We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you just want to sleep.”
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good if you just want to sleep.”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Booked with colleagues for a conference.

Pros:
- Ok kitchenette
- Updated decor
- Average sized balconies
- Good location, right next to Roma St Station. 10 mins walk to Queen St.

Cons:
- Some utensils missing
- Can be a bit loud at night due to amount of police/ambos zooming around.
- Spa has been out of service for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimsum8six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    120
    68
    33
    49
See reviews for
46
113
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Enjoyed the stay. The appartment was clean and comfortable. Nicely furnished and very well equipped kitchen. Real positives were the location, friendly staff, the pool and spa, the size of the appartment. Great to also have a balcony area and luggage storage. Great stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed here when we went to Brisane for the U2 concert. It is one of the closest accomnmodations that you can get to Suncorp Stadium. the other 2 hiked up their prices incredibly to cash in, but the Abbey was a reasonable $160 which was MUCH cheaper than the others. It was a quick 10 min walk to suncorp and it was fabulous to get back to the room whilst everyone else was struggling to get home. We were told that the room was an older one, but it was fine, Great central location and if 4 of you shared, it wouldn't be that nuch dearer than a backpackers. I knwo that they offer very good rates at other times as well. Newer rooms look to be very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Don't let the website fool you, unless you specifically ask for a nice, refurbished room, this place is NOTHING like what you see. A friend from Melbourne was coming up for a long weekend. As 21 y/olds wanting to stay right in the CBD, based on the price + the location we were sold!

This place stunk, as my friend kindly suggested "It honestly smelt like Korma was wafting through the air". We had an incident with our key not working (they have some fancy swipe system...probably should have spent that on better air ventilation?). We were shoved in another room for an hour while they tried to fix it in the middle of the night, we should have pleaded to stay there, it was much nicer. Also had a nifty stain that looked suspiciously like blood on the sheets. No discount offered, just an "Oh....we'll change that for you" - WELL THANKS!

Seriously, spend the money elsewhere, do some research. You'd be better off spending the night in the Roma St Parklands with the homeless.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Exeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Apparantly these appartments are undergoing refurbishment, but it you are allocated one of the older appartments, staying here is not a very pleasant experience. There are a few positives - the location is good for getting to and from the airport with Roma St station across the road and the city centre is only a short walk away. Inside the appartment, the bedding is clean, having a balcony is nice and the washer/dryer is useful, but that's about it. The furniture is worn and tired with dirty cushion covers on the sofa and numerous stains on the carpet. The kitchen utensils all had a dried on crust, as did the worktop oven/hob and so remained unused during my stay. In the bathroom, the bath had many stains and the vents were clogged up with dirt and dust. Basically the whole appartment felt dirty. In addition to the state of the appartment, the internet is very expensive and has a smallish data transfer limit. I would have checked out and gone elsewhere, however the England cricket team and fans were in town and so there were not many alternatives available at short notice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a Superior unit. It was very comfortable and had everything in it that we needed. Great location close to trains and buses and was only a short walk into the city shopping area. Staff were so friendly and helped us with local attractions and things to do. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Brisbane and will stay at Abbey Apartments again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdeb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed here for the three nights, ideal location if you get the airport train to roma street station, the apartments are directly opposite the station. It appears that these apartments are in the process of being renovated, maybe the renovated ones are good.Ours was one of the older ones, and poor. It was spacious with a large lounge and kitchen area along with a washer and dryer in the bathroom. The whole place was very dated and STUNK and the sofa and carpet were heavily stained. Sofa collapsed and the french windows did not lock.When we told staff the response was that it was an 'old apartment'. Advice is to ensure you have one of the renovated rooms if booking. Not impressed with Brisbane and the trip up and down the river on the' rivercat' was possibly the most boring 2 hours of my life.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyWiganUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Property: Abbey On Roma
Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing