We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location above Central Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Location above Central Station”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had arrived in Brisbane by train and loved the easy access to the hotel from the station. It was particularly good for us the following morning, had an early flight out of Brisbane International and very happy to go from the Hotel to the Airport by train in just over 20 minutes.

Check-in was fast and efficient and we appreciated both the room upgrade and that we could get into our room earlier than expected. Our bags were quickly delivered by the friendliest staff member (name escapes me), he had a great chat to us about things to do in Brisbane and was so helpful with the queries we had. We were on a higher floor, view not so exciting but our room was very comfortable with quality fittings and a restful colour scheme. Liked our coffee machine and utilised this well. No free Wi-Fi in the room was disappointing.

Didn't get the opportunity to try the restaurants but did try Harlequin Jack Bar but disappointed as no real atmosphere when we were there but had a couple of drinks all the same. Had to leave too early the next day to try breakfast.

I still find it difficult to comprehend the very expensive prices of our five star hotels in Australia compared to 5 star in Asia where we stay regularly but this stay was very comfortable and for us using our Advantage Plus bonus stay made it much easier on the pocket. If travelling on to the Airport, the hotel does have train tickets available to guests at a discounted rate which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear barkem

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was pleased to read that we were able to assist with an early check-in and that you enjoyed the ease of arriving at the hotel via the Air Train.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,084
    1,292
    490
    144
    75
See reviews for
585
1,836
323
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had three days in Brisbane and wanted to see as much as possible. This hotel was booked in a package deal therefore we had no idea what to expect or exactly were it was located. To our amazement it was a 5 star - fulfilling the true meaning of achieving such a level - located above the Central Station. Within a 15 to 30 minute walk you will find yourself a many attractions in the city. Recommend you ask, if not immediately told, about any in house specials such as room upgrades or breakfast specials. The hotel gave us free drink vouchers for each night stay also. Offered two hours free Internet when questioned about how to access WiFi. When you combine the comfort of the room, locate and pluses given just made for a fabulous stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Patricia W

I was delighted to read your review after your recent 3 day visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central.

It was always pleasing to learn that the hotel lived up to your expectations of a 5 star hotel and that our central location meant you were able to make the most of your time in Brisbane.

Thank you once again and I trust that the rest of your holiday to Australia was just as enjoyable.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a luxurious room, which was beautifully appointed and with the most comfortable bed. The staff at reception, the bar and thyme restaurant were efficient and friendly. And the buffet dinner was one of the best we have had. The Sofitel is a lovely hotel and I would have given it five stars but for one thing. Like so many hotels in Australia it does not offer free wifi which is very disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Lesley M

I was pleased to read that enjoyed your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to Brisbane and that you enjoyed the upgrade provided to you at reception and that you enjoyed your dining experience in Thyme restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

After a few hiccups on our last visit we were very happy with our stay this time. Every staff member we had dealings with were lovely from the concierge at check in to the chef handing out samplers at Thyme 2. The room was modern, clean and well appointed. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff are a credit to this hotel. Management have done an excellent job in retraining their staff in the last 6 months.

Our only suggestion is to make sure the hot food at breakfast is kept warm for later arrivals at breakfast. Cold eggs, bacon and hash browns are not that tasty. The trick is to order a fresh made omelette from the chef.

We will definitely be back again :)

Room Tip: Go the luxury upgrade and request a city view room. Ask for a freshly made omelette as the pre-made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Brendan H

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you found the service to have improved since your last visit and that you found all of our staff to be friendly and attentive.

I did not your comments regarding the breakfast and will address these with our Executive Chef; thank you for bringing these to my attention.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location of hotel was in the city with great access to the rail network. Southbank entertainment venues and restaurants were a short cab ride away or leisurely if so inclined.
Hotel staff were very friendly, professional and bent over backwards to help and accommodate our needs. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Janet68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Janet68_13

It was great to read your comments following your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful in accommodating your nees.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Located directly above Central station, the luxurious though expensive Sofitel is a great place to allow access to the city, coffee strips and in our case the caravan show, the Bolshoi ballet and the train to both the airport and Gold Coast. Breakfast is just the best, the rooms are comfortable, the service good and the hotel classy, modern and clean. Meals at night not so good and the bar is a little cold. Nevertheless, especially with the Accor loyalty discount, I would stay there any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Maneythecaravanner

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I was pleased to learn the hotel's central location allowed you easy access to Central Train Station and I hope that you enjoyed your visits to the Caravan Show and also the Bolshoi Ballet.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we had a date night, with buffet dinner in house. We found the cocktails & meal expensive however they were of good quality Rooms were very clean. The hotel & gambling area attached to the hotel closes right on 10 o'clock even thoguh people were at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Brisbanestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Brisbanestay

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your night away and appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 159 in Brisbane
1,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing