to be able to eat dinner by the river and I was surprised by how lovely and quiet it was. The food was quite delicious and not that expensive compared to other seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can get a room looking over the river towards the story bridge then go for it, the view is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Melanie R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Romance and Seduction Package. It is always nice to be spoilt. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Seafood Buffet. I have passed on your comments to our Chefs. I agree it is lovely sitting by the river watching the river life float by.

Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled down to Brisbane for a concert and decided to stay somewhere nice. We were not disappointed. The booking process was incredibly easy with Sameer in reservations noting all our requests and therefore ensuring we had a room on the 21st floor. When the taxi pulled up the door was immediately opened by a friendly chap with a smile. Check-in was very easy with our bags taken straight away to our room even though we arrived hours before standard check-in time.

The location of this hotel is second to none being right on the river and directly opposite the botanic gardens. The view from our room was spectacular! The bathroom was sheer luxury and even had a TV. Eagle Street Pier is just a short stroll away as is Queen Street Mall. The staff are all great, in particular Steve the concierge was incredibly friendly and helpful and could offer advice on dining, best transport options and even shopping!

This hotel has a real old world charm with a gorgeous courtyard in the centre where you can sit with a chilled glass of wine and some very tasty nibbles. We were also given drinks vouchers on check-in which were greatly appreciated :)

I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel or reccommending it to anyone. The location is perfect but the staff really make this place stand out and are a credit to the Stamford name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dani K,
Firstly thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Stamford Plaza Brisbane. Thank you for specifically pointing out Sameer and Steve for their excellent service. We actually have a staff rewards program in which your comments will further assist Sameer and Steve in being recognised for their work throughout the hotel. We are incredibly fortunate with our location right on the Brisbane River yet only a short walk to to all the shops and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 161 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#25 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 161 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 161 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing