We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #106 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
sydney
2 reviews
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

The Abbey is in a great location - just opposite one of the main stations (Roma St), which is on the airport line. The apartments are big and clean - great value for money. I'm surprised they are so incredibly cheap. Not luxurious obviously but much more than you expect for the price.
The only negative thing I have to say about our stay is that the girls at reception are incredibly sour, couldn't manage a smile on any of the occasions that we saw or spoke to them.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The front desk staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank omitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    115
    67
    33
    46
See reviews for
43
107
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
220 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

During our stay on the Gold Coast went up to Brisbane for two nights without booking any accommodation in advance. Travelled up by train to Roma St Station. Walked out of the station directly opposite the Abbey Apartment went in to enquire and was given a friendly welcome and a fair rate. decided to stay for two nights , the location is ideal for the Airtrain, city, the Roma St parkland, river and the Suncorp Stadium.

We had a very large apartment on one of the top floors. It had everything we needed and made an ideal base for a few days. No complaints at all.

The apartments area five to ten minute walk to the main shopping area and North Quay for the river boats.

Not to be missed, Roma St Parkland and a day trip ticket on the Citycat ferries, if you like sport find out if there is any events at the Suncorp Stadium. If there is a free bus goes from right outside the Abbey Apartments.

  • Liked — Location and quality of accommodation.
  • Disliked — Restaurant below apartments closed on weekend.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

Recently spent 14 nights at the abbey in between property settlements. The place is a little old but very well kept. My room was a one bedroom apartment, with a lounge, small balcony and kitchen area. This hotel has the best location, it was nice to walk to work rather than battle traffic. Lots of food and drink places handy and it was good to kick back by the pool after a big day. The place was very clean, and the staff super helpful.
Will definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location Location
  • Disliked — Having to leave this great location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sanookmakmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

Great location in Brisbane. Found it very easy to catch Airtrain to the airport. It was great having an apartment in the city for the price. I'd go back again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happylarryMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

Nice hotel with a good location close to the business centre of the city and shops. Transport over the road.
Only stayed 2 nights but found it had everything I needed.
Rooms clean and tidy.

  • Liked — good value for inner city
  • Disliked — all ok
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank diverbob62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

Not entirely sure why Abbey Appts enjoys such a lofty rating on Tripadvisor. I have to say I usually find that the reviews are accurate and when a hotel is high up on the list it's deserved. Not so in this case.

Had booked to stay at Abbey Appts for 6 days a couple of weeks ago, after just one night I cancelled my resrvation and moved on.

Don't be fooled my the title "apartment". The facilities are no better (and in fact worse) than most motels in Australia/New Zealand. There was no oven (which is fair enough) but not even a hob. And being an 'apartment' they get away with only changing towels/linens once a week

The pool is about as big as my bathtub and the rates are only good if you're staying for 6 days or more.

My advice, if staying in Brisbane, look elsewhere!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

The best thing about this hotel would have to be the location - directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre and about a 10 minute stroll into the Queen Street Mall. Great if you are planning on doing day trips from the Transit Centre.

Being opposite the transit centre and down the road from the police station, and with pubs all around, you'd expect quite a bit of noise. However, we found that as soon as we closed the door out to the balcony, 99% of noise was blocked out, which was great.

The room was just average, a bit small and pokey. The kitchen was standard and the lounge was as well. The bed was very comfortable and it was great having a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom.

Staff at front desk were nice but seemed a bit apprehensive to look after our luggage for the day after we checked out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bit small and pokey
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank katbrad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Hotel Jen Brisbane
#32 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
#43 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Property: Abbey On Roma
Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing