We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but really bad beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,284
    487
    142
    75
See reviews for
582
1,827
322
995
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel many times and always rated it Brisbanes' best. However on my most recent visit with my daughter and son, I've decided to submit a review, due to a change of heart. The reception/check in staff frankly, lack the class and professionalism one has a right to expect in a 5 star hotel. Next comes guest relations (calling from my room)... who take far to long to answer the phone or don't answer at all, when they do, they are presumptuous, rude, snide and unhelpful. A request for a cot, made upon booking the room, was ignored, necessitating a call to guest relations once in our room. What was sent up almost 15 minutes later, was a hard board and blanket, plus port-a-cot. I phoned back, and asked why a mattress had not been provided and was told I had one... which I didn't! No solution, just attitude and talking down their nose to customers. Choosing to dine in and enjoy the seafood buffet, we arrived 2 minutes before our reservation (first time slot of the evening), only to be told to go away and come back in a few moments... despite staff being in the restaurant and tables set. 2 minutes late and this is what they insisted, despite my having a baby in my arms! This hotel promotes itself as upper class 5 star, on the surface, but it is not backed up by 5 star service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour ket72

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was disappointed to learn that you felt most of our ambassadors were impersonal and that your initial request for the cot to be placed in your room was not met and the follow up with our Guest Relations inadequate.

I appreciate your constructive comments and will address with our Training Manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ok, strange tittle for a review, I know. But let me explain. First of all, there are many positives with this hotel and I have stayed before and reviewed it positively. It has a great club lounge with wonderful staff and very good nibbles and pre-dinner drink selection and the breakfast in the club lounge is also very good. The club room we stayed in was quite small and the décor was a bit daggy in places but overall, still deserves its five star rating and the location is excellent for both business travellers and for pleasure seekers. Bed is very very comfortable and cleanliness standard was very high.

Now, to the title of the review and my issue that caused me to rate the hotel very good, rather than excellent. For some inexplicable reason, the Sofitel brand, (which tries very very hard to present itself as the ultimate in Parisian chic, even having the Aussie staff greet you with "bonjour" on every occasion) has aligned itself with the Girls Gone Wild channel. Now, I have no problem at all with hotels having an R rated adults only selection; to each their own, but in this hotel, as soon as you turn on your TV and start looking at the menu, there is a Girls Gone Wild icon right after the movie "New Releases" icon. Why is not hidden under the R rated icon so that parents don't have to explain to young children what Girls Gone Wild is all about? Also, the Sofitel management must know that the founder of Girls Gone Wild is heading to jail for assaulting women. Why, as a female traveller, do you have to look at a beyond tacky GGW icon every time you turn on the tv ? What if the icon was for say, Great Woman of the 21st Century or The Greatest Female Athletes of All Time. Imagine how much more enjoyable for myself and my young daughter to see that option every time we turned on the TV.

Have some respect for your female clientele, Sofitel, and put the GGW option icon hidden away under the R rated icon. That is, if you must continue to support a known, criminal abuser of women. Very tacky. It probably doesn't bother any one other traveller except me, so in actual fact, this hotel is an excellent choice for business or holiday makers, I just had to have my say.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mishandcait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour Mishandcait

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback both positive and constructive.

You have raised a valid point regarding the in-house movies and we are certainly investigating into this matter further.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location with access from the train station yet noisy.
We were located on the 25th floor and could hear car traffic from Ann St below and train noise .
Sadly the buffet restaurant was fully booked , would recommend booking the evening meal at the time of your hotel booking.
Breakfast was delicious yet very very busy with a huge delay gaining access to the restaurant
Overall NOT value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour susan r

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the traffic and rail noise that you heard in your room and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a room on 25 th floor. I believe this is a renovated room. Nice view.
Positives- front desk service was exemplerary, pillows, really comfortable bed, nice citrus toiletries, proximity to the cbd and river/botanical gardens.
Negatives- really expensive in room wifi, I agree with previous reviewer that it is so redundant to be charging for this service. You can access free wifi in the lobby. Aircon took over a day to get the room at a cooler temperature.
Overall good stay. Had a breakfast one morning which was nice. Would return for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour gillg

Thank you for your comments following your visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central

I was pleased to read your comments regarding the hotel’s central location and close proximity to both Central Station and the Brisbane CBD and also that you found the front desk service to be exemplary. Unfortunately in Australia the cost for providing wi-fi is a lot higher than in other countries and we provide this service for our guests at the best possible prices available.
.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment you arrive here the service is impeccable! We stayed three nights and updated to Club Sofitel – definitely worth the extra. The staff in the Club area were so helpful, I have some dietary issues and they organized gluten free bread and even baked gluten free friands for me. If you are catching the train from the airport, the hotel is above Central Station – perfect! I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are coming to Brisbane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravels64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour AussieTravels64

I was pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at the hotel and delighted that enjoyed your upgrade to one of our Club rooms.

I also appreciate your comments regarding the personalised service that our Ambassadors offered to you and that we were able to assist you with your special dietary requirements.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overall this is a really smart, well located hotel with great service and an awesome breakfast. It is not cheap, but it is a top-class hotel and you would not expect it to offer bargain prices.

The one massive problem with this hotel is the internet. First it charges $29 a day and then it limits the capacity with extra charges if you over. Somehow doing a few emails and reading some web pages sent me way over for both days I was there - and to give them their due the reception staff did wave the extra charges when I complained. But the point is that hotels of this caliber need to get with the real world and stop charging a spurious amount for internet connection. They don't charge for hot water or electricity and in this day and age they should not charge for the Internet.

If you are planning to stay here I would definitely bring along a 3G dongle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour Julian_Tanner

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to the hotel, it is always good to receive feedback both positive and constructive.

It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and our wonderful breakfast in Thyme restaurant. Unfortunately in Australia the cost for providing wi-fi is a lot higher than in other countries and we provide this service for our guests at the best possible prices available

Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,537 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing