We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BrisVegas and Elvis is still in the building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BrisVegas and Elvis is still in the building”
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I last stayed here nearly 3 years ago and was aware the hotel was having a face lift in its lobby.....what a difference it has made. I loved the new cocktail bar with live music (very cool Acid Jazz) and the best Espresso Martini I have ever had.

The room I had was on the corner of their Club Floor and was fantastic, I particularly loved the Nespresso Machine in the room, yes there is a theme here I am "Espresso Addicted" courtesy of early mornings and late nights (business related). Their Club Lounge was brilliant and the service of the hostesses faultless.

The jewel in the crown of this hotel however is a person, believe it or not his name is Elvis and he is the hotel's Chief Concierge. He is an interesting fellow charming, urban and knowledgeable and from what I believe his father was a Concierge in London. Great service obviously runs in his veins......I just wonder if he can sing!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Foghorn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    1,254
    472
    139
    75
See reviews for
565
1,788
311
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Note: I am a c5 tetraplegic with c6/c7 functionality. I use a manual wheelchair. My reviews are made from this perspective and are intended to be more relevant for disabled travellers.

If you’ve been to the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Hobart then the Brisbane Sofitel will seem familiar. Both were built as Sheratons in the 1980s and are quite similar throughout - although the Sofitel has obviously had a lot more money spent on it in the last few years.

First the good bits…

The room was large and clean and has a nice view of ANZAC Square. It has a desk that I can get my legs under! The wardrobe bar has been lowered to be reachable from a chair.
The bathroom has been well modified for wheelchair access. There is a wheel-in shower… no built-in shower seat but housekeeping supplied a sturdy, safe adjustable shower chair.

The room has a connecting door to the adjoining next room, so big groups of wheelchair using smokers are well catered for.

Now the bad bits…

As alluded to above, the only wheelchair accessible room is a smoking room. The staff did offer to deodorise the room and install a carbon-monoxide-removing and flu-virus-eradicating ‘ozone’ machine, but the smokiness remained. I spent 4 nights in a perfumed ashtray.

The toilet pan is enclosed on three sides, making transfer off a wheelchair awkward but it wasn’t a major problem for me.

The really disappointing thing for me was that, while there is escalator access to the railway station below and city beyond, there is no lift access. That leaves you with a very steep trip down Edward St. Downhill was barely manageable but it was impossible to get back to the hotel on my own.

On the noise front, both trains and neighbours were audible.

In summary: Sumptuous public areas but a smoky, noisy room in a poor location for wheelchair users. I’d go back to the Conrad Treasury next time (it’s on the accessible free circle bus route).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plonkmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We booked the room for one night through Holidaysforsale.tv and we got a club room on the 29th floor with access to the wonderful newly renovated club lounge. we arrived early ( well before checkin time however nothing was mentioned about whether it was ok or not we were shown to our room, the room was clean, neat, comfortable and had a great view accross the anzac memorial park i think it was. As first timers to Brisbane the concierge was great and helped us with dinner reservations. The pre dinner drinks and canapes were to die for and i was pleased to see that unlike some places they offered a broad range of drink options. The beds were like pillows and after choosing the perfect pillow from the pillow menu we both slept like a dream! Breakfast was also delightful and lunch at the "interactive buffet" where the chefs are in full view and cook on the other side of the bench that the food is served srtaight onto was great(especially the seafood!) i think it was the well worth the price even though at first glance it seems expensive for a buffet.
It was a great place to stay and i wish we could have stayed here longer

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOLD COAST, QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Booked this through Wotif for romantic weekend away. Great location directly above central station in the city, beautiful foyer, room a bit small, king size bed, bathroom small also and as one reader said, outdated, and a bit tatty, bathroom needs refurbishment. We had the seafood buffet for dinner, and free breakfast which was fantastic food. No complaint there, quick check in, got home only to discover the next day a letter and a credit card charge for the "free" breakfast, a quick phone call and the amount was credited against my card.

  • Liked — Location & Food, nice furnishings
  • Disliked — Bathroom small and tatty, room small.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JANICE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed here for one night on a trip for work. Check in was very quick and I was upgraded to a Club room on the 26th floor.

I was amazed at all the bathroom extras at the Sofitel. Lotion, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, even a loofah mitt and comb! There were two bathrobes hanging in the wardrobe and complimentary shoe polishing.

I ordered room service and the meal was to the highest standard. Again, little extras on the side of 4 different types of bread roll and a bit of rocky road for dessert!

The hotel's location is excellent. Right above the train station, making it very convenient to get around Brisbane and also to and from the airport on the Airtrain. (I was woken early in the morning from the noises from the station though.)

This experience has certainly set the standard in hotel service! Great hotel!

  • Liked — The room service meal
  • Disliked — Fuzzy TV reception, being woken by noise from the train station
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

The service was good and the overall ambience of the hotel was great. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, it felt classy. The room was very nice and pool was pretty good too.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Mullay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugrave
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This hotel is quite nice ... on the outside and my parents always taught me not to judge a book by its cover. How true is this statement for this over priced very average hotel.

I travel quite a bit for business and usually stay at 5 star hotels where the rooms are of decent size and the quality of furnishings are top class. This hotel and the room that I stayed at had none of these. The hall way leading up to the room was quite narrow and dark, it made me feel clostrophobic. The floor was non-smoking but there was a musky smell in the air that was definitely uninviting.

The room itself was small and although it had a king bed, the bed itself was low to the ground. The windows were small but at least it had a view of buildings. The meals in room service was nice although even for a hotel I think the prices are over inflated. The bathroom felt like a closet - again small and outdated.

The only positive thing about my stay is the hotel staff - they were polite and accommodating.

Would I stay here again? No. I think there are other hotels in the Brisbane area which are a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CRVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
2,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing