We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Took the wife to the Stamford Plaza for our anniversary, upon entering the room I was surprised at the level the staff had gone to, the bath was run with petals floating on the top, petals on the bed in the shape of a heart and chocolates and champagne on the table

Truly a wonderful experience

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stromybrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear stormybrisbane

First, may I wish you a Happy Anniverary, though perhaps somewhat belated. We are fortunate that we are chosen as the venue for special occasions quite often and helping our guests celebrate is something we certainly enjoy doing.

It sounds like you were booked on a Romance & Seduction Package, which is one of the favourites here at the hotel. Our guests are truly pampered and it's a lovely surprise for all who come. Another favourite is our Lazy Daze package which includes two in room movies, popcorn, dinner cooked in the room and even a massage! It's a hit for weekend getaways.

I was very happy to see that we helped to celebrate your anniversary and we wish you many many more.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    690
    267
    84
    55
See reviews for
236
1,232
98
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent two nights at the Stamford Plaza. The hotel is located on the river adjacent to the Botanical Garders. The location is so central that we only took one cab ride. We walked to dinner each night. The shops on Edward Street are only a couple of blocks and the Queen Street pedestrian mall another block or so. Our room was clean and quiet and had a view of the river. This is the place to stay when visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Nashville1

We are certainly fortunate in terms of location and it was great to read that you were able to take full advantage of that during your stay. Brisbane locals are quite proud of their city so I'm sure would be happy to know a world traveller gave it the seal of approval.

We wish you safe travels and hope to have you with us again when next you are in Brisbane.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel sets a very high standard in the area of Brisbane CBD.5 mins walk to all the shopping centres but yet have the feel of total privacy. The only faults might be the expensive $45/day for parking and the dim lights in the room (no chance of reading in the room).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroochydoreLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear MaroochydoreLam

Thank you for selecting Stamford Plaza Brisbane as your hotel of choice when in Brisbane. The design of the hotel certainly makes one feel that they are not in the middle of the city, which certainly helps one to relax.

Parking is at a premium in Brisbane. As a result and in order to remain competitive, we keep a close eye on the parking fees of Brisbane hotels along with the public parking stations. We are certainly on par with other hotels in the city, if not cheaper, and will also aim to be.

We strive to provide a certain ambience in the guest rooms and we use particular lighting to do this. We are certainly able to provide additional lighting for our guest rooms, so please don't hesitate to mention this when you next book, or upon arrival.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane for our honey moon between the 15th to 17th of June 2013. From the very beginning, when I booked the room, and until we left the hotel the staff were amazing. To our surprise when we arrived in our room, with a spectacular view of the Brisbane River and beyond, we were given complementary champagne, chocolate strawberries, a rose and a bed covered in rose petals. From the food to the staff, the room to the location of the hotel, nothing can be faulted. My wife and I were so enamoured by our experience at the hotel we plan to come back every year to have a romantic weekend there. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel we loved our stayed. Regards James and Ana.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear James & Ana

Firstly may we say congratulations on your wedding! And of course thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Brisbane for your honeymoon.

We are quite often chosen as the venue for special occasions and the Romance & Seduction Package is ideal for a honeymoon or anniversary. Another option is the Lazy Daze package which includes 2 movies, popcorn, dinner cooked in your room and massages. Great for a weekend away!

We hope the "recently married" high stays with you for years to come. We wish you many happy anniversaries and would love you have you with us again to celebrate.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the only places we stay in Brisbane. The rooms are so cosy. The furniture is beautiful, the bed is very comfortable and makes for a very pleasant sleep. Beautiful views of the river, bridge or cliffs from whichever room you stay in. The pool is also beautiful. The staff are very nice and polite. The breakfast buffet is spectacular it offers many options and eating out on the terrace in the sun is divine. A very lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Fluke101,

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane.

It was great to hear that you had a fantastic time.

Indeed the beds are very comfortable, and they will be getting even more comfortable as we are in the process of upgrading every bed ensemble.

We are certainly well located, being so close to the River, Botanical Gardens, shops and restaurants.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again some time.

Warm regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have nothing but praise for the Stamford in Brisbane. Fantastic staff. Clean, quiet and comfortable room overlooking the river at a good price. We had Sunday buffet and were really impressed with the high quality of the food on offer. The seafood was fresh and delicious. Staff were attentive and friendly. We also had buffet breakfast and were likewise impressed with the high standard of food. This hotel obviously prides itself in providing quality food. We even had cappuccino for breakfast not awful brewed American coffee. Bacon top quality. French crepes!
The ambiance of the whole hotel was sophisticated yet relaxed. Classical music played in the lift - no horrible lift music! Had the best sleep I've had for ages. Block out curtains meant I didn't wake up until I wanted to.
Little things like staff saying hello as we walked past added to the very comfortable atmosphere. We were sad to only stay for two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the Story Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESSOinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear ESSOinOz,

Thank you for choosing the Stamford for your recent stay.

We are certainly well located, being so close to the Botanical Gardens, shops and restaurants.
I am glad you enjoyed the Sunday Buffet and the breakfasts, yes; we certainly pride ourselves in providing great food.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in July 2013.

It's a beautiful hotel and has lots of food and beverage options so you can dine in the hotel for any meal. We ate at the brasserie for breakfast both days and at the Japanese restaurant for dinner on the Saturday and were impressed.

We stayed in a delux room on the 15th floor after getting a good deal through Qantas. Our room was beautiful but I've given it a 4 not a 5 because in a 5 star hotel delux room I expect bath sheets not bath towels and a lot of the little amenities you get, such as a toothbrush, weren't provided. Only a small detail, but otherwise the room was fantastic. Nice, big, roomy and a great view over the river.

Highly recommend this hotel for a weekend away with your partner

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktsnowowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Ktsnowowl,

Many thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane.
It is good to know that your Experience at the Hotel went well.

We appreciate your feedback about our rooms and will certainly take this on board. Should you require any toothbrushed or other amenities, we do have carry a stock of these both at reception and in Housekeeping, and we would be happy to bring these up to your room.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future, and we sincerely hope that we once again meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,915 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing