We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room but let down by customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely room but let down by customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Suite at the Stamford in February of this year. The stay was booked as we had tickets to see the performance of the play Driving Miss Daisy. We booked the suite as a late Wedding Anniversary treat. When enquiring and booking I mentioned this to person who answered the telephone. Apologies for late review by the way. The suite was roomy and nicely appointed, however the cleaners could be a bit more diligent. As in, they should check under the furniture occasionally as there was old chocolate coated sweets left lying under the cabinet. Also for the whole of our stay there was a stained, cracked cup on the tea makings tray. This tray is misnamed as it was set up mainly for coffee drinkers with half a dozen sachets of coffee and only two tea bags. We had to call down to reception to ask for more on several occasions. Apparently it seemed the usual allowance was two per day. For that is all that was left each time the room was serviced. The shower stall could have seen the benefit of some mould remover. The reception staff were pleasant enough, but after arriving at the hotel at 8.00pm at night, tired from a six hour drive to Perth and then the flight to Brisbane, we were verbally directed to where the lift was and left to our own devices to find our room and carry our luggage. This is not the standard one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The valet at the door when asked a simple question the following day was brusque and abrupt. We stayed at this hotel three days and he did not acknowledge us once when we walked past his desk to leave and enter the hotel. We did not eat at this hotel so cannot comment about the restaurants. The room was comfortable but the attitude and poor customer service did not impress and were we to return to Brisbane we would need better incentive to rebook at this hotel. The staff could learn much from those at the Shangri La in Cairns. Where we were made feel so welcome not just at the commencement, but throughout the whole week of our stay there.

Room Tip: Book a suite higher up in the hotel with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oberonrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear oberonrose,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I was very disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to the usual standard and can assure you your comments have been shared with our management team so that those areas of concern may be rectified.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can demonstrate we are truly a 5 star hotel who aims to wow our guests on every visit.

Kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    690
    267
    84
    55
See reviews for
236
1,232
98
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms were clean, spacious with lovely views over the river. Great central location within easy walking distance to local restaurants.
As I was travelling for business, there were a few things that let this hotel down, I had a box I needed couriered back to Sydney, which they explained they were unable to assist, they were able to hold the box for the courier collection but I needed to make these arrangements myself, On my way to the airport, I waited for 15minutes for the concierge to arrange a cab, I ended up going down onto the street and hailing my own as I couldn't wait any longer.
I would be happy to stay here again if I was on holiday, but I would be reluctant to do so again if I was travelling for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zickyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Zickyboo

I was disappointed to read that you were not assisted with your courier requests. We can certainly assist with that and have done so on many occasions. There are procedures in place to for this specific situation. Since your comments we have reviewed these procedures and remind our staff that we are here for our guests and to provide assistance wherever we can. I do apologise for the frustration and inconvenience caused and can assure you that is not the norm nor the standard of service expected of our staff.

Overall, it does seem that you enjoyed your stay with us, which is wonderful to see. We do hope the issue you experience doesn't mar your opinion of us.

We wish you safe travels and hope to have you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Rooms are good with great views across the Brisbane River, very clean and enough space. Location is great, close to riverside restaurants and bars, and the city centre. Reception staff efficient and quick check-in.

At breakfast the food is good, but tables are often not ready even when the restaurant is not busy, and sometimes tables and settings are not cleaned thoroughly. While I was eating breakfast alone, a staff member placed a soiled placemat on the table next to me and left it there, apparently "ready" for the next guest. These types of problems have occurred on several stays, so I have given up and will either stay elsewhere next time, or book room only and go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate shower stall, not with a shower over the bath-tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Mickthered

I was disappointed to read of your breakfast experience in the Brasserie. This is certainly not the standard we expect of our team. I have touched base with our Food & Beverage Director and newly arrived Restaurant Manager regarding this and they will be reminding our staff of the expected service standard to ensure this does not reoccur.

We do hope you stay with us again so that we can demostrate the true 5 star service we are known for. Should you stay with us again and decide against dining in the Brasserie, may I suggest room service as an option for breakfast? Otherwise, as you mentioned, there are a number of options close by.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

After being greeted by such welcoming staff in the concierge, we were feeling a lot happier after our long drive. We had free valet parking and the porter looked after our bags which we were very grateful for. The concierge helped us decide upon our dinner plans on our way to reception. The bags beat us up to the room which was an excellent surprise.
The Stamford Plaza has such an excellent location, it's right beside the beautiful park and on the riverfront. We had fantastic view of the river and the bridge from our huge window in our comfortable room. The restaurant hub and shopping mall are both only a five minute walk away from the hotel. The buffet breakfast was nice, and the marquee seating was beautiful.
The next day we had to be on our way early in the morning, the concierge had our bags brought down and the car brought round for us while we were checking out. The staff were seamless, and the concierge were polite, friendly, and welcoming. We really enjoyed our time at the hotel and we'll definitely be staying at the Stamford Plaza on our next trip to Brisbane.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms for an even better View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Roz H

We are very proud of our Concierge team here at the hotel and was very pleased to read that they assisted in providing a comfortable and hassle free visit. I have given them a copy of your review and I admit they were quite "chuffed" by your comments, thank you!

We are very fortunate in terms of location. I hope you had enough time to go for a nice walk along the river and through the gardens. I'm heading to the shops in my lunch break today, which are just close enough to get me in to trouble!

We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived earlier to check in to our room than we had expected. We were welcomed and given our room without question at 11 am. Very grateful as we had a few appointments to get to within walking distance and could drop the car in valet parking along with our luggage and set off almost as quickly as we had checked in.
Outside of the hotel, council hire bikes are there awaiting for your use. Booking of the hire bikes online is essential prior to use. A cheap and fun way to explore Brisbane.
There is a bar and restaurant downstairs and a Japanese restaurant next door. Eagle street pier is a short stroll away with bars and eateries alike. Also, city cat is a 5 minute walk away.
We had a seafood dinner included in our package on the Friday night. The seafood was nice enough, however, if buffet is your style then I guess it's ok!
Breakfast was lovely but can get quite busy. Good coffee and service.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol1136458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear carol1136458

It was great to read that you were able to take advantage of our location. I hope your visit wasn't too rushed and that you had time to relax whilst here.

The Brasserie is a great spot for buffet lunch or dinner - and perfect for our Chocolate High Tea of a weekend. I'm a big fan of a good coffee so was very happy to read that we could supply that for you also.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

When you travel a lot, it's easy to think all the big chain hotels are much of a muchness. So the Stamford Plaza in Brisbane came as a lovely surprise. We stayed for a long weekend, just to check out Brisbane for a change. Looking online, it looked okay and the package price seemed good value. Free valet parking sealed the deal. But from the moment we arrived, everything was just that little bit better than expected.

The service and efficiency of the staff were remarkable (and friendly and helpful too, which is easy to take for granted in NZ and Australia). The hotel is laid out in a really smart way so EVERY room gets a river view. Space is very generous and the rooms are well appointed. Even the breakfast went beyond expectations. Breakfast buffet fare can be disappointing but not only was the food really good, the riverside setting is lovely (ask to go out into the open marquee if you can). Oh, and it's very centrally placed, too.

If we go back to Brisbane, this would be the first place we would look. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the better, but all rooms face the river die to the clever 'V' design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DitchDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DitchDiver

It is always great to read that we were able to meet or exceed the expectations of our guests. It seems we were able to tick a few boxes for you, which is fantastic. Including parking in the package is a significant advantage to guests, and is something we often include in our special promotions for our restaurants.

We are certainly fortunate in terms of location - it is the perfect place to be for Riverfire! - due to its proximity to the River, the Botanical Gardens and across the river (by CityCat or Ferry) to Southbank and QPAC.

We are very proud of our Chef and his team here. Two of our staff members have just returned from a week in Sri Lanka, being the first prize for a matched tea & menu competition run by Dilmah. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and put a copy on the noticeboard for all to see.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Taking time out in the city you live in can be fraught with danger, the usual excitement of discovery is somewhat muted. The Stamford is a great hotel, fabulous location with river frontage and close proximity to the centre of brisbane. The River Stage and Botanic gardens at your door and a relatively short walk to the Southbank precinct. The (Executive) room was a comfortable size and the bathroom very spacious (bath & shower). The view, despite being cloudy was amazing, looking down the river is very cathartic. We took in an afternoon snack and drink in the PAV Bar which was nice, excellent service and nice simple food. Later we moved up to the sophisticated Moo Moo bar, which I really liked, despite being expensive (something you live with in 5 Star CBD locations). Great selection of beverages and nice upbeat atmosphere with an assortment of decor and setting to suit everyone. Breakfast in the Brasserie (Mother's Day) was OK, something doesn't work in the table arrangements, we just felt a little awkward in the middle of the room. The buffet was good, not great but good and you certainly couldn't complain. Excellent value rate, including parking, and breakfast for two, they also throw in a couple of drink vouchers as well. I thought the Reception team and Concierge were really outstanding.

Room Tip: The great thing about this hotel is all the rooms have a river view, it's only a matter of up or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Paul M

Thank you for choosing the Stamford for your city getaway recently.

We are certainly well located, being so close to the Botanical Gardens, shops and restaurants.

Moo Moos is a great steak restaurant. Though located on the Stamford premises, it is actually a standalone restaurant. We do of course reccommend the restaurant to our guests, along with our onsite seafood buffet restaurant, The Brasserie on the River, and Kabuki Japanese Restaurant.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Front Office staff. Our General Manager has commended the team on their efforts and they have received a copy of your comments. Their assistance certainly made a positive impression on you, which is wonderful to see.

We wish you safe travels and hope to have you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,915 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing