We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #105 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I Stayed here over night on the weekend, the location was great right next to the roma transit station 5 min walk to Queen street mall, 5 min walk to the casino 15 min walk to southbank what more could you asked for!

Room was Excellent nothing like what other people say in the review, staff was helpful and they love to chat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    119
    68
    33
    47
See reviews for
45
111
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Dis-Appointed..
Re: Abbey Apartments on Roma.

After having been booked for some months and looking forward to this trip, I encouraged a colleague to come from WA, to visit & stay with us at the Abbey Apartments to enjoy Brisbane..

Then the disappointment set-in, Check-in was very ordinary, not to friendly, the main explanation was about setting off the fire-alarm and how much it will cost You..
We proceeded to our floor only to find the lift and especially the carpet in the hall not vacuumed with paper wrapping laying around, now that was Monday.. The same rubbish was there Friday’ going to check-out.

On entering the unit, all seemed ok, towels on the bed, bathroom clean, then my wife opened the ‘laundry chute’.. .. Dirty / wet Towels, A bit musty..!
She then went to plug in her phone charge, as we all do, but behind the bedside table was a Remote Control for the Radio.. Obviously no one checks this are as it was also very dusty and dirty.. Of course then you could pick up at a lot of things, but well left alone.

It is unfortunate as they do have a great location, but the service and cleanliness certainly lets the whole place down, especially in this modern time and the Guests expectations.

I am in hospitality and certainly know how to present a property, the staffing, the cleanliness, the marketing and the ‘Customer Satisfaction. Now this is by No means being over critical, this is fact’ this ‘Abbey’ property certainly needs to improve and lift their game.. Sure people will keep coming, but – ‘will they come back’..!
I will have to think seriously about it..

‘A True Believer’

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I travelling with my 84yr old mother arrived at the apartments at 11:00pm. No one at the desk you have to phone and get keys out of the safe. Once in our room only one double bed was made up. The manager would not do anything. We were forced to leave and find another hotel to stay in. Don't ever book anything through Agoda their system is atrocious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wom6at69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we booked two rooms some weeks ago and was then quoted round $175 a night a room, but two night before travel we booked with last min. com and got same room for $104 the reason im telling you this if I had to pay the full price I would not stay there as the rooms are ok for one or two night at the lower price but just not worth it at the higher price, they really need to get some good cleaners in, some parts of the room and the toilet where no way up to standed

Room Tip: great location but what I would call budget accomadation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just one night spent here but everything was very good.

We were travelling by train the next morning so the location "over the road " from the station was important. The appartment was well equipt with everything you would need. We walked from the hotel over to the South Bank and down through the CBD. Its location makes this an ideal place to stay and site see from

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Okay down to the facts because there are quite a number of bad reviews on this property. Normally we stay at minimum 4 star properties (not because we are snobs but because anything less is usually out of the way or not offering a good holiday and the amenities required). the Abbey Apartments on Roma we stayed at was a bit tired although it was supposed to be a recently renovated apartment.
Negative Points were 1/ Bath had some mould and the actual bathtub surface was slippery to the point of being dangerous. 2/ Furniture is a bit worn & old 3/ carpets & some tiles do need replacing.4/ Reception isn't 24 hours. 5/ Not in the city centre but only a 10 minute walk from the Queen St Mall.

Now the Positive Points. ( Of which there are many)
1/ Great location over the road from the Roma St Train and Bus Station.2/ Very Secure with Police officers everywhere as it's located over the road from Qld biggest Police Headquarters. 3/ Free City Parking (if a space is available) ,4/ Very friendly staff, 5/Close to breakfast, lunch and dinner and a Pub. 6/ Prices are very affordable for accommodation so close to being inner city 7/ and a big PLUS if you're going to see sport at Suncorp Stadium, the Abbey is about a 10 minute walk up the hill. 8/ Great Kitchenette with sufficient plates and utensils./ This place has some many advantages

Summary: there are much better hotels in Brisbane but the Abbey on Roma offer some great advantages and options. We normally stay very near the Queen Street Mall however our next trip to Brisbane to watch the Roar or Broncos at Suncorp Stadium will be a stay at the Abbey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocksolidreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here as i had work conference in Brisbane. As mentioned, location is very appealing. In the CBD, across the road from Roma St station and a short walk to Queen St mall & Southbank. Plenty of restaurants & attractions close by.

I stayed in the older rooms and they are showing their age. The bathroom and kitchen had loose tiles, the bathroom had mold around the tiles and the unit looked worn.
There is no TV in the bedroom - but was very easy to move the TV into the room from the living room & put it back at the end of our stay.

There is a kitchenette, full size fridge/freezer, washing machine and dryer in the unit. A little balcony with a couple chairs but our view was of a neighboring building. A hot tub downstairs which can be used in winter. Free secure parking is a massive bonus.

For the price and location this place is great, especially with parking included but i might try the renovated room next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaStevenson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.5 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Property: Abbey On Roma
Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing