We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, great location, lovely staff... just byo bottled water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, great location, lovely staff... just byo bottled water!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The bed was possibly the best hotel bed I've ever slept in. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a great location with a train station right below it (although I never heard the trains) that takes you out to the airport. The drinks in the cocktail bar were perfectly poured so it was great for a night cap. One thing that was completely outrageous though was the $9 for a 1litre bottle of water. That was outright obnoxious.
I would definitely stay here again but would buy my bottled water elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjess4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Sofitel MyBed so comfortable!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,269
    481
    141
    76
See reviews for
577
1,810
315
987
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently checked into the Sofitel Brisbane on Thursday the 25th, and from the beginning we knew it was going to be a great stay. Concierge provided wonderful service, greeting us at the door, carrying our bags to our rooms, and recommending a lovely spanish tapas in South Bank. Front desk, contributed to this effort by checking us in within a couple of minutes and providing us with complimentary drink vouchers for the Cuvee Lounge (bar). As we headed towards the bar the Rooms Manager (so sorry to have forgotten your name), welcomed us with "Bonsoir" and wished us all the best with our stay. We saw that it was quite busy but sat down anyway and within about 10seconds, a bartender (Jordan) had made his way over and greeted us with a friendly smile. We were amazed he'd seen us over such a crowd, and when we asked he jokingly replied, "i had a feeling someone was after a drink." He returned with our drinks and was quite interesting to talk to, even when it looked quite busy. We sat and watched the candle ritual (beautiful), and enjoyed our drinks. Both Friday and Saturday were days of business, however, the evening couldn't come any quicker and the staff in Thyme2 restaurant provided exceptional service and carried themselves very efficiently. On Sunday we relaxed and spent a day in Brisbane, and Sofitel allowed a late check out which was convient with our late flight. We lounged at Cuvee and enjoyed a final cocktail that was not on the menu, Jordan made us a mint martini, and we named it the 'Mint-ini'. Cameron from concierge collected our bags and readied them in the taxi, providing a final good-bye, wishing us a safe trip and hoping to see us soon. We made our flight and are now planning our next trip back!

This was a business trip, but we made it a couples experience. Thank you Sofitel Brisbane, Thank you Marcus Hanna, for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the French elegance that the hotel offers and also that you were so well looked after by Jordan and Cameron during your stay.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Brisbane overnight before our weekend away at Tangalooma Resort catching the early boat across. We received excellent service on arrival. Very impressed with quick service getting our luggage out of our car and check in staff even though busy, apologies for have to keep us waiting and gave us an upgrade to an excellent room on 22nd floor with a great view. All up would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Fran B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed a great night’s sleep before you departed early to depart for Tangalooma Island.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm staying on the 29th floor of the Sofitel Brisbane Central hotel. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are of high standard (if you're lucky to get one of the new ones!). The beds are heavenly as per usual and the staff do all they can to try and make your stay a fantastic one..

I just need to point out the following... My Credit card company booked me this as a complimentary stay, so I can't really complain.. However being a platinum member of Le Club Accor for Sofitel, I was surprised to learn that I wouldn't be receiving any benefits. I spoke to the night manager who suggested I wrote to the owners to register my dissatisfaction.

The thing that has really upset me is the paper thin walls... I can hear my neighbours talking like they were in the next room without any doors. They cough at night and they are keeping me awake. Seriously in this age, we must be able to do something about this.... I suspect the hotel is full, but will ask for a room change!

Room Tip: Avoid connecting rooms AT ALL COSTS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central. I was disappointed to learn that your experience did not live up to expectations, to the noise coming from the interconnecting room; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

The hotel has just commenced a refurbishment of all of our guest rooms and we hope to have this work completed by early next year.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for a conference. Rooms comfortable and very well maintained. Food was very good and staff very friendly.
Outdoor pool lovely for a quick dip.
Didn't use their internet as I had my own but I believe you had to pay for it.
Everything you would expect a 5 star hotel to be.

It bugs me when they add a credit card surcharge to the bill as all the big hotels seem to be doing nowadays.

Would go back again if in Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending your conference and that you enjoyed your swim in our outdoor pool..

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Want to see a Rugby game?

Don't waste your time struggling to Homebush just to sit at high altitude behind the goal posts where the players are so far away you need binoculars.
Go to Brisbane and stay at the marvellous Sofitel. Walk downstairs to the train, two stops, efficient and quick then easy walk to the best rugby stadium in Australia. Go home just as easily, night cap in the Sofitel bar then to your sofitel bed to dream of how it can be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found it so easy to get to and from Suncorp stadium from the hotel to watch the Bledisloe Test Match.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 2 nights for a recent conference and the Sofitel did everything well. It is located directly above the Central Station and it is very easy to get back and forth to the airport ( $31 return instead of $110 for a taxi). I stayed in 2 different rooms for the 2 nights, both with very comfortable beds. The first had been recently refurbished, but I couldn't detect any significant difference from the one that had not. Staff were generally friendly and efficient and the food (conference breakfast and lunch) fine without being great. The bars were understaffed on the first night, took ages to get served, this was better on the second night. Wifi is an added expense throughout the hotel. It is a pricey establishment, but I would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: The 10th floor rooms seem very similar to the refurbished 20th floor ones (but with no bath), howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel for your conference.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing