We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey On Roma
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Soho Motel(Brisbane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
57
128
81
37
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
128
81
37
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadgreat locationtransit centerwashing machine and dryerqueen street mallsmall balconyair trainhandy locationseparate bedroomstandard roomshort walksouth banklate checkcbdmicrowavesaunaensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 358 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at Abbey Apartments Brisbane overnight recently prior to an overseas trip. Stayed there due to being close to Roma St Railway Station to make ease of travel. Booking in was easy on line. Upon check in and being allocated our room was asked by staff to photocopy Drivers Licence. First time this has ever occurred and was advised it was hotel policy. I was quite shocked as this has never occurred at any other place I have ever stayed.

When we went up to our room the hallway between lift and room door smelled of cigarette smoke. Room smelled just the same, even though was a "non smoking" hotel. Sleep was interrupted by slamming of doors in hotel during the night.

The bathtub was dirty and looked in need of a good clean.

Room Tip: Ask to ensure it is clean.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Another couple and us stayed 3 nights in early August and we found our apartments on the 9th floor clean and tidy.
Each apartment had four sets of towels. No problems with the bed.
We choose these apartments as they were opposite Roma Street railway station and were handy to the river and the city centre.
Own washing facilities which was handy if you travel light.
We are staying again in October on our to Cairns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at Roma on Abby for 5 days in July, to jump right of the plan on to the train and arrive pretty much at the door step of the apartment was great, staff at reception were nice and friendly. For the cheap price we paid I couldn't and wouldn't complain about the minor few things, the location was awesome 5 mins to the Queens St mall. I thought overall it was fine and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyKel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Airport train is straight to Roma St and it is just opposite the station. The apartment is basic and includes a bedroom with ensuite, a kitchen and living area with balcony. It is close to CBD and restaurants. Not bad for the price, but seems a bit "worn" out and tired. A strange smell in the lifts, but that is what you get for a budget price. Overall I would give it a 5 out of 10

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After flying for 10 hours on a plane my fiancée & I we were so excited about going to the Abbey Hotel to rest our heads, both totally exhausted we were confronted at reception that we were booked in for Friday nite not Saturday nite so we paid our $169.00 again for the nite. We had a problem with paying again but paid it anyway because the company that we had booked it through it was there stuff up not the Abbey Hotel.

We were told that we had the superior suite, When we entered our room we both were disgusted to think that we paid $169.00 for this room and it was very dated and had 2 single beds joined together to make it into one Queen size bed, The room had only just been cleaned and still it was filthy, I just wanted to check out again, Definitely not worth $169.00 .
In room 805 please be aware that there is bed mites in the bed as my Finance and I were itching all nite and ended up sleeping on top of the comforter and the pillows stunk of B-O.
Will never stay there again and never recommend it to anyone that is wanting to stay over nite in Brisbane

Room Tip: go and stay at Mantra or somewhere else that is affordable and comfortable and enjoyable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews