We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic yet stylish city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic yet stylish city hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our first impression about Stamford Plaza Brisbane was absolutely classy. The lobby is fitted with some Renascence era style with a touch of modernized luxury hotel feels. During arrival, the concierge team was very friendly and helpful with our car and luggage. Receptionist was highly reliable. We spent less than one minute to have our self checked in and escorted to the elevator.

The superior king room is absolutely classic. The room is furnished with timber-made furniture with a huge stunning river view window. It also offers a generous size of marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Additionally, a small television is equipped in bathroom for extra entertainment.

We will definitely come back to Stamford Plaza Brisbane on our ext trip to Brisbane. Highly recommended for couples who seek a stylish and relaxing weekend escape.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liong-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Liong-A

It's always lovely to read such a positive review! It seems our team made an impression on you and were able to assist you where needed to ensure a memorable visit.

I will certainly share your comments with our team, many thanks for that.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    730
    275
    88
    56
See reviews for
254
1,292
99
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

You are transported into a world of elegance and excellence at this wonderful hotel. The rooms even have a TV in the bathroom. My room overlooked the river and the food and service were first class.
A short walk along the river gets you to some wonderful restuarants and at the hotel they have a first class Japanese restuarant and steak house where I enjoyed one of the best steaks ever, a little expensive though.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear FrankFurness

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is such a pleasure to hear that our team has delivered a memorable visit to our guests.

It seems you had time to dine in Kabuki Japanese restaurant; the a la carte menu is excellent, though it's for the teppanyaki show that we are best known for! Moo Moo restaurant has a great name also and we are fortunate that they are located so close to the hotel, though still not one of the hotel restaurants.

I will certainly share your comments with our team, thank you.

Until we see you next, we wish you safe travels.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel for business twice in the past two months. The service was reasonable, however rooms are a little tired and could do with an update. Great location close to restaurants and bars - the rooms also have a nice view of the Brisbane river and Story bridge. Good variety of room service menu options and the breakfast buffet was great. I would definitely stay again for business or leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eternalgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear eternalgringo

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you are to be a frequent visitor to the hotel, then discussing a corporate rate is certainly an option. Please contact us if that is something you would like to discuss.

In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with attention to detail. Rooms large and nicely furnished. Hotel was one of the quietest I have ever stayed in! Seafood buffet and breakfast buffets were excellent and highly recommended. It was our wedding anniversary and was nice to receive a bottle of bubbly and a lovely note of well wishes from the hotel anagement. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suespurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear SueQldAustralia

It was wonderful to read that you chose our hotel as the place to celebrate your anniversary. We do like to make these occasions special, where we can.

We also understand the value of a good night's sleep and "getting away from it all" and a quiet hotel certainly helps to achieve that.

We are quite proud of our hotel and the team of staff who work so hard to make it what it is.

We wish you a happy anniversary once again and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We walked in to the restaurant to a waiter that was rude, our lovely river view table had plastic place mats (that didn't even fit the table) and two scrap bowls that you couldn't see through because of the grunge on them - I asked if we could have some new ones and was told they were all like that. - food was average not what we were expecting from a wonderful place like the Stamford Hotel. The staff were all (didn't come across one that was smiling, friendly or polite) very disappointing also, it felt like they wished they were somewhere else. We mentioned we were there for my husband's birthday lunch and we got a "that's nice"!!! - not rushing back!!!! We love the hotel but the restaurant is very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Lisa M

I will openly admit that we - our Executive Chef, Food & Beverage Manager and myself - were very disappointed to read of your experience in the Brasserie Restaurant.

Please rest assured that both of these Managers have shared your comments with their teams to ensure we all understand the importance of providing quality service to our guests. Our guests come to the Stamford Plaza with certain expectations, and rightly so, and we must always strive to not only meet, but exceed these expectations. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we failed to do so.

We do hope you accept that this experience is certainly a one-off and that you will consider a return visit where we can demonstrate the true Stamford experience.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is beautifully appointed, with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms with l'Occitane toiletries. The front desk staff are efficient and very helpful.

We took advantage of a stay at the hotel, and combined the visit with the show Jersey Boys, The Prado exhibition at the Art Gallery, and to top it off dinner at Aria, all were superb. The hotel is ideally located for these venues and just a short cab ride to South Bank.

Our breakfast was a little disappointing and the ambiance of the restaurant failed to match the standard of the rest of the hotel. We would still revisit at a later date

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Janice M

We are certainly forunate in terms of location. With the new Cross River Ferries and City Cats assisting, guest can now travel to South Bank, QPAC and the Museum via the River. It's a great way to travel around the city.

I was disappointed by your comments regarding the breakfast however. Please rest assured I have passed your thoughts on to our Food & Beverage Manager, and our Executive Chef. We are meeting tomorrow afternoon so I will certainly mention your feedback again, with a goal to making the necessary changes.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

No muss, no fuss. Great room, location and service at a rate most business travelers will find acceptable.

I will definitely stay here next time I need to be in Brisbane.

They could really up their game if they just gave away free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenW200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear 159StevenW

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

If you feel you will be a regular visitor to our hotel, please let us know, as we do like to assist our return guests where possible.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing