We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic high tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic high tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Had high tea here and really loved it. It was very crowded with huge groups of parties, bridal showers, baby showers etc. it was really loud and our little table or four was a bit overwhelmed. There was a buffet full of desserts and sandwiches. All very lovely. Service was a little slow but it was very busy. All the service attendants were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating. Could have done with more frequent replenishing of the buffet though. Will definitely return and recommend you book in advance as it books up very quickly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Debbie S

It was great to read that you enjoyed your Chocolate High Tea in the Brasserie. The view is excellent, the buffet is overflowing and the atmosphere is normally "party-like".

It is a great venue for a fun afternoon out. We tend to attract a few larger parties for birthdays and hens parties, so I wouldn't describe it as a quiet afternoon, as a norm.

We have a more "posh" option available, Thursday to Sunday afternoons, this being the Lobby High Tea. This high tea is served in the hotel lobby of an afternoon, with a stringed duo performing. The high tea is served on a tiered stand to the table, as opposed to the buffet offered in the Brasserie. The Lobby High Tea is a much quieter affair, with a maximum of 40 guests booked at any one time. Perhaps when you next pop in this may be an option you may like to try.

Until next time, I hope you have fond memories of your visit to the hotel!

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    732
    275
    89
    56
See reviews for
255
1,293
99
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Me and six colleagues went to the Stamford bar for lunch today. We arrived at 1:00pm sharp waited 20 min at our table for a server to take our orders of food and drinks even though they were standing around at the other side of the outdoor area doing nothing. Another 20 min went past before our drinks arrived. Thats 40 min of our 1 hour lunch break before the drinks even arrived. The food arrived 5 min after that and was absolutely delicious but not worth the wait. When we paid our bill at the bar the guy who looked like the manager ever had the hide to make a joke about us not leaving a tip. I let him know why, His response was that they are new servers. I hate to break it to him but it was exactly the same last time we came 6 months ago. not coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear sam s

I was disappointed to read this review, as was our GM - Paul, our Chef - Dan and our new Food & Beverage Director - Andrew.

Since Andrew started, a number of changes have been implemented with the Pav Bar being one of his key focus points. We have a number of new staff and new procedures in place and the bar has certainly turned a corner in the past few weeks.

We would certainly like you to visit us again so that we demostrate the changes here at the hotel. If you would like to provide additional feedback for discuss your visit further, we would be more than happy to take your call.

We do hope you visit us again - the service has certainly improved and the food is as good s (if not better) than ever.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

To Andy & Team!

Me and My wife planed our wedding at a short notice (which is not a norm, as it takes years of planning and execution) and on the Valentine’s Day (to be romantic and also to top up our worries. You would know if you are in hospitality business).
In spite of all these perceived hurdles, I and my wife decided to go ahead and make it happen. As you all know, bride and groom are important for a wedding, at the same time lot of other components need to be brought together for this to happen. Here came ANDY & TEAM at Stamford plaza to our rescue. Nothing was a bother to this gentleman and for the hotel.
As we were in such pressure for time and trying to decided and confirm things as early as possible as our wedding is on valentine’s day, Andy pulled his years of experience and his personal contacts in making this all happen.
We can go on and on writing praises, particularly for this individual, at the same time we also have to acknowledge that the hotel would have given him this freedom to create such magical moments in one’s life a reality and more beautiful than once imagination.
We personally would like to thank each and every individual directly or indirectly involve with our wedding through Andy, as he was the one who made all this happen. THANK YOU AGAIN TO STAMFORD AND ANDY IN PERTICULAR.

Manoj & In Young (Kate)
Wedding day - 14.2.13

Room Tip: A bit lower floor and story bridge view (9th and 10th floor are awesome)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Manoj R

What a great day your wedding was! A few of us took the time out to check on your day - not that we needed to, as Andy had everything covered as usual. You both looked like you and your guests were having a great time.

Valentine's Day certainly is a busy period, as you know, and though we had several things going on, a wedding is always a little more exciting for us!

It was a pleasure to have you with us on this special day and we thank you for your wonderful comments.

Congratulations once again and I'm sure we will see you again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

On arranging a pre-Christmas get-together with relatives in Brisbane, we booked our accommodation into Stamford Plaza Brisbane. GOOD CHOICE! Upon our late arrival from Perth, reception staff greeted us warmly, followed by a very comfortable room overlooking the river. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and we must say it was superb. Sitting on the terrace, leisurely enjoying an array of delights provided by Stamford Plaza, is something everyone should experience at least once in their life. Not to mention the seafood buffet night and afternoon high tea, they were also a real treat. The location was ideal, short walk into the city centre alternatively transport was just at the front door. The staff and atmosphere at this hotel is something we will definately be indulging in again.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Willtravel12

It was lovely to read that you were able to indulge during your stay with us!

I have done the flight to Perth on a couple of occasions and it is a long one! It sounds like we could check you straight in to your room, which is great.

I have just spoken with one of our pastry Chefs, Grant, who is busy fussing over lunch and high tea at the moment. A couple of guests just mentioned to him how much they are enjoying their day. I aslo passed on your comments to him and I think you have now made his day! Our food & beverage team works very hard and it's great to pass on some positive feedback, so thankyou.

We hope to see you over this side again in the future (and early Merry Christmas to you!)

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked a room for Saturday night which was on the 15th level overlooking the river .The tarrif included breakfast and valet parking .We thought it was good value.The room was comfortable ,beds very good and for a large hotel which we were informed fully booked very quiete allowing for an uninterrupted nights sleep.Bathroom and appointments very good.Lifts fast with little to no wait.Staff very helpful and friendly.
Hotel is easy walk to a wide choice of restuarants,city cat ferries.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Pete056

It was lovely to read that we were able to tick a few boxes for you!

We do offer some great packages - the most popular being those which include parking and breakfast. We do some great show packages as well, so keep an eye out for those.

Location is certainly key and we do hope you were able to take in the sights during your visit.

We wish you safe travels in 2013 and look forward to having you with us again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

There is not one bad thing i could say about this pleace. i loved staying there. rooms- very clean with house keeping cleaning the rooms daily, Breakfast was beautiful. we had a great view of the river. If you want somewhere nice and upper class to stay i recommend to stay here.
And try all there Restaurants. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Renae L

What a great review! So happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel!

I hope you had time for a cocktail in the bar, some teppanyaki action in Kabuki and a lazy breakfast in the Brasserie - that's what I try to recommend!

Thanks for choosing the Stamford for your visit to Brisbane. We hope to see you again when next you're in town!

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stay at Stamford Plaza Brisbane quite often, but we may never go back to this place after my bad experience having High tea over there with my girl friends.

There were a multiple wedding ceremonies, so lobby was really crowded. High tea was served at the lobby, but it was noisy and crowded. Food was quite average, and some of F&B staff were not friendly, and we also were asked to pay half an hour before it finish. One of friends who supposed to come couldn't be there because of harsh weather condition, however we were asked to pay for the person who did not turn up although I was never informed this.

Overall, I think I will find another hotel to spend my special occasions. Very disappointed..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Jay L

We were very disappointed to hear of your High Tea experience. This is certainly the experience we aim to deliver.

On the day of your high tea, we had a number of functions at the hotel and, due to the poor weather, needed to move a number of them to different locations to accommodate. We see this did impact your high tea and for this we apologise.

I know that since your visit you have spoken with our Food & Beverage Manager and sent a separate review via the hotel website, which we have responded to. As you are aware, a gift voucher is on its way to you so that you can dine at the hotel one again and experience it the way it's meant to be.

We look forward to having you with us again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing