We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #105 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here July 2013 for 3 nights.
Staff at checkin were excellent to deal with and great with advise on places to go etc.
The room we had was clean & tidy.
Location is very good with the train station across the road.
If you want somewhere central to stay this is a good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank by1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyApt, Guest Service at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Abbey on Roma is in a great location.

We were happy to accommodate you and we hope to again in the future.

Regards,
Abbey on Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    119
    68
    33
    47
See reviews for
45
110
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Absolutely disgusting service. Booked a room for 2 adults and one child. After having our child in hospital during the day and given the all clear to continue travelling we arrived and checked in. Came up to the room and there is only one double bed. No sofa bed, no pull out bed, no fold up bed with for our ill son. Called reception to be put through to an after hours service to be told there was nothing they could do even though we have booked and PAID for our child. So now we have no idea where one of us will sleep. In addition go to use the toilet and it is dirty. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location if you require a hotel close to Suncorp Stadium or the Brisbane Transit Centre. However, the hotel is very run down and there are fair better options in the Brisbane CBD for around the same price. The room appeared to be freshly painted but the couch was so old I wouldn't dare sit on it, the shower was covered in mould with the soap holder hanging from the wall and the cold water tap taking two hands to turn on; several tv channels didn't have sound and there was dirty tissues under the bed. The room also smelt of mould. I certainly wouldn't pay over $100 to stay here. Look around, much better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraggle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

after arriving we were told there was no parking at the hotel, ended up parking at the parking lot next door, with no mention on where abouts to park, no helpfrom staff and not knowing the area, ended up paying over $200 for parking because of a call out fee, on top of that they were quite rude, apartment was filthy, tv reception was terrible, the bed was 2 singles pushed together and there were multiple "do not use tags" on equipment. would much rather sleep on a street. would definitely not recommend. pay the extra and stay somewhere nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brydion s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here last year and were absolutely disgusted with the filthy state of the rooms so it's interesting to see from the latest reviews that nothing's changed. Even after the 'cleaners' had been we could still write our names in the dust on the bedside lamps. The duvet or doona inner was appalling as was the grill above the kitchen which actually had stuff hanging off it. We asked for a second bedside lamp. Didn't have any spares. Asked for pillowcases for the extra pillows. Didn't have any spares. After the first night in a really bad bed we asked to be moved to a cleaner, more comfortable room. Didn't have any, but miraculously found one when we started to contact the booking agent. It was only very marginally better, still very dirty. We wondered if there's some organisation in Australia that inspects such places for cleanliness and hygiene standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As Seniors, we found the situation of the aparments near the Transit Centre ideal and the walk to the CBD easy.
The ladies on reception were friendly and helpful and keen to please.When there was a problem with our first apartment were were moved to another without any fuss.
Our apartment was clean, tidy and comfortable and having a washing machine and dryer in the unit was appreciated. We wouldnt hesitate to book at Abbey Apartments again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noises at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The only 2 redeeming things I can say are the polite and helpful staff and the proximity to Roma Street station. We stayed 2 years ago and the room was basic but ok. Told then they were being re-furbished. We were unfortunate to have room 303 this time and it really needs a total refurbishment. The carpets are worn and dirty.The kitchen drawers are all chipped. Was not game to sit on the lounge. Sheets at least had been changed but the wardrobe door had come off its tracks. Bathroom shower need retiling and it was very hard to turn off. Whoever owns this unit should be ashamed to rent it out. Sorry Abbey but will be staying elsewhere on our next trip to Brisbane.

Room Tip: Ask to see the unit before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.5 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Property: Abbey On Roma
Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing