We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #106 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at Abbey Apartments Brisbane overnight recently prior to an overseas trip. Stayed there due to being close to Roma St Railway Station to make ease of travel. Booking in was easy on line. Upon check in and being allocated our room was asked by staff to photocopy Drivers Licence. First time this has ever occurred and was advised it was hotel policy. I was quite shocked as this has never occurred at any other place I have ever stayed.

When we went up to our room the hallway between lift and room door smelled of cigarette smoke. Room smelled just the same, even though was a "non smoking" hotel. Sleep was interrupted by slamming of doors in hotel during the night.

The bathtub was dirty and looked in need of a good clean.

Room Tip: Ask to ensure it is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Len E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    115
    67
    33
    46
See reviews for
43
107
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Another couple and us stayed 3 nights in early August and we found our apartments on the 9th floor clean and tidy.
Each apartment had four sets of towels. No problems with the bed.
We choose these apartments as they were opposite Roma Street railway station and were handy to the river and the city centre.
Own washing facilities which was handy if you travel light.
We are staying again in October on our to Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at Roma on Abby for 5 days in July, to jump right of the plan on to the train and arrive pretty much at the door step of the apartment was great, staff at reception were nice and friendly. For the cheap price we paid I couldn't and wouldn't complain about the minor few things, the location was awesome 5 mins to the Queens St mall. I thought overall it was fine and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyKel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Airport train is straight to Roma St and it is just opposite the station. The apartment is basic and includes a bedroom with ensuite, a kitchen and living area with balcony. It is close to CBD and restaurants. Not bad for the price, but seems a bit "worn" out and tired. A strange smell in the lifts, but that is what you get for a budget price. Overall I would give it a 5 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

After flying for 10 hours on a plane my fiancée & I we were so excited about going to the Abbey Hotel to rest our heads, both totally exhausted we were confronted at reception that we were booked in for Friday nite not Saturday nite so we paid our $169.00 again for the nite. We had a problem with paying again but paid it anyway because the company that we had booked it through it was there stuff up not the Abbey Hotel.

We were told that we had the superior suite, When we entered our room we both were disgusted to think that we paid $169.00 for this room and it was very dated and had 2 single beds joined together to make it into one Queen size bed, The room had only just been cleaned and still it was filthy, I just wanted to check out again, Definitely not worth $169.00 .
In room 805 please be aware that there is bed mites in the bed as my Finance and I were itching all nite and ended up sleeping on top of the comforter and the pillows stunk of B-O.
Will never stay there again and never recommend it to anyone that is wanting to stay over nite in Brisbane

Room Tip: go and stay at Mantra or somewhere else that is affordable and comfortable and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was dirty and needs the smoking smell removed.Whole building smelt of stale of smoke.This place is for the travellers who need to keep a low budget.The location is fine if you need to catch a train or bus to places arround Brisbane or the Airport.If younhave a vehicle it there might not be room to park at this place.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drsrlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We caught the train from the airport and only had to cross Roma St to be at this location.

The apartment included a reasonable sized bedroom with ensuite and a living area come kitchen plus a street side balcony.

Close to the CBD, shopping and restaurants and only a short walk from South Bank.

The apartment is getting a bit "tired" but for the price it's a bargin particularly for a capital city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Hotel Jen Brisbane
#32 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
#43 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Property: Abbey On Roma
Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing