We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with a really comfy bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a really comfy bed!”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were only there for one night but it all seemed very pleasant. The room wasn't anything extra exciting (pretty standard hotel room but quite spacious, clean & tidy) but had a really really comfortable bed.
And it's a great central location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    1,254
    472
    139
    75
See reviews for
565
1,788
311
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here for three nights. As a gold member of the Accor frequent guest program was surprised to be given what must have been the worst room in the hotel.

Subsequently was told they don't participate in the chain wide program.

Had a smoking room, but ashtray was missing from the room called down to have one sent up and was delivered a saucer with the explanation that the hotel was out of ashtrays.

The bathroom was tired and the television small although the rooms have been renovated somewhat recently. Remote was faulty in the first room I was in.

Valet parking was amazingly slow and very expensive ($45 per night).

This hotel appeared to be incapable of getting even the simplest things right during my stay - even spelling my name incorrectly.

The windows need a good external clean - this is most obvious when you use the elevators with a view - dirty streaks the whole way up.

The club lounge is pleasant with a pretty standard breakfast with a couple of hot dishes (pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs and tomato), but a surprisingly limited selection of cereal. Evening drinks and canapés were also pretty standard fare with a selection of wine beer and soft drinks (I did not see any liquor). Club rooms featured a nespresso machine and upgraded toiletries.

In summation this is a hotel I will not be returning to, it lacks any of the qualities of a five star hotel - average service, sub par rooms, and seemingly a lack of capacity to get the simple things right. The only thing 5 star about this hotel is the price. There has to be better options in the city of Brisbane.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattincbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, Owner at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Value, location, cleanliness, service and sleep quality are important aspects of our guest experience and I was disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

I apologise that your room was not properly checked prior to your arrival and subsequently you found the TV remote control not working and the ash tray missing. These faults are certainly not acceptable within our hotel. I will raise these matters with the team so that we may ensure that we do not repeat these problems for future customers.

Our car parking charges are similar, and in some cases cheaper, then the charges of the other five star hotels in Brisbane and I apologise if you were not informed of these charges at the time of making your booking.

The hotel is currently in the process of having all external windows cleaned and I am hopeful to have this completed within the coming weeks.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
430 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I frequently stay in Brisbane for business. Have tried most of the 5 stars such as Hilton and Marriott.

Sofitel is right near Central Station, so easy access from the airport. Very close to most of central Brisbane by cab.

Really great bar in foyer area. Very nice ambience, extremely helpful staff/concierge.

Rooms very nice; ended up with a room with two queen beds, rather than one king, which was the only downside.

Internet available but expensive as expected (~$25 for 24 hours from memory).

Great bathroom.

Excellent TV/movie choices.

Very good gym, in fact far better than most 5 star hotels.

Taxi rank right outside so can easily get a taxi without having to order one.

All in all an amazing hotel, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel but enjoyed a wonderful high tea which was served in the Club lounge on floor 30.

We were served by two charming ladies who couldn't have been more friendly or more accommodating, even offering to look after a 13 months' old whilst we ate!

Tea was served on a very unusual tower structure and consisted of a variety of sandwiches, plain and fruit scones with a runny fruit spread and cream and an imaginative selection of bite-sized cakes. Cost is $46 per head on a weekend and includes a glass of sparkling wine.

Our only disappointment was the poor choice of teas on offer - Earl Grey, green or English breakfast - surely a hotel of this standard should be offering Darjeeling, Assam, etc.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed here for one night - got an excellent deal on Wotif. Foyer is extremely plush and reception very welcoming. Room spacious and pretty much what you would expect from a city centre chain hotel - clean / big bed / nice bathroom. Excellent location near to the shopping centre and about 20 minute walk to the South Bank. Parking at the hotel quite expensive. Would be an expensive stay if not on special offer - but if it is take advantage of it!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here just one night, great location, short walk to queen street mall. service is outstanding, as is the food and rooms. Breakfast was amazing, full buffet with so much choice and the quality was incredible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzzywuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I had a weekend get away from teenage kids in Brisbane. The room was immaculately clean. Decor up-to-date. The bed, linen and pillows were glorious. Staff were attentive but not in your face. The bar and foyer were lit by candles during the evening which made it most pleasant for a drink before or after dinner. Didn't check out the pool area or gym so can't comment on them. Location is in the middle of Brisbane CBD which is quite lively on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
2,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing