We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star it's not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five star it's not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and i stayed at this hotel for five days over xmas. On checkin the receptionist was arrogant and not helpful at all to the point we had to ask her where the lifts were. Im not sure weather this hotel understands 5star but what it does is charge 5 star. On the flip side amy one of the workers at the pav bar was exceptional as were the housekeeping staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahaema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear tahaema

I was disappointed to read that you did not receive a warm festive welcome from our Reception team. We are extremely busy over this period, however this is no excuse for not providing the service we expect from our team. Since then, there has been quite a change in the staff manning our Reception Desk, so when you next visit, I imagine you will see the difference.

We have staff rewards program here at the hotel; thank you for naming Amy from the Pav Bar - I will ensure she is recognised for her efforts.

Our Housekeeping team is tireless, so your positive comments have been passed on to them and are certain to be pinned to their noticeboard.

We wish you safe travels throughout the year and hope to have you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    732
    275
    89
    56
See reviews for
255
1,293
99
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Stamford to wind down after a busy December. We were really looking forward to the visit and it was very enjoyable from the time we arrived, concierge and reception staff very pleasant and helpful and made a great first impression of the hotel. We were on the 19th floor and enjoyed the river view, the room had everything we needed, maybe a bit outdated, however the bathroom scored high marks with us, it was large and had a great shower. We spent most of our time in the swimming pool area. The large outdoor pool was the perfect temperature, not the usual freezing cold water that a lot of hotels seem to provide. The spa was very enjoyable with the perfect temperature as well. The swimming pool area is a bit stark and could do with something to make it more pleasing visually. Perhaps some more shade and the large pots could do with new plants. We felt there was sometimes a lack of attention to detail that let them down, such as the broken tiles in the lift and our room key that would not work and had to be re-programmed. Picky things, but they do promote themselves as a top class hotel. We would recommend the hotel and will stay at the Stamford again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Beverley B

I'm glad you chose the Stamford for your end of year wind down. After a big year a time out is certainly a great idea.

I'm glad you mentioned the pool. We are currently finalising plans for a refurb of the pool area - from shade and plants right down to new towels. We are looking forward to have a bright, fresh (and shady) pool area for our guests! Should the work be done when you next visit, we would love to hear your feedback.

We wish you a happy & healthy 2013 and looking forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best bathroom of our australian vacation, the staff were very friendly and we liked the gardens around this hotel, much better than Sydneys. The hotel seemed very english and we thought the breakfast was a good size for a change.

Room Tip: This was our last hotel before flying back on the long flight to Dallas, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear dee s

I'm glad we could offer a postive lasting impression of Australia and hopefully a good night's sleep and hearty breakfast before the long haul flight home.

We hope you visit Australia again in the future and that the Stamford Brisbane will be the hotel of choice!

Safe travels and best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked a night in Brisbane city to celebrate 21st wedding anniversary and chose the Stamford. Arrived early and checked baggage with concierge and was contacted later to say room was ready; upgraded to deluxe with bags waiting in room. Bottle of complimentary sparkly awaited us on our return from evening on the town. Room and service was fantastic; this was our third stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevators can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jeff S

Thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion! And I'm so glad to read that we made a bit of a fuss of you too!

Once again, congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We hope to see you here for the next one (if no before!)

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 24th and 25th December 2012. It was chosen as a special treat for Christmas. Our room was on the 21st floor (and there are only 22). The room was decorated with style and immediately we felt right at home. The bathroom was decorated in lush marble and well appointed. Lovely views from our room over the Brisbane River to Kangaroo Point. The hotel is just across from the botanic gardens and is easy walking distance to the CBD and riverfront restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms above about level 7 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear frangi55

It was great to read you enjoyed your first stay with us!

We are very fortunate in terms of location and have fantastic views from our rooms - especially on Riverfire Night; that is a great night to be at the hotel.

When you next visit Brisbane I hope you choose to stay with us again.

Safe travels and we hope to see you soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here after a business dinner nearby, location is excellent, all the rooms have great views of the brisbane river, ask for a room away from the lifts as ours was next to them and the persistent "ding" as teh lifts arrived meant that i was up earlier than we would have liked.
Bathrom is big and bed was very comfortable airconditioning controls did not work and temperature varied quite a bit.

Breakfast buffet was below par for a hotel of this calibre, quality just wasnt there in all of the items i ate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Anthony T

I was disappointed that you did not get the restful night's sleep that you were hoping for - or that we would have liked you to have received. When you do stay with us in the future, by all means, advise us of any room requests that you may have and we will do our utmost to assist.

I have mentioned your comments regarding the air conditioning to our Chief Engineer. Without knowing the room number, it is difficult for us to check, however he has made a note of it and we will fix the problem once we have narrowed down the room.

I have also spoken with our Executive Chef regarding the breakfast buffet. He will change his own roster and that of our other senior kitchen staff so that they can better monitor the buffet from day to day.

Overall it seems you did enjoy your stay with us, which is wonderful. We wish you safe travels in 2013 and hope to have you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Spent 3 night here, room was nice very large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Wished the shower was a bit cleaner, had mould in the grout. Plus they did not replenish the toiletries, had to call down and didn't get any until the next morning. Kind of shocking since I paid a fraction of the cost at the Meriton on Campbell in Sydney and they replenished everyday, even when I didn't need it. The bed was kind of soft, had lower back pain after sleeping here. Anyways, the location was close to all the attractions, so at least that was a plus. Didn't eat breakfast here, went to Woolworths and picked up some items for breakfast and stored it in the fridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear ylc25

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our location.

I was disappointed by your comments regarding the shower, however it is important to note that we are in the process of regrouting all our showers, floor by floor, which will certainly rectify that problem.

I was sorry to read that you did not receive the toiletires until the following day, even after requested; as a norm a staff member would deliver these to your room straight away. I will chase this up with or Executive Housekeeper to ensure that such guests requests are met promptly.

We hope that when next you visit you have time to experience the breakfast or seafood buffet in the Brasserie on the River, or a fun night out at Kabuki, our Japanese teppanyaki restaurant.

In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and hope to you have you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing